Buyer’s guide · Updated September, 2026

Best eSIM for Uganda, ranked.

Uber shut down its entire Uganda operation on September 2, and no eSIM on this list reaches a signal once you’re inside Bwindi’s gorilla forest.

Jamie Cole, Best eSIM for Uganda author
Jamie Cole
Tech writer · eSIMply.co
13 min read Last updated August 2026

Three Uganda eSIMs to shortlist first.

Nomad
Names Airtel with 5G, and the only 20GB bucket in this whole comparison.
$6.00 / 1GB · 7 days
  • Cheapest headline entry here at $6.00 for 1GB
  • The only 20GB bucket among all seven providers, at $44.97
  • Names Airtel as the carrier, with 5G listed
GigSky
Prices unlimited data by the day instead of by the gigabyte.
$7.99 / Unlimited · 1 day
  • Priced by unlimited-data days, not a GB cap
  • A 30-day unlimited pass runs $99.99
  • 4G/5G/LTE listed, though the carrier itself isn't named

This guide compares all seven Uganda eSIMs actually worth buying, ranked on price, named carriers, and plan flexibility. You’ll find a full side-by-side comparison table, a breakdown of what each provider gets right and wrong, and a practical guide to picking between a data-only eSIM and a local Ugandan SIM. There’s also a dedicated section on what to sort out before you land, from ride-hailing apps to mobile money.

02 Full comparison

How the seven Uganda eSIMs stack up.

Four of the seven providers here name Airtel as their Uganda network, aloSIM names Zain Uganda instead, and Saily and GigSky do not disclose a carrier at all. Prices range from a free 250MB starter tier up to Nomad’s 20GB bucket, the largest on this list.

2026 Uganda eSIM comparison
7 providers · August 2026
Provider Plans From Network
eSIMply
Names Airtel directly, one of four providers here to disclose a carrier. Low capped entry at $7.95. Up to 47% off across the ladder, no ID required.
Up to 47% off
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d
$7.951GB / 7d
Airtel
Airalo
Widest range at nine tiers, across 3, 7, 15 and 30-day validity. Names Airtel as the carrier.
1GB to 10GB · 3-30d
$7.201GB / 3d
Airtel
Saily
NordVPN backed. Cheapest single-GB entry here at $6.99. 10GB / 30 days labeled Best Choice on-page.
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d
$6.991GB / 7d
Not disclosed
Nomad
Names Airtel, with 5G. The only 20GB bucket on this list, at $44.97 for 30 days.
1GB to 20GB · 7-30d
$6.001GB / 7d
Airtel
aloSIM
Names Zain Uganda specifically, an alternative to the Airtel majority. Clean flat-rate range.
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d
$7.001GB / 7d
Zain Uganda
Roamless
Names Airtel, with 5G. Free 250MB / 30-day starter tier, then $6.95 for a full 1GB.
250MB to 10GB · 30d only
$0.00250MB / 30d
Airtel
GigSky
Prices unlimited-data days rather than GB caps. 7-day unlimited pass at $37.19.
Unlimited · 1-30 days
$7.99Unlimited / 1d
Not disclosed

Prices are from each provider's public Uganda product page, shown in USD.

03 eSIM vs local SIM

Buying a local Ugandan SIM versus installing an eSIM.

Registering a Ugandan SIM goes further than a passport scan. Wikivoyage describes the process as requiring digital copies of your passport, a photo of you holding the SIM, and an electronically captured fingerprint, done in person at an MTN or Airtel service centre rather than picked up at a street kiosk. MTN also issues a free Tourist SIM that skips some of that friction, though it still checks your visa and deactivates automatically once the visa expires.

An eSIM skips all of that. Buy online, scan a QR code before you fly, and you’re online the moment you land at Entebbe, from $6.00 for the cheapest 1GB plan on this list. What a local SIM gives you that a data-only eSIM cannot is a Ugandan phone number, and with it, access to MTN Mobile Money or Airtel Money, which is how most everyday purchases in Uganda actually get paid for.

Plenty of travellers end up running both: an eSIM for data from the moment they land, plus a cheap local SIM picked up in Kampala or Entebbe once they decide they want mobile money for boda-boda fares and market stalls.

04 Rankings

The seven, ranked by carrier disclosure and price.

Airalo

The most recognized travel eSIM brand, naming Airtel across a nine-tier Uganda lineup.

4.4/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB
Validity
3-30 days
Network
Airtel
Type
Data only

Airalo’s Uganda listing names Airtel as the local network and offers the widest spread of any provider here, nine separate tiers across 3, 7, 15 and 30-day validity windows. That range suits a trip where you are not yet sure how long you will stay.

Pricing sits mid-pack: 5GB / 7 days runs $25.92, and the 10GB / 30-day option is $50.39. Airalo also bundles Uganda into wider Africa and Global regional plans, worth a look if your trip continues past Uganda’s borders.

Uganda plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB3 days$7.20
3 GB7 days$17.64
5 GB Best value7 days$25.92
10 GB7 days$46.79
10 GB30 days$50.39
Installation

The Airalo app walks through installation step by step on iOS and Android. QR code install takes under two minutes, and the app shows remaining data in real time, useful for tracking a capped plan across a longer Uganda stay.

What works
  • Names Airtel directly, with the widest plan range on this list at nine tiers
  • Multiple validity windows (3, 7, 15, 30 days) fit almost any trip length
  • Established app with real-time data tracking and broad device support
Trade-offs
  • Entry 1GB/3 days at $7.20 is pricier than Saily and Nomad at the same rough tier
  • Only a 3-day option at the smallest size, so a short top-up runs out fast

Saily

NordVPN-backed, with the lowest single-GB entry price and no carrier named for Uganda.

4.2/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB
Validity
7-30 days
Network
Not disclosed
Type
Data only

Saily, built by the NordVPN team, does not name its Uganda carrier, describing coverage only as “Uganda’s best networks” without specifying which one. That NordVPN backing still carries a security-brand trust signal for travellers who want a known name behind the app.

The 1GB / 7-day plan at $6.99 is the cheapest single-GB entry on this list, and the range runs four tiers up to 10GB / 30 days at $48.99, which Saily itself labels its “Best Choice” on the product page.

Uganda plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB7 days$6.99
3 GB30 days$16.99
5 GB30 days$26.99
10 GB Best value30 days$48.99
Installation

QR code install through the Saily app or straight from email. The app manages your eSIMs and tracks usage live, and it works with any eSIM-capable iPhone or Android device.

What works
  • Cheapest single-GB entry on this list at $6.99
  • NordVPN backing gives a security-brand trust signal
  • Simple four-tier range that is easy to compare at a glance
Trade-offs
  • Does not name its Uganda carrier, so you cannot verify coverage before buying
  • Tops out at 10GB, with no larger bucket for a long stay

Nomad

Names Airtel with 5G and the only 20GB bucket on this list.

4.6/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 20GB
Validity
7-30 days
Network
Airtel
Type
Data only

Nomad’s Uganda page states plainly, “Network for Uganda: Airtel,” pairing that disclosure with 5G availability. It is also the only provider on this list selling a 20GB bucket.

The 1GB / 7-day plan is the cheapest headline entry here at $6.00, and the ladder tops out at 20GB / 30 days for $44.97, the largest bucket at the lowest per-tier jump of any Uganda eSIM in this comparison.

Uganda plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB7 days$6.00
3 GB30 days$14.99
5 GB30 days$20.98
10 GB30 days$34.98
20 GB Best value30 days$44.97
Installation

Standard QR code install through the Nomad app, which also shows your live data balance and days remaining. Nomad plans do not auto-renew, so set a reminder if your Uganda stay might run past the plan window.

What works
  • Names Airtel with 5G listed
  • The only 20GB bucket on this list, at $44.97 for 30 days
  • Cheapest headline entry price here at $6.00 for 1GB
Trade-offs
  • No mention of auto-renew, so a stay running past 30 days needs a manual top-up
  • App store ratings are less established than Airalo's or Saily's

aloSIM

Names Zain Uganda specifically, the only provider not routing through Airtel.

4.0/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB
Validity
7-30 days
Network
Zain Uganda
Type
Data only

aloSIM is the one provider here naming Zain Uganda rather than Airtel, worth knowing if you already have a preference between the two. It lists LTE and 5G average speeds.

The range runs five flat tiers, from 1GB / 7 days at $7.00 up to 10GB / 30 days at $49.00, which the product page itself flags as its “Best Value” option.

Uganda plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB7 days$7.00
2 GB15 days$12.50
3 GB30 days$17.50
5 GB30 days$27.00
10 GB Best value30 days$49.00
What works
  • Names Zain Uganda specifically, an alternative to the Airtel-based majority
  • Clean flat-rate pricing across all five tiers
  • Its own 10GB/30-day tier is flagged Best Value on the product page
Trade-offs
  • Zain has a smaller rural footprint than Airtel, per traveller reports
  • Tops out at 10GB, so heavy-data users need to look elsewhere

Roamless

Names Airtel with 5G and a genuinely free 250MB starter tier.

4.1/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
250MB to 10GB
Validity
30 days
Network
Airtel
Type
Data only

Roamless names Airtel with 3G, LTE, 4G and 5G on its Uganda page, and its own fair-use text states a speed limit of “Never,” the most direct anti-throttling claim of any provider in this comparison.

It also lists a genuinely free 250MB / 30-day tier, a reasonable way to test the connection before committing further. Paid tiers start at $6.95 for 1GB / 30 days and run to $51.45 for 10GB / 30 days.

Uganda plans
PlanValidityPrice
250 MB30 days$0.00
1 GB30 days$6.95
2 GB Best value30 days$12.95
3 GB30 days$16.95
5 GB30 days$26.95
10 GB30 days$51.45
What works
  • Names Airtel with 5G, and states a "Never" speed-limit policy
  • A genuinely free 250MB/30-day tier to test the connection first
  • Every plan runs a full 30 days, useful for a longer stay
Trade-offs
  • No short-validity option, so a quick week trip still pays for a full month
  • 10GB/30 days at $51.45 is the second-priciest large bucket on this list

GigSky

Prices unlimited data by the day instead of by the gigabyte, with no Uganda carrier named.

3.8/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
Unlimited (daily)
Validity
1-30 days
Network
Not disclosed
Type
Data only

GigSky prices Uganda differently from every other provider on this list: instead of a GB cap, it sells unlimited data by the day, from a single day up to a full month. It does not name a Uganda carrier, describing coverage only as running on “5G, 4G, or LTE depending on the area.”

A 1-day unlimited pass runs $7.99, a 7-day pass $37.19, and the 30-day unlimited pass $99.99, all currently carrying a site-wide 20 percent discount. That structure suits a traveller who wants to stop counting gigabytes entirely, at a real premium over the GB-capped competition.

Uganda plans
PlanValidityPrice
Unlimited1 day$7.99
Unlimited3 days$16.79
Unlimited Best value7 days$37.19
Unlimited14 days$64.39
Unlimited30 days$99.99
What works
  • Unlimited-data-per-day structure means no GB cap to track
  • Passes scale from a single day to a full month
  • Currently carries a site-wide 20% discount on every tier
Trade-offs
  • Does not name a Uganda carrier at all
  • The most expensive provider on this list at every matching validity window
07 Country essentials

Before you go to Uganda.

Uganda throws a few curveballs that catch first-timers, and most have nothing to do with your data plan. Its ride-hailing scene just reshuffled, its SIM registration goes further than a passport scan, and its national parks sit in real coverage dead zones that no eSIM reaches. These are the things worth sorting before you land.

The eSIM gotcha

An eSIM gets you data on landing. It can't pay for a boda-boda, and it goes silent past the Bwindi trailhead.

The mistake is assuming an eSIM covers everything a Uganda trip needs. It gets you online the moment you land at Entebbe, but it cannot unlock the mobile-money network (MTN MoMo or Airtel Money) that actually pays for boda-boda fares, park gates and safari balances, since that requires a locally registered number. It also can’t guarantee that the app you were planning to use still exists in its old form: Uber wound down its entire Uganda operation on September 2, 2026, reportedly cutting out mid-ride for some riders.

And once you actually reach Bwindi Impenetrable National Park for gorilla trekking, the forest interior is a real coverage dead zone on every network, eSIM or physical SIM alike. A Uganda safari-connectivity guide is direct that signal reaches the gateway villages of Buhoma and Rushaga but not the forest interior, so download whatever you need before the trailhead, not during.

Uber is gone. Here’s who’s actually driving now.

Anyone planning to just open Uber in Kampala needs a new plan. Uber confirmed it was winding down operations in Uganda and Nigeria, effective September 2, 2026, ending a run that had lasted since 2016 in Kampala. Coverage of the shutdown describes it as abrupt enough that some riders had the app cut out mid-ride, with only 21 days of in-app support to settle anything outstanding.

SafeBoda was always the closer thing to a local default anyway, motorcycle-first with car rides added later through SafeCar. Within days of Uber’s exit, Kenyan-origin app Little was publicly reaffirming its commitment to Uganda and expanding its Kampala driver base, alongside Bolt and homegrown app Tinka. Install at least two of these before you land, since coverage and driver density still vary block by block after the shakeup.

Uganda has shut off the internet before, most recently in January.

This is a recurring pattern, not ancient history. Ahead of Uganda’s January 2026 general election, a government directive ordered a temporary suspension of public internet access and selected mobile services. General internet access was restored within days, but restrictions on social media and messaging apps stayed in place for weeks longer, and Facebook specifically remained blocked, a separate dispute dating to 2021, until users began reporting it working again without a VPN in mid-June 2026.

An eSIM keeps your data working through all of this. It just may not include the app you actually wanted to open.

Gorilla trekking means armed guards and a real signal blackout.

Bwindi Impenetrable National Park’s gateway villages, Buhoma and Rushaga, have signal. The forest interior does not, so download offline maps before you set off, not during the trek. Security sits on top of the connectivity gap: since a security incident near the Democratic Republic of Congo border in the late 1990s, gorilla-tracking groups have been accompanied by armed guards, which current UK government travel advice confirms is still routine practice in the same border region.

Permits aren’t spontaneous either. The Uganda Wildlife Authority prices gorilla trekking permits at $800 per person in high season, dropping to $600 in the low-season months of April, May and November, and only a handful of visitors are allowed near each gorilla family per day. Book six to ten months ahead for peak-season dates, through a licensed tour operator.

Uganda shuts down for three hours on the last Saturday of every month.

Current UK government travel advice confirms that the final Saturday of each month, between 7 and 10am, is a mandatory nationwide cleaning day, during which all businesses must close and non-essential movement of people and vehicles is prohibited, enforced by police. Tourists are technically exempt, but the same advisory admits it is unclear how consistently that exemption is enforced or what it means for hotel and airport access, so it’s worth checking with your hotel or driver before planning anything for a Saturday morning.

Getting around and paying for things.

i
Getting around

Uganda’s ride-hailing scene reshuffled days before this guide was written: Uber wound down its entire Uganda operation on September 2, 2026, leaving SafeBoda (motorcycle-first, with car rides via SafeCar), Bolt, the Kenyan-origin app Little, and homegrown app Tinka as the ones actually booking rides now. For intercity travel, privately run coaches and shared matatus leave Kampala once full rather than on a timetable.

$
Paying for things

Mobile money, not cards, is the layer underneath most Ugandan transactions: a registered MTN MoMo or Airtel Money line pays for almost anything by USSD, no data connection required. Visa and Mastercard work at bigger hotels, restaurants and ATMs in Kampala and Entebbe, typically with a 5 percent surcharge, but assume cash or mobile money everywhere else.

The word “taxi” itself is a trap for first-timers. Ask for a taxi in Kampala and someone will point you toward a matatu, a shared 12 to 14 seat minibus, not a private car, which locals instead call a special hire. Fares are cash-only, roughly 1,000 to 5,000 Ugandan shillings for trips around the city, paid to a conductor at the sliding door with no printed price list or fixed timetable.

Boda-bodas are the fastest way through Kampala’s gridlock, but they carry real risk. UK government travel advice warns that foreign nationals using motorbike taxis have been mugged, in some cases involving violence and weapons, and separately advises against using matatus and boda-bodas altogether. In practice, most travellers still use them but agree the fare before getting on, and booking through SafeBoda or Bolt rather than flagging one down at least logs the ride, driver and fare.

Getting between towns runs on privately operated coaches rather than a national timetable. Companies including Post Bus and Link Bus leave Kampala in the early morning, and like shared taxis, they leave once full rather than on a fixed schedule, so a lightly travelled route can mean a long wait while a busy one fills within minutes. Intercity passenger rail is still limited to commuter services in and around Kampala, so budget the whole day for any long-distance overland leg.

ATMs are easy to find in Kampala and Entebbe, and travellers recommend sticking to DTB, Stanbic, Ecobank, Equity, KCB, GT Bank or I&M Bank machines, with DTB charging no withdrawal fee at all on foreign Visa or Mastercard cards. Watch the notes you’re handed in change too: banknotes from the 1987 series are no longer valid and banks will not exchange them. Some safaris and higher-end hotels quote prices in US dollars rather than shillings, and the on-the-spot exchange rate for converting back to dollars is often poor, so carrying some USD cash for pre-booked activities can work out cheaper.

Apps to install before you leave.

These are the apps that actually matter for Uganda right now, not a generic packing list, including the ride-hailing apps that picked up the slack after Uber’s exit.

SB
SafeBoda Free · iOS / Android
Uganda’s dominant motorcycle-taxi app, now also offering car rides through SafeCar; the closest thing to a default ride app now that Uber has left the country.
BT
Bolt Free · iOS / Android
Major ride-hailing alternative to SafeBoda in Kampala, covering both car and boda-boda rides, and one of the apps picking up riders after Uber’s September 2026 exit.
LT
Little Free · iOS / Android
Kenyan-origin ride-hailing app publicly expanding its Kampala driver and rider base in the days right after Uber shut down its Uganda operation.
TK
Tinka Free · iOS / Android
Homegrown Ugandan ride-hailing app covering Kampala, Entebbe, Jinja, Mbarara, Gulu and Mbale, accepting cash, MTN Mobile Money or Airtel Money.
MM
MTN MoMo Free · iOS / Android
Official app for Uganda’s larger mobile-money network; register with a local SIM to pay for almost anything by USSD or in-app, no data connection required at the point of payment.
AT
My Airtel Free · iOS / Android
Airtel’s official self-care and Airtel Money app; scan a merchant’s QR code to pay directly, or dial *185# on any phone without the app installed at all.
MN
MyMTN Free · iOS / Android
MTN Uganda’s self-care app for topping up airtime and data bundles and checking balances on a local number, handy even when your primary connection is an eSIM.
WA
WhatsApp Free · iOS / Android
The default way drivers, safari guides and lodges communicate in Uganda, including voice calls to a driver-guide once you’re on a local line.
GM
Google Maps Free · iOS / Android
Download offline map areas before heading into any national park, since live navigation stops working once you’re past the gate.
GT
Google Translate Free · iOS / Android
Added Luganda, Uganda’s most widely understood local language after English, with offline translation packs that work without a data connection.
XE
Xe Currency Free · iOS / Android
Quick USD to Ugandan shilling conversion, useful since some safari operators price in USD instead of shillings at a poor on-the-spot rate.
i
Tipping in Uganda

Tipping is not a Ugandan cultural default: Wikivoyage says plainly it is not part of local custom and not expected, though it will still be appreciated. The safari and lodge industry runs its own structured system instead, with roughly $5 to $10 a day per guest for a lodge’s communal staff tip box and a further $10 to $20 a day for a driver-guide, paid separately. Outside that tourism bubble, a tip at an ordinary Kampala restaurant is a pleasant surprise, not an expectation.

$
Cash vs card

Visa and Mastercard are accepted at most ATMs and by the bigger hotels, restaurants and shopping-mall stores, but a roughly 5 percent card surcharge is common and travellers cheques are not accepted anywhere. Outside Kampala, Entebbe and the main tourist lodges, assume cash or mobile money only, since small guesthouses, roadside stalls, matatus and boda-bodas mostly have no card machine to begin with.

Where you’ll actually use your eSIM in Uganda.

Seven places where your mobile data will earn its keep, and where coverage differences between providers actually start to matter:

01 Kampala
The capital has Uganda’s strongest, most consistent 4G coverage and the widest choice of ride-hailing apps (SafeBoda, Bolt, Little and Tinka all operate here), plus full MTN and Airtel service centres for anything an eSIM can’t do, like mobile-money registration.
02 Entebbe
Home to the country’s only international airport. Register a local number here if you want mobile money, since both MTN and Airtel run counters in or near the arrivals hall, and coverage along the Lake Victoria shore is reliable.
03 Jinja
The source-of-the-Nile adventure hub for whitewater rafting and quad biking, an hour or two from Kampala on a route both major networks cover well.
04 Fort Portal
Gateway to Kibale Forest chimpanzee tracking and the Rwenzori foothills, with workable coverage in town before roads get rougher heading into the mountains.
05 Kabale and Kisoro
The last towns with reliably solid signal before Bwindi and Mgahinga gorilla-trekking country. Load offline maps and send messages here, not at the trailhead.
06 Mbarara
Southwestern transit hub on the route between Kampala and the western national parks, a useful connectivity and fuel stop.
07 Gulu
Northern Uganda’s main hub, useful for approaches to Murchison Falls’ northern circuit and Kidepo Valley, though Kidepo itself remains the most limited park for coverage.
08 Decision guide

Matching the plan to your actual Uganda itinerary.

Uganda trips tend to split into two shapes: a Kampala-and-Entebbe city stay, or a longer safari circuit through national parks with long driving days between them. The right plan size and provider depend on which one you’re actually doing.

If you want the fundamentals of eSIM shopping before narrowing down by country, eSIMply’s general guide to choosing an eSIM plan covers that. The four questions below are specific to Uganda.

How much data does a Uganda trip actually burn?

A day of maps, WhatsApp, ride-hailing apps and some photo uploads in Kampala or Entebbe runs light, comfortably inside a 1 to 3GB plan for a short city stay. Add a safari circuit with more photo and video backup between towns, and 5GB covers a week without rationing, which is why eSIMply, Airalo, Saily and aloSIM all price a 5GB tier as a mid-range pick. Only Nomad’s 20GB bucket or GigSky’s unlimited-day passes make sense for a multi-week trip or anyone tethering a laptop.

Which network does your Uganda eSIM actually run on?

Airtel is the most disclosed network on this list: eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad and Roamless all name it directly. aloSIM names Zain Uganda instead, a real alternative if you want to split risk across networks or have a specific preference already. Saily and GigSky do not name a Uganda carrier at all, so budget for uncertainty rather than assuming a specific network.

What about the days you’re inside a national park?

No plan on this list, and no local SIM either, gets a signal inside Bwindi’s forest interior or deep inside Murchison Falls and Queen Elizabeth. The practical move is downloading offline maps and anything else you need in a gateway town like Kabale, Kisoro, Fort Portal or Masindi, then treating the park itself as offline time rather than expecting your data plan to catch up once you’re back in range.

Is a regional East Africa eSIM ever the smarter buy?

If Uganda is one stop on a wider East Africa trip, Airalo and Saily both sell regional Africa bundles that include Uganda alongside dozens of other countries, and Saily’s starts at $14.99 across 35 countries. For a Uganda-only trip, though, a single-country plan from this list is cheaper per gigabyte, since regional pricing carries a premium for covering ground you may never actually visit.

i
Quick tip

Install your eSIM before you fly, but wait to turn on data roaming until you land at Entebbe. Set it as your default data line, download offline maps for Kampala and your planned park routes in advance, and keep your home SIM active for calls and two-factor codes.

09 Frequently asked questions

Uganda eSIM questions, answered.

Most questions about a Uganda eSIM come down to three things: whether it survives the national park circuit, which network it actually runs on, and whether it’s worth it once mobile money enters the picture. The answers below cover what comes up most before people buy.

Not strictly. Uganda has a functioning eSIM registration option, and MTN’s own Tourist SIM programme lets visitors get a physical local line at a service centre instead. An eSIM still beats standard roaming on price and gets you online the moment you land at Entebbe, without a passport-and-fingerprint registration process first.
No, not inside the forest itself. Coverage reaches the gateway villages of Buhoma and Rushaga on Airtel and other networks, but the forest interior is a dead zone for every provider on this list, eSIM or physical SIM. Download offline maps and anything else you need before you start the trek, not during it.
Yes. eSIMply, Airalo, Saily, Nomad, aloSIM, Roamless and GigSky all sell Uganda eSIMs online that you can buy and install before you fly. Check your phone supports eSIM, buy the plan, scan the QR code you’re emailed, and turn on data roaming once you land so it connects automatically.
Nomad has the cheapest headline entry at $6.00 for 1GB / 7 days and the only 20GB bucket on this list, at $44.97. eSIMply’s entry runs $7.95 but names Airtel directly and is currently discounted up to 47 percent across its ladder. Which one is better value depends on whether you’d rather have the lowest number or a confirmed network.
Airtel is Uganda’s most-named network on this list, disclosed by eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad and Roamless. aloSIM names Zain Uganda instead. Saily and GigSky do not name a Uganda carrier at all, so treat their coverage as unconfirmed rather than assuming either network.
For a city stay in Kampala or Entebbe using Google Maps, WhatsApp and a ride-hailing app, 1 to 3GB covers most quick visits. A week-long safari circuit with more photo backup fits comfortably in 5GB, and only a multi-week trip or laptop tethering needs Nomad’s 20GB bucket or a GigSky unlimited pass. Download offline maps before entering any national park, since data alone won’t help once you’re out of range.
An eSIM installs before you fly and skips Uganda’s in-person registration process entirely, from $6.00 for the cheapest plan on this list. A local SIM gives you a Ugandan phone number and, more importantly, access to mobile money, which a data-only eSIM cannot provide. Many travellers keep their home SIM in a second slot for calls and use the eSIM purely for data.
No. Every travel eSIM in this comparison is data-only, so it carries no Ugandan phone number and can’t send or receive SMS or calls on that line. Keep your home SIM active in a second slot for calls and two-factor codes, set the eSIM as your default data line, and turn roaming off on your home SIM to avoid surprise charges.
First, make sure data roaming is switched on for the eSIM line specifically, since that’s the most common cause and it carries no extra charge. Close any VPN that’s stuck on “Activating,” and if that doesn’t fix it, manually select Airtel or another named network as a fallback before contacting support. If you’re inside Bwindi or deep in a national park, no setting fixes that: the dead zone is real and applies to every provider.
Yes. Hotspot and tethering are included across eSIMply, Airalo, Saily, Nomad, aloSIM, Roamless and GigSky at no extra cost, so you can share your connection with a laptop or a travel companion. Tethering burns through data noticeably faster than phone-only use, so size your plan up if you’re planning to share it regularly.
Our methodology

How we ranked Uganda’s eSIMs.

We work in eSIM technology full-time, so this isn’t a side-hustle review. Our methodology comes from operating in the space, knowing how every major provider sources their data, and tracking which underlying networks they actually route traffic through.

  • For every provider we list, we verify the underlying carrier network directly from that provider’s own Uganda product page: Airtel for eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad and Roamless; Zain Uganda for aloSIM; not disclosed for Saily and GigSky. That is what determines real-world coverage, not the brand on the front of the eSIM.
  • We compare entry-plan pricing, plan flexibility, validity windows, and any stated throttling or fair-use policy on higher-data and unlimited plans.
  • Jetpac, one of our usual eight providers, does not currently sell a Uganda eSIM at all, confirmed on its own site, so it’s excluded from this comparison rather than force-fit with invented pricing.
  • Where competitors share the same network, we rank by price, plan range, and installation experience.

We may receive commission from some providers if you purchase via our links. This never influences our rankings. Underperforming providers get excluded regardless of affiliate relationship.

Jamie Cole, Best eSIM for Uganda author
Jamie Cole
Tech content writer · eSIMply.co

Jamie has worked in telecommunications for more than 8 years across mobile, SMS, eSIM, apps, and adjacent technology. He now writes for eSIMply as the tech content writer, analysing the top eSIM providers and breaking down what travellers actually need to know.

While we do our best to ensure accuracy, prices and plan availability are subject to change. Last updated by Jamie Cole.

Chat with Us!

Chat with us on WhatsApp for instant support!
Scroll to Top