- Cheapest headline entry here at $6.00 for 1GB
- The only 20GB bucket among all seven providers, at $44.97
- Names Airtel as the carrier, with 5G listed
Best eSIM for Uganda, ranked.
Uber shut down its entire Uganda operation on September 2, and no eSIM on this list reaches a signal once you’re inside Bwindi’s gorilla forest.
Three Uganda eSIMs to shortlist first.
- Airtel named directly on the product page
- Up to 47% off across the plan ladder
- No ID or registration required to activate
- 24/7 chat and email support
- Priced by unlimited-data days, not a GB cap
- A 30-day unlimited pass runs $99.99
- 4G/5G/LTE listed, though the carrier itself isn't named
This guide compares all seven Uganda eSIMs actually worth buying, ranked on price, named carriers, and plan flexibility. You’ll find a full side-by-side comparison table, a breakdown of what each provider gets right and wrong, and a practical guide to picking between a data-only eSIM and a local Ugandan SIM. There’s also a dedicated section on what to sort out before you land, from ride-hailing apps to mobile money.
How the seven Uganda eSIMs stack up.
Four of the seven providers here name Airtel as their Uganda network, aloSIM names Zain Uganda instead, and Saily and GigSky do not disclose a carrier at all. Prices range from a free 250MB starter tier up to Nomad’s 20GB bucket, the largest on this list.
| Provider | Plans | From | Network |
|---|---|---|---|
|
eSIMply
Names Airtel directly, one of four providers here to disclose a carrier. Low capped entry at $7.95. Up to 47% off across the ladder, no ID required.
Up to 47% off
|
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d | $7.951GB / 7d |
Airtel |
|
Airalo
Widest range at nine tiers, across 3, 7, 15 and 30-day validity. Names Airtel as the carrier.
|
1GB to 10GB · 3-30d | $7.201GB / 3d |
Airtel |
|
Saily
NordVPN backed. Cheapest single-GB entry here at $6.99. 10GB / 30 days labeled Best Choice on-page.
|
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d | $6.991GB / 7d |
Not disclosed |
|
Nomad
Names Airtel, with 5G. The only 20GB bucket on this list, at $44.97 for 30 days.
|
1GB to 20GB · 7-30d | $6.001GB / 7d |
Airtel |
|
aloSIM
Names Zain Uganda specifically, an alternative to the Airtel majority. Clean flat-rate range.
|
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d | $7.001GB / 7d |
Zain Uganda |
|
Roamless
Names Airtel, with 5G. Free 250MB / 30-day starter tier, then $6.95 for a full 1GB.
|
250MB to 10GB · 30d only | $0.00250MB / 30d |
Airtel |
|
GigSky
Prices unlimited-data days rather than GB caps. 7-day unlimited pass at $37.19.
|
Unlimited · 1-30 days | $7.99Unlimited / 1d |
Not disclosed |
Prices are from each provider's public Uganda product page, shown in USD.
Buying a local Ugandan SIM versus installing an eSIM.
Registering a Ugandan SIM goes further than a passport scan. Wikivoyage describes the process as requiring digital copies of your passport, a photo of you holding the SIM, and an electronically captured fingerprint, done in person at an MTN or Airtel service centre rather than picked up at a street kiosk. MTN also issues a free Tourist SIM that skips some of that friction, though it still checks your visa and deactivates automatically once the visa expires.
An eSIM skips all of that. Buy online, scan a QR code before you fly, and you’re online the moment you land at Entebbe, from $6.00 for the cheapest 1GB plan on this list. What a local SIM gives you that a data-only eSIM cannot is a Ugandan phone number, and with it, access to MTN Mobile Money or Airtel Money, which is how most everyday purchases in Uganda actually get paid for.
Plenty of travellers end up running both: an eSIM for data from the moment they land, plus a cheap local SIM picked up in Kampala or Entebbe once they decide they want mobile money for boda-boda fares and market stalls.
The seven, ranked by carrier disclosure and price.
eSIMply
Names Airtel directly and currently discounts every Uganda plan by up to 47 percent.
eSIMply’s own Uganda product page names Airtel as the primary network, one of only four providers on this list willing to say which carrier you actually connect to. Every plan is currently discounted, with the site listing savings up to 47 percent off the regular price.
The 1GB / 7-day plan runs $7.95, and the ladder climbs through 5GB / 30 days at $25.95, its steepest discount at 47 percent off, to 10GB / 30 days at $47.95. For a week split between Kampala and a national park circuit, the 5GB plan covers maps, messaging and mobile-heavy apps with room to spare.
| Plan | Validity | Price | Savings |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $7.95 | Save $4.65 (37%) |
| 2 GB | 15 days | $12.95 | Save $9.55 (42%) |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $16.95 | Save $13.65 (45%) |
| 5 GB Best value | 30 days | $25.95 | Save $22.65 (47%) |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $47.95 | Save $40.25 (46%) |
Buy online and receive a QR code by email. Scan it in your phone’s settings before you fly, and the eSIM installs in under 2 minutes. Set it as your active data line, turn on data roaming, and it connects to Airtel when you land in Entebbe.
- Names Airtel directly on its product page, one of only four providers here willing to disclose it
- Up to 47% off across the plan ladder, with the 5GB/30-day tier the steepest discount
- No ID or registration needed, just scan the QR code and go
- 24/7 chat and email support if anything goes wrong
- Data-only plan, so no Ugandan phone number or inbound SMS
- Caps out at 10GB, so a multi-week heavy-data trip needs a top-up or a different provider
Airalo
The most recognized travel eSIM brand, naming Airtel across a nine-tier Uganda lineup.
Airalo’s Uganda listing names Airtel as the local network and offers the widest spread of any provider here, nine separate tiers across 3, 7, 15 and 30-day validity windows. That range suits a trip where you are not yet sure how long you will stay.
Pricing sits mid-pack: 5GB / 7 days runs $25.92, and the 10GB / 30-day option is $50.39. Airalo also bundles Uganda into wider Africa and Global regional plans, worth a look if your trip continues past Uganda’s borders.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 3 days | $7.20 |
| 3 GB | 7 days | $17.64 |
| 5 GB Best value | 7 days | $25.92 |
| 10 GB | 7 days | $46.79 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $50.39 |
The Airalo app walks through installation step by step on iOS and Android. QR code install takes under two minutes, and the app shows remaining data in real time, useful for tracking a capped plan across a longer Uganda stay.
- Names Airtel directly, with the widest plan range on this list at nine tiers
- Multiple validity windows (3, 7, 15, 30 days) fit almost any trip length
- Established app with real-time data tracking and broad device support
- Entry 1GB/3 days at $7.20 is pricier than Saily and Nomad at the same rough tier
- Only a 3-day option at the smallest size, so a short top-up runs out fast
Saily
NordVPN-backed, with the lowest single-GB entry price and no carrier named for Uganda.
Saily, built by the NordVPN team, does not name its Uganda carrier, describing coverage only as “Uganda’s best networks” without specifying which one. That NordVPN backing still carries a security-brand trust signal for travellers who want a known name behind the app.
The 1GB / 7-day plan at $6.99 is the cheapest single-GB entry on this list, and the range runs four tiers up to 10GB / 30 days at $48.99, which Saily itself labels its “Best Choice” on the product page.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $6.99 |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $16.99 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $26.99 |
| 10 GB Best value | 30 days | $48.99 |
QR code install through the Saily app or straight from email. The app manages your eSIMs and tracks usage live, and it works with any eSIM-capable iPhone or Android device.
- Cheapest single-GB entry on this list at $6.99
- NordVPN backing gives a security-brand trust signal
- Simple four-tier range that is easy to compare at a glance
- Does not name its Uganda carrier, so you cannot verify coverage before buying
- Tops out at 10GB, with no larger bucket for a long stay
Nomad
Names Airtel with 5G and the only 20GB bucket on this list.
Nomad’s Uganda page states plainly, “Network for Uganda: Airtel,” pairing that disclosure with 5G availability. It is also the only provider on this list selling a 20GB bucket.
The 1GB / 7-day plan is the cheapest headline entry here at $6.00, and the ladder tops out at 20GB / 30 days for $44.97, the largest bucket at the lowest per-tier jump of any Uganda eSIM in this comparison.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $6.00 |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $14.99 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $20.98 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $34.98 |
| 20 GB Best value | 30 days | $44.97 |
Standard QR code install through the Nomad app, which also shows your live data balance and days remaining. Nomad plans do not auto-renew, so set a reminder if your Uganda stay might run past the plan window.
- Names Airtel with 5G listed
- The only 20GB bucket on this list, at $44.97 for 30 days
- Cheapest headline entry price here at $6.00 for 1GB
- No mention of auto-renew, so a stay running past 30 days needs a manual top-up
- App store ratings are less established than Airalo's or Saily's
aloSIM
Names Zain Uganda specifically, the only provider not routing through Airtel.
aloSIM is the one provider here naming Zain Uganda rather than Airtel, worth knowing if you already have a preference between the two. It lists LTE and 5G average speeds.
The range runs five flat tiers, from 1GB / 7 days at $7.00 up to 10GB / 30 days at $49.00, which the product page itself flags as its “Best Value” option.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $7.00 |
| 2 GB | 15 days | $12.50 |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $17.50 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $27.00 |
| 10 GB Best value | 30 days | $49.00 |
- Names Zain Uganda specifically, an alternative to the Airtel-based majority
- Clean flat-rate pricing across all five tiers
- Its own 10GB/30-day tier is flagged Best Value on the product page
- Zain has a smaller rural footprint than Airtel, per traveller reports
- Tops out at 10GB, so heavy-data users need to look elsewhere
Roamless
Names Airtel with 5G and a genuinely free 250MB starter tier.
Roamless names Airtel with 3G, LTE, 4G and 5G on its Uganda page, and its own fair-use text states a speed limit of “Never,” the most direct anti-throttling claim of any provider in this comparison.
It also lists a genuinely free 250MB / 30-day tier, a reasonable way to test the connection before committing further. Paid tiers start at $6.95 for 1GB / 30 days and run to $51.45 for 10GB / 30 days.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 250 MB | 30 days | $0.00 |
| 1 GB | 30 days | $6.95 |
| 2 GB Best value | 30 days | $12.95 |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $16.95 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $26.95 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $51.45 |
- Names Airtel with 5G, and states a "Never" speed-limit policy
- A genuinely free 250MB/30-day tier to test the connection first
- Every plan runs a full 30 days, useful for a longer stay
- No short-validity option, so a quick week trip still pays for a full month
- 10GB/30 days at $51.45 is the second-priciest large bucket on this list
GigSky
Prices unlimited data by the day instead of by the gigabyte, with no Uganda carrier named.
GigSky prices Uganda differently from every other provider on this list: instead of a GB cap, it sells unlimited data by the day, from a single day up to a full month. It does not name a Uganda carrier, describing coverage only as running on “5G, 4G, or LTE depending on the area.”
A 1-day unlimited pass runs $7.99, a 7-day pass $37.19, and the 30-day unlimited pass $99.99, all currently carrying a site-wide 20 percent discount. That structure suits a traveller who wants to stop counting gigabytes entirely, at a real premium over the GB-capped competition.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Unlimited | 1 day | $7.99 |
| Unlimited | 3 days | $16.79 |
| Unlimited Best value | 7 days | $37.19 |
| Unlimited | 14 days | $64.39 |
| Unlimited | 30 days | $99.99 |
- Unlimited-data-per-day structure means no GB cap to track
- Passes scale from a single day to a full month
- Currently carries a site-wide 20% discount on every tier
- Does not name a Uganda carrier at all
- The most expensive provider on this list at every matching validity window
Before you go to Uganda.
Uganda throws a few curveballs that catch first-timers, and most have nothing to do with your data plan. Its ride-hailing scene just reshuffled, its SIM registration goes further than a passport scan, and its national parks sit in real coverage dead zones that no eSIM reaches. These are the things worth sorting before you land.
An eSIM gets you data on landing. It can't pay for a boda-boda, and it goes silent past the Bwindi trailhead.
The mistake is assuming an eSIM covers everything a Uganda trip needs. It gets you online the moment you land at Entebbe, but it cannot unlock the mobile-money network (MTN MoMo or Airtel Money) that actually pays for boda-boda fares, park gates and safari balances, since that requires a locally registered number. It also can’t guarantee that the app you were planning to use still exists in its old form: Uber wound down its entire Uganda operation on September 2, 2026, reportedly cutting out mid-ride for some riders.
And once you actually reach Bwindi Impenetrable National Park for gorilla trekking, the forest interior is a real coverage dead zone on every network, eSIM or physical SIM alike. A Uganda safari-connectivity guide is direct that signal reaches the gateway villages of Buhoma and Rushaga but not the forest interior, so download whatever you need before the trailhead, not during.
Uber is gone. Here’s who’s actually driving now.
Anyone planning to just open Uber in Kampala needs a new plan. Uber confirmed it was winding down operations in Uganda and Nigeria, effective September 2, 2026, ending a run that had lasted since 2016 in Kampala. Coverage of the shutdown describes it as abrupt enough that some riders had the app cut out mid-ride, with only 21 days of in-app support to settle anything outstanding.
SafeBoda was always the closer thing to a local default anyway, motorcycle-first with car rides added later through SafeCar. Within days of Uber’s exit, Kenyan-origin app Little was publicly reaffirming its commitment to Uganda and expanding its Kampala driver base, alongside Bolt and homegrown app Tinka. Install at least two of these before you land, since coverage and driver density still vary block by block after the shakeup.
Uganda has shut off the internet before, most recently in January.
This is a recurring pattern, not ancient history. Ahead of Uganda’s January 2026 general election, a government directive ordered a temporary suspension of public internet access and selected mobile services. General internet access was restored within days, but restrictions on social media and messaging apps stayed in place for weeks longer, and Facebook specifically remained blocked, a separate dispute dating to 2021, until users began reporting it working again without a VPN in mid-June 2026.
An eSIM keeps your data working through all of this. It just may not include the app you actually wanted to open.
Gorilla trekking means armed guards and a real signal blackout.
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park’s gateway villages, Buhoma and Rushaga, have signal. The forest interior does not, so download offline maps before you set off, not during the trek. Security sits on top of the connectivity gap: since a security incident near the Democratic Republic of Congo border in the late 1990s, gorilla-tracking groups have been accompanied by armed guards, which current UK government travel advice confirms is still routine practice in the same border region.
Permits aren’t spontaneous either. The Uganda Wildlife Authority prices gorilla trekking permits at $800 per person in high season, dropping to $600 in the low-season months of April, May and November, and only a handful of visitors are allowed near each gorilla family per day. Book six to ten months ahead for peak-season dates, through a licensed tour operator.
Uganda shuts down for three hours on the last Saturday of every month.
Current UK government travel advice confirms that the final Saturday of each month, between 7 and 10am, is a mandatory nationwide cleaning day, during which all businesses must close and non-essential movement of people and vehicles is prohibited, enforced by police. Tourists are technically exempt, but the same advisory admits it is unclear how consistently that exemption is enforced or what it means for hotel and airport access, so it’s worth checking with your hotel or driver before planning anything for a Saturday morning.
Getting around and paying for things.
Uganda’s ride-hailing scene reshuffled days before this guide was written: Uber wound down its entire Uganda operation on September 2, 2026, leaving SafeBoda (motorcycle-first, with car rides via SafeCar), Bolt, the Kenyan-origin app Little, and homegrown app Tinka as the ones actually booking rides now. For intercity travel, privately run coaches and shared matatus leave Kampala once full rather than on a timetable.
Mobile money, not cards, is the layer underneath most Ugandan transactions: a registered MTN MoMo or Airtel Money line pays for almost anything by USSD, no data connection required. Visa and Mastercard work at bigger hotels, restaurants and ATMs in Kampala and Entebbe, typically with a 5 percent surcharge, but assume cash or mobile money everywhere else.
The word “taxi” itself is a trap for first-timers. Ask for a taxi in Kampala and someone will point you toward a matatu, a shared 12 to 14 seat minibus, not a private car, which locals instead call a special hire. Fares are cash-only, roughly 1,000 to 5,000 Ugandan shillings for trips around the city, paid to a conductor at the sliding door with no printed price list or fixed timetable.
Boda-bodas are the fastest way through Kampala’s gridlock, but they carry real risk. UK government travel advice warns that foreign nationals using motorbike taxis have been mugged, in some cases involving violence and weapons, and separately advises against using matatus and boda-bodas altogether. In practice, most travellers still use them but agree the fare before getting on, and booking through SafeBoda or Bolt rather than flagging one down at least logs the ride, driver and fare.
Getting between towns runs on privately operated coaches rather than a national timetable. Companies including Post Bus and Link Bus leave Kampala in the early morning, and like shared taxis, they leave once full rather than on a fixed schedule, so a lightly travelled route can mean a long wait while a busy one fills within minutes. Intercity passenger rail is still limited to commuter services in and around Kampala, so budget the whole day for any long-distance overland leg.
ATMs are easy to find in Kampala and Entebbe, and travellers recommend sticking to DTB, Stanbic, Ecobank, Equity, KCB, GT Bank or I&M Bank machines, with DTB charging no withdrawal fee at all on foreign Visa or Mastercard cards. Watch the notes you’re handed in change too: banknotes from the 1987 series are no longer valid and banks will not exchange them. Some safaris and higher-end hotels quote prices in US dollars rather than shillings, and the on-the-spot exchange rate for converting back to dollars is often poor, so carrying some USD cash for pre-booked activities can work out cheaper.
Apps to install before you leave.
These are the apps that actually matter for Uganda right now, not a generic packing list, including the ride-hailing apps that picked up the slack after Uber’s exit.
Tipping is not a Ugandan cultural default: Wikivoyage says plainly it is not part of local custom and not expected, though it will still be appreciated. The safari and lodge industry runs its own structured system instead, with roughly $5 to $10 a day per guest for a lodge’s communal staff tip box and a further $10 to $20 a day for a driver-guide, paid separately. Outside that tourism bubble, a tip at an ordinary Kampala restaurant is a pleasant surprise, not an expectation.
Visa and Mastercard are accepted at most ATMs and by the bigger hotels, restaurants and shopping-mall stores, but a roughly 5 percent card surcharge is common and travellers cheques are not accepted anywhere. Outside Kampala, Entebbe and the main tourist lodges, assume cash or mobile money only, since small guesthouses, roadside stalls, matatus and boda-bodas mostly have no card machine to begin with.
Where you’ll actually use your eSIM in Uganda.
Seven places where your mobile data will earn its keep, and where coverage differences between providers actually start to matter:
Matching the plan to your actual Uganda itinerary.
Uganda trips tend to split into two shapes: a Kampala-and-Entebbe city stay, or a longer safari circuit through national parks with long driving days between them. The right plan size and provider depend on which one you’re actually doing.
If you want the fundamentals of eSIM shopping before narrowing down by country, eSIMply’s general guide to choosing an eSIM plan covers that. The four questions below are specific to Uganda.
How much data does a Uganda trip actually burn?
A day of maps, WhatsApp, ride-hailing apps and some photo uploads in Kampala or Entebbe runs light, comfortably inside a 1 to 3GB plan for a short city stay. Add a safari circuit with more photo and video backup between towns, and 5GB covers a week without rationing, which is why eSIMply, Airalo, Saily and aloSIM all price a 5GB tier as a mid-range pick. Only Nomad’s 20GB bucket or GigSky’s unlimited-day passes make sense for a multi-week trip or anyone tethering a laptop.
Which network does your Uganda eSIM actually run on?
Airtel is the most disclosed network on this list: eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad and Roamless all name it directly. aloSIM names Zain Uganda instead, a real alternative if you want to split risk across networks or have a specific preference already. Saily and GigSky do not name a Uganda carrier at all, so budget for uncertainty rather than assuming a specific network.
What about the days you’re inside a national park?
No plan on this list, and no local SIM either, gets a signal inside Bwindi’s forest interior or deep inside Murchison Falls and Queen Elizabeth. The practical move is downloading offline maps and anything else you need in a gateway town like Kabale, Kisoro, Fort Portal or Masindi, then treating the park itself as offline time rather than expecting your data plan to catch up once you’re back in range.
Is a regional East Africa eSIM ever the smarter buy?
If Uganda is one stop on a wider East Africa trip, Airalo and Saily both sell regional Africa bundles that include Uganda alongside dozens of other countries, and Saily’s starts at $14.99 across 35 countries. For a Uganda-only trip, though, a single-country plan from this list is cheaper per gigabyte, since regional pricing carries a premium for covering ground you may never actually visit.
Install your eSIM before you fly, but wait to turn on data roaming until you land at Entebbe. Set it as your default data line, download offline maps for Kampala and your planned park routes in advance, and keep your home SIM active for calls and two-factor codes.
Uganda eSIM questions, answered.
Most questions about a Uganda eSIM come down to three things: whether it survives the national park circuit, which network it actually runs on, and whether it’s worth it once mobile money enters the picture. The answers below cover what comes up most before people buy.
How we ranked Uganda’s eSIMs.
We work in eSIM technology full-time, so this isn’t a side-hustle review. Our methodology comes from operating in the space, knowing how every major provider sources their data, and tracking which underlying networks they actually route traffic through.
- For every provider we list, we verify the underlying carrier network directly from that provider’s own Uganda product page: Airtel for eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad and Roamless; Zain Uganda for aloSIM; not disclosed for Saily and GigSky. That is what determines real-world coverage, not the brand on the front of the eSIM.
- We compare entry-plan pricing, plan flexibility, validity windows, and any stated throttling or fair-use policy on higher-data and unlimited plans.
- Jetpac, one of our usual eight providers, does not currently sell a Uganda eSIM at all, confirmed on its own site, so it’s excluded from this comparison rather than force-fit with invented pricing.
- Where competitors share the same network, we rank by price, plan range, and installation experience.
We may receive commission from some providers if you purchase via our links. This never influences our rankings. Underperforming providers get excluded regardless of affiliate relationship.
Jamie has worked in telecommunications for more than 8 years across mobile, SMS, eSIM, apps, and adjacent technology. He now writes for eSIMply as the tech content writer, analysing the top eSIM providers and breaking down what travellers actually need to know.
While we do our best to ensure accuracy, prices and plan availability are subject to change. Last updated by Jamie Cole.