Buyer’s guide · Updated August, 2026

Best eSIM for Afghanistan, ranked.

A government-ordered shutdown cut phones and internet nationwide for two weeks last year, and coverage outside Kabul, Herat, and Mazar-i-Sharif is patchy at best.

Jamie Cole, Best eSIM for Afghanistan author
Jamie Cole
Tech writer · eSIMply.co
13 min read Last updated August 2026

The three Afghanistan eSIMs worth comparing first.

Saily
Cheapest entry price in this comparison, with NordVPN's backing and a clean app.
$5.49 / 1GB · 7 days
  • Cheapest entry plan we found for Afghanistan
  • 10GB / 30 days for $33.99, a strong large-bucket price
  • Backed by NordVPN's infrastructure and app design
Airalo
Nine plan tiers, the widest range here, all confirmed on the same Roshan network.
$5.50 / 1GB · 3 days
  • Nine plan tiers, the most flexible sizing in this comparison
  • 10GB / 7 days for $33, the cheapest large bucket among Roshan-confirmed providers
  • Names Roshan directly, the same carrier as eSIMply and Nomad

This guide breaks down every prepaid mobile data provider that actually sells Afghanistan data, what carrier each one names, and where their pricing lands. You will get a full plan-by-plan comparison plus one connectivity risk that no roaming plan, however good, can fix. Read on for the rankings and a buyer’s guide built around Afghanistan’s real network conditions.

02 Full comparison

How six Afghanistan eSIMs compare on network and price.

Four of these six esims for Afghanistan, eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad, and aloSIM, independently name Roshan as their network, giving a reliable mobile data baseline for coverage in Afghanistan. Saily does not publicly disclose a carrier, and Roamless is the outlier, naming MTN instead. Compare eSIM providers on the table below, which sorts by entry price first, since the real gap here is disclosure, not verified speed.

2026 Afghanistan eSIM comparison
6 providers · August 2026
Provider Plans From Network
eSIMply
Names Roshan directly, the same carrier three other providers confirm. The 1GB starter plan drops 30% to $6.95, and larger tiers cut up to 45%. No ID required to activate.
Up to 45% off
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d
$6.951GB / 7d
Roshan
Airalo
Nine plan tiers, the widest range here. Confirms Roshan as its Afghanistan network. 10GB / 7 days runs $33, the cheapest large bucket among Roshan-confirmed providers.
1GB to 10GB · 3-30d
$5.501GB / 3d
Roshan
Saily
Cheapest entry price in this comparison at $5.49. Backed by NordVPN’s app and infrastructure. Does not publicly name its Afghanistan network partner.
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d
$5.491GB / 7d
Network not disclosed
Nomad
Confirms Roshan by name on its own Afghanistan page. Pricier than the rest of this list at every tier. Straightforward four-tier ladder with live in-app data tracking.
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d
$9.001GB / 7d
Roshan
aloSIM
Names Roshan and is the only provider to specify LTE rather than an unverified 5G claim for Afghanistan. Four-tier ladder tops out at 5GB.
1GB to 5GB · 7-30d
$6.501GB / 7d
Roshan
Roamless
The outlier: names MTN, not Roshan, capped at 3G. A genuine backup network if Roshan has a local issue, but the most expensive gigabyte in this comparison.
1GB to 3GB · 30d only
$16.951GB / 30d
MTN

Prices are from each provider's public Afghanistan product page, shown in USD.

03 eSIM vs local SIM

Local Afghanistan SIMs come with paperwork an eSIM skips.

Buying a physical SIM in Afghanistan means finding a carrier shop in Kabul or another major city and registering a regular SIM against your passport, a process most travellers describe as slower and more paperwork-heavy than picking up physical SIM cards in most other countries. A local SIM also gives you a local Afghan phone number, useful if a guide or hotel needs to reach you directly.

Choosing to use an eSIM skips the shop visit and the passport paperwork entirely, and beats your home carrier’s roaming plans and roaming fees. It installs before you fly and activates the moment you land, for as little as $5.49 for 1GB over 7 days from the cheapest of these esim data plans.

The tradeoff is real. A travel eSIM is data-only, so keep your home SIM active for calls and two-factor codes, and treat the local number a physical SIM gives you as the one thing an eSIM cannot replace, no matter how good the best mobile data plan looks on paper.

04 Rankings

The Afghanistan eSIMs, ranked by network confirmation and price.

Airalo

Confirms Roshan directly and offers the widest plan range in this comparison.

4.6/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB
Validity
3-30 days
Network
Roshan
Type
Data only

Airalo’s Afghanistan page names Roshan as the primary network the eSIM uses, the same carrier eSIMply, Nomad, and aloSIM confirm. Nine plan tiers give more granular sizing than any other provider here, from a 1GB / 3-day plan at $5.50 up to 10GB spread across 7, 15, and 30-day validity windows.

The 10GB / 7-day plan runs $33, the cheapest large-data option among the providers that confirm Roshan by name. Airalo does not publish a specific speed claim for Afghanistan.

Afghanistan plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB3 days$5.50
3 GB7 days$14.00
5 GB7 days$20.00
10 GB Best value7 days$33.00
10 GB30 days$34.00
What works
  • Nine plan tiers, the most flexible sizing in this comparison
  • Confirms Roshan directly, matching eSIMply's network
  • 10GB / 7 days for $33, the cheapest large bucket among Roshan-confirmed providers
Trade-offs
  • No published discount off retail, unlike eSIMply's tiered pricing
  • Shortest plan validity is 3 days, tight for a same-day arrival buffer

Saily

Cheapest entry price in this comparison, backed by NordVPN's app and infrastructure.

4.5/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB
Validity
7-30 days
Network
Network not disclosed
Type
Data only

Saily’s Afghanistan page describes coverage as depending on “local network providers” without naming a specific carrier, so its spec pill reads network not disclosed rather than a guess. Its four-tier ladder starts at $5.49 for 1GB / 7 days, the cheapest entry price of any provider in this comparison.

The 10GB / 30-day plan runs $33.99, close to Airalo’s large-bucket price without matching its plan count. The Saily eSIM for Afghanistan is built by the team behind NordVPN, which shows in the clean, consistent Saily app.

Afghanistan plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB7 days$5.49
3 GB30 days$13.99
5 GB30 days$20.99
10 GB Best value30 days$33.99
What works
  • Cheapest entry price in this comparison at $5.49
  • 10GB / 30 days for $33.99, a strong large-bucket price
  • Backed by NordVPN's infrastructure and app design
Trade-offs
  • Does not publicly name its Afghanistan network partner
  • No plan under 7 days for a short layover

Nomad

Confirms Roshan by name on its own Afghanistan page.

4.3/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB
Validity
7-30 days
Network
Roshan
Type
Data only

Nomad’s Afghanistan page states plainly that its network for Afghanistan is Roshan, matching eSIMply’s, Airalo’s, and aloSIM’s own disclosures, one of the more consistently confirmed networks in Afghanistan across this comparison. The ladder runs four tiers, from 1GB / 7 days at $9 up to 10GB / 30 days at $68.

Nomad is the priciest Roshan-confirmed provider at every tier in this comparison, though its live in-app data-balance tracking is straightforward to use.

Afghanistan plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB7 days$9.00
3 GB30 days$24.00
5 GB30 days$37.00
10 GB30 days$68.00
What works
  • Confirms Roshan directly, matching eSIMply's network
  • Live data-balance tracking in a clean app
  • Straightforward four-tier ladder with no confusing add-ons
Trade-offs
  • The most expensive Roshan-confirmed provider at every plan size
  • No discount or sale pricing published

aloSIM

The only provider to confirm LTE rather than a vague 5G claim for Afghanistan.

4.2/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 5GB
Validity
7-30 days
Network
Roshan
Type
Data only

aloSIM names Roshan on its Afghanistan page and, unlike every other provider in this comparison, specifies the actual cellular network speed: LTE, not a generic “5G where available” claim. The ladder tops out at 5GB / 30 days for $25.50.

That honesty about speed matters in a country where genuine 5G coverage is not verified anywhere in this comparison. The four-tier ladder is compact, running from 1GB / 7 days at $6.50 to the 5GB ceiling.

Afghanistan plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB7 days$6.50
2 GB15 days$12.00
3 GB30 days$17.00
5 GB30 days$25.50
What works
  • The only provider naming LTE instead of an unverified 5G claim
  • Confirms Roshan directly
  • Straightforward pricing with no hidden add-ons
Trade-offs
  • No tier above 5GB for a longer stay
  • Priced higher than Airalo and Saily at the entry tier

Roamless

The only provider naming a different carrier, a genuine backup if Roshan has a local issue.

3.9/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 3GB
Validity
30 days
Network
MTN
Type
Data only

Roamless is the outlier in this comparison: its own Afghanistan page lists MTN, not Roshan, as the available network, capped at 3G. Every other provider that discloses a carrier here names Roshan, so Roamless is the only real network-diversity option for internet access if Roshan has a local outage.

That diversity comes at a cost. Roamless’s cheapest paid tier is 1GB / 30 days at $16.95, the most expensive gigabyte in this comparison, and every plan runs a fixed 30-day validity with no shorter option.

Afghanistan plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB30 days$16.95
2 GB30 days$32.95
3 GB30 days$47.45
What works
  • The only provider naming a different carrier, MTN, a real backup to the Roshan consensus
  • Useful if Roshan has a local outage or congestion issue
  • Simple three-tier ladder with no confusing add-ons
Trade-offs
  • The most expensive gigabyte of any provider in this comparison
  • Every plan is fixed at 30-day validity, none shorter
07 Country essentials

Before you go to Afghanistan.

Afghanistan throws a few curveballs that have nothing to do with your data plan. The country runs almost entirely on cash, requires a tour operator’s invitation to enter, and has cut its own internet off nationwide before. Your eSIM keeps you online most of the time, but it cannot beat a government shutdown. These are the things to sort before you land.

The eSIM gotcha

An eSIM Cannot Fix a Government Shutdown

Last September, Taliban authorities cut fiber and mobile internet nationwide for roughly two weeks, and NBC News reported the blackout as near-total. No eSIM, however good its named carrier, can route around a network switched off at the source.

Coverage also thins out fast once you leave the Kabul, Herat, Mazar-i-Sharif corridor, and TikTok and PUBG Mobile stay blocked regardless of which provider or eSIM you use.

Afghanistan has cut its own internet off nationwide before.

Last September, Taliban authorities cut fiber-optic internet in five northern provinces, then extended the ban to fiber and mobile data across the entire country by late that month, citing a campaign against what officials called “immoral” content. NBC News reported the blackout as near-total, and Al Jazeera confirmed both landline and mobile networks went dark for roughly two weeks.

This was the first shutdown of this scale since the 2021 takeover, and nothing guarantees it was the last.

A VPN will not help you during a full shutdown.

Travellers used to routing around content blocks with a VPN should know last September’s shutdown was not a filtering exercise. It was a physical severing of fiber and mobile data at the infrastructure level. TechRadar confirmed VPN apps were useless during the blackout, since there was no connection left to tunnel through.

A VPN is still worth carrying for everyday browsing once a connection exists. It is simply not a workaround for a nationwide outage.

TikTok and PUBG Mobile are officially banned.

The Taliban’s Ministry of Communications and Information Technology ordered TikTok and the game PUBG blocked in 2022, telling RFE/RL that TikTok content was “misleading the younger generation.” Enforcement has been inconsistent since, but do not expect either app to load reliably on any Afghan network.

Download any entertainment you want offline before you arrive rather than counting on either app working.

Entry needs a tour operator’s invitation, not just a visa.

Afghanistan’s e-visa system, described by Koryo Tours, issues single-entry 30-day tourist visas but generally expects a Letter of Invitation from a registered Afghan tour operator plus a confirmed itinerary before it is issued. Arrivals on the e-visa are currently limited to Kabul International Airport.

Independent, no-operator entry is not the norm here the way it is in most other eSIM-guide destinations, so book your operator before you plan anything else.

Photographing anything official can get you detained.

General travel guidance for Afghanistan, summarized by TravelWithHello’s cultural guide, is to always ask permission before photographing people, especially women, and to treat government buildings, checkpoints, bridges, and anything official-looking as off-limits unless a local guide explicitly clears it. Given the US State Department’s documented wrongful-detention risk for foreigners, this is not a minor courtesy.

Getting around and paying for things.

i
Getting around

Uber and Careem both skip Afghanistan’s unmapped, checkpoint-heavy roads, so ride-hailing here means Raftar or a driver arranged through your tour operator, not an app you already have installed.

$
Paying for things

Afghanistan runs on cash. Bring crisp, unmarked US dollars for bigger costs and small afghani notes for everything else, since cards and ATMs are unreliable even in Kabul.

Uber and Careem both passed on Afghanistan’s unmapped, checkpoint-heavy roads, so the ride-hailing gap got filled locally. Arab News reported on Buber, an early homegrown taxi app, and apps like Raftar let riders set a price and pay the driver in cash rather than through in-app billing.

There is no metro, tram, or national rail network. Travel between cities on the standard Kabul, Bamyan, Band-e-Amir, Mazar-i-Sharif, Herat loop runs on shared taxis and private drivers arranged through a tour operator, not on any bookable transit system with a fare card of its own.

Because there is no unified transport-pass or ticketing app to fall back on, and mobile coverage thins out fast once you are off the Kabul-Herat-Mazar corridor, offline maps matter more here than in almost any other eSIM-guide country. Download your route in Google Maps’ offline mode or a fully offline app like Maps.me before leaving a city with signal.

Airport transfers in Kabul run on fixed-price taxis or a driver sent by your tour operator rather than an app-based pickup, and haggling over the fare in advance is standard practice.

On money, Afghanistan runs on cash. The currency is the Afghan afghani (AFN), and while US dollars are widely accepted for larger purchases and hotel bills in Kabul, Herat, and Mazar-i-Sharif, day-to-day costs like transport, tea houses, and markets need afghani, according to Koryo Tours’ FAQ guide. Bring small AFN notes, since vendors rarely have change for a large bill.

Credit or debit cards are rarely accepted anywhere, and ATMs, even in Kabul, are unreliable enough that guides warn against counting on them at all. Koryo Tours notes machines are frequently out of service, out of cash, or simply will not read a foreign card. Bring crisp, unmarked US $100 bills, since torn or marked notes get a worse rate or are refused outright.

Mobile money is not a realistic backup plan for visitors. Roshan’s M-Paisa service, launched in 2008 on Vodafone’s M-Pesa platform, moves real money for millions of Afghans, per the World Bank’s write-up of the service, but wallets are tied to a locally registered SIM and national ID, not something a short trip can set up.

Currency exchange is best done at licensed money-changer shops in Kabul, Herat, and Mazar-i-Sharif rather than at hotels. Check the current AFN rate with a currency-converter app before arrival, since it fluctuates day to day.

Apps to install before you leave.

These are the apps Reddit threads and traveller guides consistently say first-time visitors wish they had downloaded before flying, not the ones in generic packing lists.

GM
MM
Maps.me Free (limited, then paid) · iOS / Android
Fully offline navigation once a region is downloaded, a solid backup in provinces where live features drop out.
OM
Organic Maps Free · iOS / Android
An open-source offline maps app that works with zero connection once you have downloaded the region.
WA
TG
Telegram Free · iOS / Android
Widely used alongside WhatsApp for messaging and for following local news channels.
GT
RF
Raftar Free · Android
A Kabul ride-hailing app that fills the gap left by Uber and Careem. Set your own price and pay the driver in cash.
AT
Afghan Online Taxi Free · Android
A homegrown Kabul taxi-hailing app, built after international ride-hailing operators chose not to enter the market.
XE
XE Currency Converter Free · iOS / Android
Track the afghani exchange rate before you land, since airport counters are not always current.
PV
i
Tipping in Afghanistan

Tipping is not a deep tradition in Afghanistan, but it has become common in tourism settings for visitors to Afghanistan. A modest 5 to 10 percent in urban restaurants, plus a small cash tip for drivers and guides at the end of a trip, is appreciated without being expected. Keep it low-key, since modesty matters as much as generosity in Afghan hospitality culture.

$
Cash vs card

Afghanistan runs on cash, and cards are rarely accepted anywhere. ATMs are unreliable even in Kabul, so bring crisp, unmarked US dollars for bigger costs and small afghani notes for markets and transport. Exchange money at licensed money-changer shops in Kabul, Herat, or Mazar-i-Sharif rather than at your hotel.

Where you’ll actually use your eSIM in Afghanistan.

Five places where your mobile data will earn its keep, and where coverage differences between providers start to matter:

01 Kabul
The most reliable coverage in the country, and the place to activate your eSIM and attempt any ATM withdrawal.
02 Herat
More relaxed than Kabul by most traveller accounts, with decent urban coverage and money-changer access.
03 Mazar-i-Sharif
A northern hub built around the Blue Mosque, with workable city-centre coverage.
04 Bamyan
Coverage thins out here. Download offline maps before heading up from Kabul.
05 Band-e-Amir National Park
Expect little to no signal around the lakes. This is where downloaded maps matter more than live data.
08 Decision guide

How to choose the right Afghanistan eSIM plan.

Afghanistan does not split neatly into short-trip and long-trip categories the way a well-mapped Europe itinerary does. Most visits run on a fixed, operator-led itinerary through a handful of cities across Afghanistan, so the real questions are how much mobile data in Afghanistan you will use and whether a second network is worth having as backup.

The four questions below cover data sizing, carrier choice, coverage gaps outside the main corridor, and whether a single-country plan beats a regional one, to help you settle on the right plan for Afghanistan. General guidance also lives at how to choose the best eSIM plan for your next trip.

How much data does an Afghanistan trip actually use?

A short, guided trip through Kabul and one or two other cities burns most of its data usage on maps, messaging, and the occasional photo upload, which a 3GB / 30-day plan covers comfortably. If your itinerary includes Bamyan or Band-e-Amir, where coverage thins out fast, most of that data usage happens before and after those stretches rather than during them.

A 5GB plan gives enough headroom for a two-to-three week trip without needing a mid-trip top-up, a fair amount of data for how most people travel here.

Which network should my Afghanistan eSIM actually use?

eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad, and aloSIM all independently confirm Roshan as their Afghanistan network and mobile broadband partner, the strongest signal in this comparison since four unrelated providers agree. Saily does not publicly name a carrier, so treat its coverage as not disclosed rather than assuming it also runs on Roshan.

Roamless is the one provider running on a different network, MTN, capped at 3G, worth knowing about if Roshan ever has a local outage.

What happens once you leave the Kabul-Herat-Mazar-i-Sharif corridor?

Coverage on every network drops off outside Afghanistan’s main urban corridor, and reports from Bamyan and the Band-e-Amir lakes in the country’s mountain areas describe patchy to nonexistent signal. No provider in this comparison publishes a rural coverage map for Afghanistan, so treat any speed claim as a city-centre claim only.

A bigger data plan does not fix a dead zone. Download offline maps and anything else you need before you leave a city with signal.

Does a regional Asia eSIM cover Afghanistan too?

Most regional Asia eSIM bundles exclude Afghanistan entirely, since it is a smaller, higher-friction market than the countries a typical Asia pass targets. If your trip is Afghanistan-only, a country-specific plan from this comparison is the only realistic option.

If Afghanistan is one stop on a wider Central or South Asia itinerary, say paired with a Pakistan eSIM for the Peshawar border crossing, buy the Afghanistan-specific eSIM for this leg and a separate plan for the rest, rather than assuming one regional SIM and eSIM bundle covers both your travel needs.

i
Quick tip

Install your eSIM before you fly, then confirm data roaming is switched on for that line once you land, since it will not connect automatically otherwise. Download offline maps for Bamyan and Band-e-Amir before leaving Kabul, and keep a lightweight VPN installed for everyday use. It will not help during a full shutdown, but it is useful the rest of the time.

09 Frequently asked questions

Afghanistan eSIM questions, answered.

Afghanistan draws a narrower, more specific set of questions than most eSIM-guide destinations, mixing ordinary connectivity logistics with real safety and reliability concerns. None of these travel eSIMs offer unlimited data here, so most questions come down to picking the right data allowance before you buy an eSIM before you travel.

The answers below cover network confirmation, data sizing, and what happens if Afghanistan sees another shutdown like the one last year.

Not strictly. You can also get a local Roshan or Afghan Wireless SIM for your mobile phone after you land. But an Afghanistan eSIM avoids unexpected roaming charges, skips the SIM-registration paperwork, and helps you stay connected the moment you touch down, which matters here since ATMs are unreliable.

The UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office advises against all travel to Afghanistan, and the US State Department maintains its highest, Level 4, Do Not Travel advisory. Both cite a volatile security situation and the risk of arbitrary detention, and neither government can offer in-person consular support inside the country.

This guide focuses on eSIM connectivity, not travel safety, so read your own government’s current advisory in full before you book anything.

Yes, potentially. Afghanistan’s Taliban authorities cut fiber and mobile internet nationwide for roughly two weeks last September and October, and no eSIM, regardless of provider or network, can route around a government shutdown at the infrastructure level.

Outside of a shutdown, coverage depends on which carrier your eSIM uses. Roshan, confirmed by eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad, and aloSIM, covers the Kabul-Herat-Mazar-i-Sharif corridor reliably and thins out elsewhere.

Yes. Every provider in this comparison, eSIMply, Airalo, Saily, Nomad, aloSIM, and Roamless, sells a data plan for travel that you buy online with the QR code emailed after purchase. Install it before you fly using your phone’s eSIM settings, then leave it inactive until you land so the validity window does not start early.

Check your smartphone supports eSIM first. Most iPhone and Android phones from the last five years do.

Among the cheapest eSIM plans in this comparison, Saily’s best prepaid entry price is $5.49 for 1GB over 7 days, with Airalo close behind at $5.50. eSIMply’s $6.95 prepay plan comes with a confirmed Roshan network and larger data packages discounted up to 45%, which some travellers will value over the lowest sticker price alone.

The right pick depends on whether network confirmation or entry price matters more for your trip.

Most providers in this comparison, eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad, and aloSIM, independently name Roshan as their Afghanistan network. Roamless is the exception, running on MTN capped at 3G, and Saily does not publicly disclose a carrier at all.

No provider verifies 5G in Afghanistan. aloSIM is the only one to specify LTE rather than a generic speed claim.

A short, guided trip through Kabul and one or two other cities typically fits a 3GB / 30-day plan, since most data use is maps, messaging, and photo uploads rather than streaming. Add a couple of gigabytes if your itinerary includes Bamyan or Band-e-Amir, where you will want offline maps downloaded in advance rather than relying on live data.

Heavier users can size up to the 5GB or 10GB tiers most providers in this comparison offer.

A travel eSIM installs before you fly and skips the passport-registration process a physical Afghan SIM requires. Entry pricing in this comparison starts at $5.49, cheaper than most single-visit local SIM setups once you factor in the shop visit and paperwork.

A local SIM’s one real advantage is an Afghan phone number, which an eSIM does not provide, so some travellers keep both installed at once.

No. Every eSIM in this comparison is data-only, with no calls and texts or Afghan phone number included. Keep your home SIM active in the other slot for calls and two-factor codes, and set the Afghanistan eSIM as your default data line with roaming switched on for that profile only.

eSIMply also offers an optional companion mobile app for adding a temporary number if you need one.

First, confirm the eSIM’s data roaming is switched on for that line specifically, since a new eSIM will not connect automatically otherwise. If a VPN is running, turn it off temporarily. It can loop the connection stuck on “Activating.”

If neither fixes it, manually select Roshan or MTN under your carrier settings, then contact your provider’s support if the problem continues. No fix works during an actual government-ordered shutdown.

Yes. Hotspot and tethering are included across every provider in this comparison, eSIMply, Airalo, Saily, Nomad, aloSIM, and Roamless. Sharing your connection with a laptop or a travel companion does not cost extra.

Tethering burns through data faster than normal browsing, so size your plan up if you plan to share it regularly.

Our methodology

How this Afghanistan ranking was built.

We work in eSIM technology full-time, so this is not a side-hustle review. Our methodology comes from operating in the space, knowing how every major provider sources their data, and tracking which underlying networks they actually route traffic through.

  • We verified each provider’s Afghanistan network claim directly on its own product page. eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad, and aloSIM each independently name Roshan; Roamless names MTN; Saily discloses no specific carrier.
  • Afghanistan’s active UK and US “do not travel” advisories, plus its documented nationwide shutdown last September, were the country-specific factors weighted most heavily in how we framed this guide.
  • We compare entry-plan pricing, plan flexibility, validity windows, and each provider’s own published discount against retail.
  • Jetpac and GigSky currently return a 404 on any dedicated Afghanistan product page and were excluded from this comparison rather than estimated.
  • eSIMply is one of the providers in this comparison, and we may earn a commission if you purchase through our links. That relationship never changes how a provider is ranked, and a provider that stops disclosing its network or raises prices without justification gets marked down regardless of any affiliate relationship.
Jamie Cole, Best eSIM for Afghanistan author
Jamie Cole
Tech content writer · eSIMply.co

Jamie has worked in telecommunications for more than 8 years across mobile, SMS, eSIM, apps, and adjacent technology. He now writes for eSIMply as the tech content writer, analysing the top eSIM providers and breaking down what travellers actually need to know.

While we do our best to ensure accuracy, prices and plan availability are subject to change. Last updated by Jamie Cole.

Chat with Us!

Chat with us on WhatsApp for instant support!
Scroll to Top