- 1GB / 7 days for $8.50, tied for the cheapest like-for-like entry on this list
- Runs on Flow, also listed under its earlier Cable & Wireless / LIME branding
- Six plan sizes up to 20GB / 30 days for $55.00
Best eSIM for the Cayman Islands, ranked.
Coverage across Grand Cayman is strong, but it thins out fast the moment you head offshore or over to Little Cayman.
Cayman’s Cheapest, Deepest-Discounted, and Only Unlimited Picks
- 1GB / 7 days for $11.95, a 46% cut from the $17.10 list price
- Runs on Digicel, one of Cayman's two real carriers
- 5GB / 30 days for $38.95 comfortably covers a week of maps, messages, and photo uploads
- No ID or KYC required to activate
- Unlimited data for 30 days at $99.00, cheaper than eSIMply's own 20GB plan
- Runs on Flow, confirmed on Airalo's own Cayman Islands page
- Fixed tiers from 1GB / 3 days up to 20GB / 30 days if Unlimited is more than you need
This guide compares seven Cayman Islands eSIM providers side by side, from the cheapest single-gigabyte plan to the only genuine Unlimited option. You will find a full price and network comparison, a breakdown of what each provider actually offers, and answers to the questions travelers ask most before buying. It also covers what to know about getting online across all three islands, not just Grand Cayman.
How the Seven Compare on Price and Network
Cayman Islands eSIMs run on one of two real networks, Digicel or Flow, and a few providers do not say which one carries their data. The table below sorts by entry price first, since every plan here covers similar ground on either network.
| Provider | Plans | From | Network |
|---|---|---|---|
|
eSIMply
Runs on Digicel with the deepest markdown of any provider here and a full ladder from 1GB up to 20GB.
Up to 46% off
|
1GB to 20GB · 7-30d | $11.951GB / 7d |
Digicel |
|
Airalo
Cheapest 1GB tier on the list and the only provider offering true Unlimited data for Cayman.
|
1GB to 20GB, plus Unlimited · 3-30d | $7.501GB / 3d |
Flow |
|
Saily
A simple three-plan ladder and a clean app, though Saily does not name a specific Cayman carrier.
|
1GB to 5GB · 7-30d | $8.991GB / 7d |
Network not disclosed |
|
Nomad
Straightforward pricing on Flow, with a 20GB / 30-day tier for longer stays.
|
1GB to 20GB · 7-30d | $9.001GB / 7d |
Flow |
|
Jetpac
No small entry tier at all. The cheapest plan is 5GB, so this only suits a longer trip.
|
5GB to 20GB, plus Unlimited · 30d | $21.005GB / 30d |
Network not disclosed |
|
aloSIM
Matches the cheapest 7-day entry price on this list and runs on the same Flow network as Airalo and Nomad.
|
1GB to 20GB · 7-30d | $8.501GB / 7d |
Flow |
|
GigSky
Also offers a free 100MB / 7-day trial, though its regular fixed-data tiers cost more than most of this list.
|
1GB to 10GB, plus Unlimited · 1-30d | $11.491GB / 7d |
Network not disclosed |
Prices are from each provider's public Cayman Islands product page, shown in USD. Roamless is not included: it only sells pay-as-you-go data credits for this destination, with no fixed-length plan to compare against the other seven.
What Buying a Local SIM in Cayman Actually Involves
Both Digicel and Flow run retail stores in George Town and counters at Owen Roberts International Airport, where a prepaid local SIM is easy enough to buy on arrival. Expect to show a passport and fill in a short registration form, standard practice for a prepaid SIM in Cayman as in most of the Caribbean.
A local SIM gets you an actual Cayman phone number, useful if you need to receive local calls or texts, which none of the eSIMs on this list provide since all seven are data-only. The tradeoff is time: queuing at a counter and registering in person, versus installing an eSIM before you even board the flight.
eSIMply’s entry plan starts at $11.95 for 1GB over 7 days, activating the moment it connects to Digicel after landing, no counter or queue required. For a trip built around data, maps, messaging, uploading dive photos, rather than a local number, that is the simpler route.
How These Seven Stack Up, Provider by Provider
eSIMply
The deepest Cayman Islands markdown on this list, running on Digicel.
eSIMply’s Cayman Islands ladder runs from a 1GB / 7-day starter up to a 20GB / 30-day plan, all routed through Digicel. The 1GB tier is $11.95, cut from a $17.10 list price, and the discount widens further up the ladder.
The 3GB and 5GB, 30-day tiers both carry the deepest cut on the whole list at 46% off, which makes the 5GB plan at $38.95 the strongest single option for a week-long trip. The 20GB tier sits at full price, so it is worth checking whether two mid-size plans work out cheaper than one large one for a longer stay.
Activation needs no ID or account, and the QR code lands by email as soon as the order goes through.
| Plan | Validity | Price | Savings |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $11.95 | Save $5.15 (30%) |
| 2 GB | 15 days | $17.95 | Save $9.05 (34%) |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $28.95 | Save $25.05 (46%) |
| 5 GB Best value | 30 days | $38.95 | Save $33.05 (46%) |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $59.95 | Save $30.05 (33%) |
| 20 GB | 30 days | $106.95 | List price, no current discount |
Buy the plan, scan the QR code that arrives by email, and set the eSIM as your data line with roaming switched on. It activates the moment it connects to Digicel after you land, so there is no rush to install before you fly.
- 1GB / 7 days for $11.95, the biggest Cayman markdown on this list at 46% off
- Full ladder from 1GB up to 20GB, all on Digicel
- No ID or KYC required before activation
- QR code delivered by email immediately after purchase
- 5GB / 30 days at $38.95 comfortably covers a week-long trip
- 20GB / 30 days sits at full list price with no discount applied
- Digicel-only, so travelers who specifically want Flow's network should compare it against a Flow-based competitor
Airalo
The only provider on this list with a genuine Unlimited plan for Cayman.
Airalo’s Cayman Islands eSIM runs on Flow, named directly on its own product page, and the ladder starts at 1GB for 3 days at $7.50, the cheapest single tier of any provider here.
The standout is Airalo’s Unlimited plan: 30 days of Unlimited data for $99.00, which actually undercuts eSIMply’s own 20GB tier at $106.95. For a longer trip where data volume genuinely matters more than price per gigabyte, this is the strongest option on the page.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 3 days | $7.50 |
| 5 GB | 7 days | $33.50 |
| 10 GB | 15 days | $40.50 |
| 20 GB | 30 days | $49.00 |
| Unlimited Best value | 30 days | $99.00 |
- Cheapest 1GB tier of any provider on this list, from $7.50
- The only provider here with a genuine Unlimited plan, $99.00 for 30 days
- Runs on Flow, confirmed on Airalo's own Cayman Islands page
- No discount pricing the way eSIMply has; these are Airalo's standard list prices
- The cheapest tier only lasts 3 days, so check the per-day math against longer competitor plans
Saily
A simple three-plan ladder that keeps the decision short.
Saily keeps its Cayman Islands lineup to three plans, from 1GB / 7 days at $8.99 up to 5GB / 30 days at $29.99, which Saily itself flags as its best-choice option.
Saily’s own page only promises “reliable connection from Cayman Islands’s best networks” without naming Digicel or Flow specifically, so treat the network as unconfirmed rather than assuming either carrier.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $8.99 |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $22.99 |
| 5 GB Best value | 30 days | $29.99 |
- Simple three-plan ladder that is easy to compare at a glance
- Data-only setup that installs through the app in a couple of minutes
- 5GB / 30 days for $29.99, the plan Saily itself labels as best choice
- Tops out at 5GB, so it will not suit a longer or heavier-data trip
- Does not name a specific Cayman Islands carrier on its own site
Nomad
Straightforward pricing on Flow with a genuine 20GB option.
Nomad names Flow directly in its own Cayman Islands plan selector, and the ladder runs from 1GB / 7 days at $9.00 up to 20GB / 30 days at $49.00.
The 5GB / 30-day tier at $19.00 is one of the cheapest mid-size plans on this whole list, which makes Nomad worth a look for a week-long trip that does not need Unlimited data.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $9.00 |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $16.00 |
| 5 GB Best value | 30 days | $19.00 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $34.00 |
| 20 GB | 30 days | $49.00 |
- 5GB / 30 days for $19.00, one of the cheapest mid-size plans on this list
- Runs on Flow, named directly on Nomad's own Cayman Islands page
- Supports hotspot and tethering
- No Unlimited option for Cayman Islands
- Data only, no phone number or SMS like most of this list
Jetpac
No small entry tier, built for a longer stay instead of a short trip.
Jetpac’s cheapest Cayman Islands plan is 5GB for 30 days at $21.00, discounted from $34.00. There is no 1GB or 2GB starter tier at all, so this list only makes sense once you are past a short trip.
Jetpac does not name a specific carrier on its Cayman Islands page, only generic “4G or 5G” language. Its Unlimited plan applies fair-use throttling after the first 3GB in any 24-hour window until the next cycle, and costs $315.00 for 30 days, far more than any other Unlimited option on this list.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 5 GB Best value | 30 days | $21.00 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $36.00 |
| 20 GB | 30 days | $100.00 |
| Unlimited | 30 days | $315.00 |
- Unlimited tethering with no separate hotspot cap
- 5GB / 30 days for $21.00, discounted from $34.00
- Unused packs stay valid for 3 months if you buy before you fly
- No plan smaller than 5GB, so it overshoots a short trip
- Its Unlimited plan costs $315.00 for 30 days, far above any other provider's Unlimited price
aloSIM
Matches the cheapest 7-day entry price on the list, with the most plan sizes to choose from.
aloSIM’s own “Current networks” field names Cable & Wireless – LIME, and a separate FAQ answer on the same page says it runs on Flow. Both point to the same operator under different eras of its own branding, so the effective network is Flow.
The ladder runs 1GB / 7 days at $8.50 up to 20GB / 30 days at $55.00, which aloSIM itself tags as its best value, and it offers six plan sizes in between, more granularity than most competitors here.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $8.50 |
| 2 GB | 15 days | $15.00 |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $23.00 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $33.00 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $44.00 |
| 20 GB Best value | 30 days | $55.00 |
- Matches the cheapest 7-day, 1GB entry price on this list at $8.50
- Runs on Flow, also shown under its earlier Cable & Wireless / LIME branding
- Six plan sizes to choose from, more granularity than most competitors here
- No Unlimited option for Cayman Islands
- Data only, no phone number or SMS
GigSky
A free trial tier and flexible day-by-day Unlimited pricing.
GigSky offers a free 100MB / 7-day trial for new sign-ups with no credit card required, a genuine way to test the connection before paying for anything.
Its fixed-data tiers cost more than most of this list, but its Unlimited plans are priced by the day from 1 to 30 days, and the 7-day Unlimited option at $23.19 actually undercuts GigSky’s own fixed 5GB / 30-day plan at $38.79. GigSky does not name a specific Cayman Islands carrier.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $11.49 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $38.79 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $73.19 |
| Unlimited Best value | 7 days | $23.19 |
- Free 100MB / 7-day trial with no credit card required
- A 7-day Unlimited plan at $23.19 that undercuts GigSky's own fixed 5GB tier
- Flexible day-by-day Unlimited pricing from 1 to 30 days
- Fixed-data tiers cost more than most of this list at equivalent sizes
- Does not name a specific Cayman Islands carrier
Before You Go to Cayman Islands.
Cayman throws fewer curveballs than most destinations, and the ones it does throw catch people off guard precisely because the islands feel so easy. Coverage is strong, the roads are decent, and the whole place runs like a well-off British Overseas Territory, right up until you hit one of a few very specific local rules. These are worth sorting before you land.
Cayman's Signal Stops Where the Best Parts Start
Coverage on Grand Cayman itself is strong and consistent from both Digicel and Flow, so most visitors never think about their eSIM again after landing. The catch is that the reasons people actually fly to Cayman, Stingray City, the North Sound, and Little Cayman’s Bloody Bay Wall, sit offshore or on a Sister Island where that signal does not reach.
Little Cayman’s own tourism site advises downloading maps, accommodation details, and guides before you leave Grand Cayman, because coverage there is genuinely thin. Grab anything you need for a boat day or a Sister Islands trip while you still have a strong signal.
Uber and Lyft Are Banned. CI:GO Only Calculates the Fare.
There is no Uber or Lyft in Grand Cayman, and no app that books a ride for you, because the Cayman Islands government has banned both ride-sharing services to protect the local taxi industry. The closest thing to an Uber-style app is CI:GO, a government-backed tool that calculates the official fare between two points in both CI$ and US$, but it does not hail or book a driver.
A private rideshare app called Flex has operated on and off the island, so treat it as a bonus if it happens to be running rather than a guaranteed option. Budget for taxis to cost more than most Caribbean destinations, and use CI:GO to check the fare before you agree to a ride.
Rental Cars Often Have the Wheel on the Wrong Side
The Cayman Islands is a British Overseas Territory, so traffic keeps to the left, which catches out most North American and European visitors immediately. Many rental cars are imported from the US and keep their left-hand-drive layout, so the steering wheel sits on the same side as oncoming traffic, and only some smaller rentals have the UK-style right-hand-drive setup.
Visiting drivers from the US, Canada, and the UK can use their home license for up to six months, and roundabouts run clockwise with priority given to traffic already on them. Confirm which layout your specific rental has before you drive off the lot, not after.
Touching Coral Can Cost You $500,000 and a Year in Jail
Grand Cayman’s marine parks cover roughly half of the territory’s inshore waters, and it is a specific criminal offence to cut, carve, injure, or break off coral without a licence, including picking up a souvenir piece from the seabed. Penalties can run up to a CI$500,000 fine and a year in jail, with the boat or gear seized on top of that.
This is enforced seriously enough that dive operators brief every guest on it before the first dive of the trip. Keep hands off the reef and off anything living on it, and that briefing will make more sense.
Hurricane Alerts Run Through One App Almost No Visitor Knows
Cayman’s hurricane season runs 1 June to 30 November with a statistical peak around 10 September, and the territory’s official warning channel is the National Emergency Notification System. Visitors can register at nens.gov.ky, install the AtHoc app, and enter organisation code HMCI to receive the same SMS, email, and push alerts residents get.
Do this on day one if you are traveling anytime in that window, not after a storm is already forming. The same alerts cover the island-wide radio interrupts that go out during a major event, so it is worth having even if you never open the app again.
Getting around and paying for things.
Grand Cayman runs 7 public bus routes and government-regulated taxis (no Uber or Lyft, by law), while reaching Cayman Brac or Little Cayman means a short Cayman Airways Express flight, not a ferry.
The Cayman Islands Dollar (KYD) is pegged to the US dollar and both currencies spend everywhere, so most visitors just pay in USD and take whatever change comes back.
Grand Cayman runs a genuine public bus network of seven routes using 12 to 17 seat vans marked “PUBLIC BUS”, all radiating from the depot on Edward Street in George Town. Routes 1 and 2 loop the northwest side of the island past Seven Mile Beach, which makes them the ones cruise passengers and hotel guests actually use, and fares run a flat CI$2 / US$2.50 a ride. Service runs Monday to Friday roughly 5am to 7pm with a lighter, less predictable weekend schedule, so it works for day-to-day trips but is not something to build a tight cruise-day schedule around.
Taxis are regulated and priced on a fixed government fare scale rather than a meter, so the same route costs the same amount whoever you flag down. The CI:GO app and Daily.ky’s fare calculator both apply that official formula so you can see the price before you commit, which matters because Cayman taxis are genuinely expensive by Caribbean standards. Getting around the island by taxi for a week can rival the cost of the flights that got you there.
Getting between the three islands means flying: Cayman Airways Express runs Twin Otter turboprops from Grand Cayman to Cayman Brac and Little Cayman, and the Cayman Airways app handles booking and check-in, which opens 24 hours out and closes two hours before departure. There is no vehicle ferry between the islands, so a Sister Islands day trip is a flight, not a boat ride, and it is worth building in real buffer for the connection.
The Cayman Islands Dollar (KYD) is pegged to the US dollar at a fixed rate, and both currencies circulate side by side; shops, hotels, and restaurants across the islands accept either one. Most visitors simply pay in US dollars for everything and let the change come back however the till has it, rather than bothering to exchange money at all.
Contactless and chip cards work almost everywhere a tourist actually spends money, from resort restaurants to dive shops to the airport, and ATMs in George Town and the main tourist strip dispense both currencies. Card is genuinely the easier default here, with cash mainly useful for the public bus, small vendor stalls, and tipping.
Cayman is one of the more expensive Caribbean destinations to eat and shop in, partly because almost everything arrives by ship or plane; a quick stop at a local supermarket for sunscreen, snacks, or water on day one is a routine money-saver compared to resort gift-shop prices. Restaurant bills commonly already include a service charge, so check the total before adding a separate tip on top.
Apps to install before you leave.
These solve Cayman-specific problems, no Uber, two currencies, patchy Sister Islands coverage, rather than repeating the generic packing-list apps every guide recommends.
Many restaurants and bars already add a 10 to 15 percent service charge to the bill, and some high-end spots add 15 to 20 percent, so check the total before tipping again on top. Add extra cash only for genuinely exceptional service, since that portion usually goes straight to the server rather than into a shared pool.
Cards work almost everywhere a tourist spends money, and the Cayman Islands Dollar is pegged to the US dollar at roughly CI$0.84 to US$1, with both currencies accepted side by side. Keep some cash for the public bus and small vendors, since change often comes back in whichever currency the till has on hand.
Where Your eSIM Actually Earns Its Keep
Six places across the three islands, and where the gap between Grand Cayman and the Sister Islands starts to matter:
What Actually Decides the Right Cayman Islands Plan
Most of the decision for Cayman comes down to two things: how many days you need data for, and whether you care which network carries it. Grand Cayman itself is covered well by both Digicel and Flow, so the harder question is usually about the Sister Islands or a boat day, not the capital.
The questions below cover the ones that actually change which plan makes sense here. For the general logic behind eSIM shopping beyond Cayman specifically, see how to choose the best eSIM plan for your next trip.
How Much Data Does a Cayman Trip Actually Use?
A week centered on Seven Mile Beach, resort Wi-Fi, and the occasional maps lookup rarely burns through more than 2 to 3GB total, which is why most providers’ entry tiers cluster around 1GB for a week. Add daily photo and video uploads from diving or Stingray City, and 5GB for a week is a safer target. eSIMply’s 5GB / 30-day plan at $38.95 or Nomad’s 5GB / 30-day plan at $19.00 both cover that comfortably.
Does It Matter Whether You End Up on Digicel or Flow?
Not much on Grand Cayman itself, where eSIMply and Roamless run on Digicel and Airalo, Nomad, and aloSIM run on Flow, and both networks cover the tourist areas well. Saily, Jetpac, and GigSky do not name a specific carrier on their own Cayman Islands pages, so treat their network as not disclosed rather than assuming either one. Heading to Cayman Brac or Little Cayman works on either network, but coverage there is thinner than on Grand Cayman regardless of which one you pick.
Are You Spending Any Time on the Sister Islands or Out on the Water?
If your trip stays on Grand Cayman, any of the seven plans here will hold a signal almost everywhere you go. A Cayman Brac add-on is fine with a standard plan too, since coverage there is decent, if patchier, around the main settlements. Little Cayman is the exception: download everything you need before you fly over, since no eSIM or SIM fixes genuinely thin coverage once you land.
Is a Cayman-Only Plan Better Than a Caribbean Regional Bundle?
A Caribbean-wide bundle only pays off if Cayman is one stop on a multi-island trip, and even then the per-country allocation is usually thinner than a dedicated Cayman plan at a similar price. For a Cayman-only trip, a single-country plan like the ones compared here gets more data for the money. Jetpac and GigSky both sell wider Caribbean and global bundles that include Cayman if a multi-country itinerary changes the math.
Install the eSIM before you fly, but leave it switched off until you land, then set it as your primary data line with roaming turned on. Download offline maps for Grand Cayman first, and do the same for Cayman Brac or Little Cayman if either is on the itinerary, since neither Sister Island’s coverage can be counted on the way Grand Cayman’s can.
What Travelers Ask Before Buying a Cayman Islands eSIM
Most questions about a Cayman Islands eSIM come down to network choice, data sizing, and what happens the moment the plane lands. The answers below cover what actually trips people up, from picking a plan size to what happens once you are on a dive boat.
If your question is not covered here, the provider comparison above and the plan tables in each ranking below have the specific numbers.
How We Ranked Cayman Islands eSIMs
We work in eSIM technology full-time, so this is not a side project. For the Cayman Islands specifically, we checked each major provider’s own product page directly rather than relying on marketing copy alone.
- We verified each provider’s underlying carrier directly on its own Cayman Islands page: Digicel for eSIMply and Roamless, Flow for Airalo, Nomad, and aloSIM (aloSIM also shows it under Flow’s earlier Cable & Wireless / LIME branding), and marked Saily, Jetpac, and GigSky as not disclosed rather than guessing.
- Coverage on the Sister Islands mattered more here than in most countries we cover, since Little Cayman’s own tourism information warns that its signal is thin, so we weighted that gap into the before-you-go guidance rather than treating Grand Cayman as the whole story.
- We compared entry-plan pricing, plan flexibility, validity windows, hotspot support, and fair-use throttling on Unlimited plans across all seven providers with a comparable fixed-length plan.
- Roamless is verified on Digicel but excluded from the comparison and rankings: it only sells pay-as-you-go data credits for the Cayman Islands, with no fixed-length plan to weigh against the other seven on a like-for-like basis.
- Where two providers share the same network, we ranked by price, plan range, and installation experience rather than the carrier alone.
We may receive commission from some providers if you purchase through our links, including eSIMply, whose own Cayman Islands eSIM service is one of the seven compared here. This does not influence the ranking, and a provider that stops offering good value gets dropped regardless of any affiliate relationship.
Jamie has worked in telecommunications for more than 8 years across mobile, SMS, eSIM, apps, and adjacent technology. He now writes for eSIMply as the tech content writer, analysing the top eSIM providers and breaking down what travellers actually need to know.
While we do our best to ensure accuracy, prices and plan availability are subject to change. Last updated by Jamie Cole.