- Second-cheapest gigabyte of the seven providers here
- Lists A1 at 2G/4G rather than overselling 5G
- 5GB for $13.45 if you are staying a fortnight
Best eSIM for North Macedonia, ranked.
Your EU plan stops roaming the moment you cross the border, and most eSIM stores still file the country under the name it gave up in 2019.
Three ways to land in Skopje already online.
- Lowest entry price of the seven, at 59% off retail
- Names A1, the network almost every eSIM here lands on
- Unlimited tiers from 3 to 30 days, starting at $10.95
- No passport scan, which a local prepaid SIM legally requires
- Only provider here that lets you choose your carrier
- Cheapest 20GB on this page at $32.00 on A1
- 50GB / 30 days at $75.00 for a long stay
Seven providers actually sell data here, and their entry prices run from $2.95 to $7.99 for the same gigabyte. Below is every plan priced in USD, the carrier each provider really connects to, and the two that will not say. There is also an honest answer to whether you should buy one at all.
Five providers name A1. Two will not say.
North Macedonia runs on two main networks, A1 Makedonija and Makedonski Telekom, and A1 is where nearly every travel eSIM lands. Five of the seven name their carrier outright, Nomad uniquely sells plans on both, and Saily and GigSky decline to tell you. Sorted by entry price, all figures in USD.
| Provider | Plans | From | Network |
|---|---|---|---|
|
eSIMply
Cheapest entry of the seven at $2.95, and it names A1. Only provider here pairing a full capped ladder with Unlimited tiers from 3 to 30 days.
Up to 59% off
|
1GB to Unlimited · 3-30d | $2.951GB / 7d |
A1 |
|
Roamless
Names A1 and labels it 2G/4G. Every plan runs 30 days, but the big buckets get pricey at 20GB for $51.95.
|
1GB to 20GB · 30d only | $3.951GB / 30d |
A1 |
|
Airalo
Branded Matka Mobile, on A1 at 4G. Widest range here, with 20GB at $35.00 and an Unlimited 30-day at $72.00.
|
1GB to Unlimited · 3-30d | $4.001GB / 3d |
A1 |
|
Nomad
Runs two plan families, one on A1 and one on Telekom. Cheapest 20GB here at $32.00, and the only 50GB plan.
|
1GB to 50GB · 7-30d | $4.001GB / 7d |
A1 / Telekom |
|
aloSIM
Names its carrier as Vip, a brand retired in 2018 and now A1. Fair entry price, weak middle of the ladder.
|
1GB to 20GB · 7-30d | $4.501GB / 7d |
Vip (now A1) |
|
GigSky
Still filed under Macedonia, FYR. Free 500MB trial and the widest validity spread, from 1 day to 180.
|
500MB to 100GB · 1-180d | $4.991GB / 7d |
Network not disclosed |
|
Saily
NordVPN’s travel brand, but the priciest entry here and only two plans for the country.
|
1GB to 3GB · 7-30d | $7.991GB / 7d |
Network not disclosed |
Prices are from each provider’s public North Macedonia product page, shown in USD. Airalo and Nomad both detect your location and may quote your home currency instead, so check the currency before you buy. Jetpac is absent because it does not sell the country.
Why a local SIM here costs you a passport scan.
Buying a plastic SIM in North Macedonia is not a walk-in purchase. Prepaid registration is a legal requirement under the Law on Electronic Communications, so the clerk scans your passport before the card activates, and unregistered cards stop working within a day or two.
That paperwork does buy you a cheaper deal. A1 Makedonija and Makedonski Telekom sell prepaid bundles at prices no travel eSIM here comes close to, and travellers in the local subreddit routinely tell visitors staying beyond about ten days to skip the eSIM and buy prepaid. That advice is sound, and worth taking if you are here for a month.
An eSIM buys you certainty instead. It installs before you fly, connects the moment you land, needs no shop visit and no denar cash in hand, and starts at $2.95 for 1GB. For a trip under ten days, most travellers decide that is worth three dollars.
Seven providers, ranked on price and on what they admit.
eSIMply
Cheapest gigabyte of the seven, on a named A1 connection, with an Unlimited ladder most rivals for this country do not sell.
eSIMply lists the lowest entry price on this page at $2.95 for 1GB over 7 days, and names A1 as the primary network on its product page. A1 is where five of the seven providers here land, so this is the mainstream North Macedonian network at the lowest price of the group.
The capped ladder runs from 1GB up to 20GB / 30 days at $33.95. Unusually for this country, there is a full Unlimited ladder alongside it, opening at $10.95 for 3 days and running to $70.95 for 30. Only Airalo and GigSky sell any unlimited option here at all.
For a long weekend in Skopje with maps, Viber and a taxi app running, the 2GB / 15-day plan at $5.95 is the sensible buy. A week that takes in Ohrid and a steady stream of photo uploads is better matched to 5GB / 30 days at $11.95.
| Plan | Validity | Price | Savings |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $2.95 | Save $4.25 (59%) |
| 2 GB | 15 days | $5.95 | Save $6.65 (53%) |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $7.95 | Save $8.25 (51%) |
| Unlimited | 3 days | $10.95 | Save $11.55 (51%) |
| 5 GB Best value | 30 days | $11.95 | Save $11.45 (49%) |
| Unlimited | 5 days | $18.95 | Save $17.95 (49%) |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $19.95 | Save $17.85 (47%) |
| Unlimited | 7 days | $27.95 | Save $25.15 (47%) |
| Unlimited | 10 days | $33.95 | Save $29.05 (46%) |
| 20 GB | 30 days | $33.95 | Save $29.05 (46%) |
| Unlimited | 15 days | $47.95 | Save $40.25 (46%) |
| Unlimited | 30 days | $70.95 | Save $58.65 (45%) |
Buy online, get a QR code by email, and scan it in your phone’s settings before you fly. Install takes under two minutes. Set it as your active data line and turn data roaming on for that line, and it connects to A1 as you land at Skopje or Ohrid.
- Lowest entry price of the seven at $2.95 for 1GB, at 59% off retail
- Names A1, the network almost every travel eSIM here runs on
- Full Unlimited ladder from 3 to 30 days, which most rivals for this country do not offer
- No passport registration, which a local prepaid SIM legally requires
- QR code emailed on purchase, installs before you fly, with 24/7 chat support
- Data only, so no Macedonian number, and some local apps ask for one at sign-up
- A1 and Telekom prepaid bundles are cheaper if you are staying beyond about ten days
Airalo
Names A1, sells the widest ladder here, and still files the country under its pre-2019 name.
Airalo’s local plan is branded Matka Mobile, after the canyon just outside Skopje, and the product page states it operates on the A1 network. Airalo’s own embedded plan data lists that connection as 4G only, so treat any 5G expectation here with caution.
You will not find this plan by searching for North Macedonia. It still lives at a macedonia-esim URL, a holdover from the pre-2019 name, even though the page heading itself now reads North Macedonia. The north-macedonia version of that address returns a 404.
Pricing sits mid-table. The 1GB / 3 days entry is $4.00, 20GB / 30 days is $35.00, and there is an Unlimited / 30 days at $72.00 if you would rather not count gigabytes at all. Airalo also detects your location and quotes in your home currency by default.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 3 days | $4.00 |
| 3 GB | 3 days | $8.50 |
| 3 GB | 7 days | $9.00 |
| 5 GB Best value | 7 days | $12.00 |
| Unlimited | 3 days | $12.50 |
| 20 GB | 30 days | $35.00 |
| Unlimited | 30 days | $72.00 |
The Airalo app walks you through install step by step on iOS and Android, and QR install takes under two minutes. The app tracks remaining data in real time, which matters on the 3-day plans where the window closes fast.
- Names A1 outright, and offers the widest plan range on this page
- Only provider here selling both a 20GB bucket and an Unlimited 30-day plan
- Mature app with reliable QR install and live usage tracking
- Quotes in your local currency by default, so confirm the ladder is in USD before paying
- Entry plan runs just 3 days, the shortest window of the seven
Saily
NordVPN’s travel brand, with the highest entry price here and only two plans for the country.
Saily charges $7.99 for 1GB over 7 days, which is more than double eSIMply’s entry and the highest price on this page. It sells exactly two North Macedonia plans, the other being 3GB / 30 days at $18.99, so there is no mid-range or large bucket at all.
Saily does not name its carrier. Its page says only that you get a reliable connection from North Macedonia’s best networks, and that coverage quality depends on local network providers, so you cannot check whether you are buying A1 or Telekom. It does list 5G as available, subject to that undisclosed network.
The NordVPN association is the genuine draw here, and the app is clean and easy to run. As a data purchase for this particular country, though, the pricing is hard to defend against a named-A1 plan at a third of the cost.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB Best value | 7 days | $7.99 |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $18.99 |
QR install through the Saily app or straight from the confirmation email. The app manages your eSIMs and tracks usage live, and works on any eSIM-capable iPhone or Android handset.
- Built by the NordVPN team, with a clean app and live data tracking
- Lists 5G as available, subject to the local network it connects to
- Two-plan lineup means there is nothing to weigh up
- Highest entry price of the seven at $7.99 for 1GB, more than double the cheapest
- Carrier not disclosed, and the range stops at 3GB with no large bucket
Nomad
Only provider here selling separate A1 and Telekom plans, and the only route to 50GB.
Nomad is the one provider on this page that lets you choose your North Macedonian carrier. It runs two plan families, one on A1 and one on Telekom, and its own plan data lists both as 4G. That choice is worth having in a country where coverage between the two networks differs once you leave the cities.
The A1 family is cheaper across the board, opening at $4.00 for 1GB / 7 days and topping out at 20GB / 30 days for $32.00, the lowest 20GB price on this page. The Telekom family costs a little more but goes further, reaching 50GB / 30 days at $75.00, the largest bucket any provider here sells.
Two practical notes. Nomad’s real product page sits on nomadesim.com, while its main app domain sends you to an account screen instead. It also geolocates your currency and ignores the manual USD switch, so confirm you are looking at dollars before you check out.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB (A1) | 7 days | $4.00 |
| 1 GB (Telekom) | 7 days | $4.50 |
| 3 GB (A1) | 30 days | $8.00 |
| 5 GB (A1) | 30 days | $12.00 |
| 10 GB (A1) | 30 days | $18.00 |
| 20 GB (A1) Best value | 30 days | $32.00 |
| 50 GB (Telekom) | 30 days | $75.00 |
Standard QR install, with the Nomad app showing your live data balance and remaining days. Nomad does not auto-renew, so set a reminder if your stay is likely to outrun the plan window.
- Only provider here that lets you pick between A1 and Telekom
- Cheapest 20GB on this page at $32.00, and the only 50GB plan sold for the country
- Names both carriers in its own plan data rather than in marketing copy
- Detects your currency and ignores the USD switch, so prices can quietly show in dollars from elsewhere
- Main app domain sends you to an account page, so the product page takes some finding
aloSIM
Names its carrier as Vip, a brand that stopped existing in 2018.
aloSIM does name a carrier, which puts it ahead of Saily and GigSky. The name it gives is Vip, and that is the problem. Vip Macedonia merged into one.Vip and was rebranded A1 Makedonija in 2018, so the page is pointing at a network brand that has not existed for seven years.
In practice this means A1, the same network eSIMply, Airalo and Roamless name directly. Pricing is fair without being sharp: 1GB / 7 days is $4.50, and 20GB / 30 days is $35.00, matching Airalo and sitting $3 above Nomad at the same tier.
The middle of the ladder is where aloSIM struggles. Its 3GB / 7 days at $9.50 costs more than Nomad’s 3GB / 30 days at $8.00, for a quarter of the validity. The 2GB / 15 days at $7.00 is the one genuinely well-judged plan in the lineup.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $4.50 |
| 2 GB Best value | 15 days | $7.00 |
| 3 GB | 7 days | $9.50 |
| 5 GB | 7 days | $13.00 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $21.00 |
| 20 GB | 30 days | $35.00 |
- Names a specific carrier, which two providers on this page refuse to do
- 2GB / 15 days at $7.00 is well judged for a short trip
- Lists LTE and 5G, and the app handles install and usage tracking cleanly
- Carrier listed under a brand name retired in 2018, so the page is badly out of date
- Mid-ladder pricing is beaten by Nomad on both 3GB and 5GB
Roamless
Names A1 at 2G/4G, and runs every plan for a full 30 days.
Roamless lists A1 under an Available networks block and labels that connection 2G/4G. That is more candid than its own marketing copy, which advertises speeds up to 5G, and the network-level label is the more specific claim, so it is the one to trust.
Every Roamless plan runs 30 days, including the $3.95 entry, which is the second-cheapest gigabyte on this page. For a slow Balkans loop where you drift in and out of the country over a few weeks, that long window is genuinely useful in a way a 3-day Airalo plan is not.
It gets expensive as the buckets grow. 10GB is $27.45 and 20GB is $51.95, well above Nomad and Airalo at the same sizes. Roamless also sells pay-as-you-go credit if none of the fixed plans fit your trip.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB Best value | 30 days | $3.95 |
| 2 GB | 30 days | $6.95 |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $8.95 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $13.45 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $27.45 |
| 20 GB | 30 days | $51.95 |
- Second-cheapest entry on this page at $3.95, and it runs a full 30 days
- Names A1 and labels it 2G/4G rather than overselling 5G
- Pay-as-you-go credit is available if no fixed plan suits the trip
- Large buckets are the priciest here, with 20GB at $51.95
- No short-window option, so a three-day visit still pays for 30 days
GigSky
Still lists the country as Macedonia, FYR, a label dropped in 2019.
GigSky declines to name a carrier, saying only that it automatically connects customers to the fastest network available. Its country page is also the most out of date of the seven, still filed under Macedonia, FYR, a designation the country dropped when the Prespa Agreement took effect in 2019.
Pricing is mid-table at the entry, $4.99 for 1GB / 7 days, and the validity spread is the widest here by a distance. There is an Unlimited / 1 day at $4.99 for a single heavy day, a 5GB / 30 days at $15.67 that is competitive, and a 100GB / 180 days at $98.32 for anyone spending half a year in the region.
GigSky also offers a free 500MB / 7-day trial, which is a fair way to check the connection before you commit money to an undisclosed network. Its Unlimited plans throttle after 2.5GB per day, so they are capped in practice.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB Best value | 7 days | $4.99 |
| Unlimited | 1 day | $4.99 |
| 3 GB | 15 days | $10.44 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $15.67 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $24.22 |
| 100 GB | 180 days | $98.32 |
- Free 500MB trial lets you test the connection before paying anything
- Widest validity range here, from a one-day unlimited to a 180-day plan
- 5GB / 30 days at $15.67 is competitive in the middle of the ladder
- Carrier not disclosed, so you cannot check which network you are buying
- Unlimited plans throttle after 2.5GB a day, so they are not truly uncapped
Before you go to North Macedonia.
Two things catch travellers out here, and only one of them is about your phone. The country sits outside the EU, so the roaming allowance you take for granted across Europe stops dead at the border. Half the eSIM stores, meanwhile, still file the place under the name it gave up in 2019.
Your EU plan does not roam here, and the plan you want is filed under the old name.
Travellers assume North Macedonia is covered because it looks European on a map. It is not in the EU, and EU SIMs incur roaming charges with data capped at around 14 euros per GB in 2026, falling to 9 euros from 2028. That figure is the maximum a carrier may charge you, which is why a local eSIM pays for itself inside the first afternoon.
The second trap is search itself. Airalo, Saily, aloSIM and GigSky all return a 404 on a north-macedonia address and sell the plan under macedonia instead. If the new name comes up empty in a provider’s store, search the old one.
Prespa renamed the country in 2019, and the eSIM stores never caught up.
It was the Republic of Macedonia until the Prespa Agreement with Greece came into force on 12 February 2019, renaming it the Republic of North Macedonia for every purpose, at home and abroad. The rename ended a 27-year dispute and reached everything from the constitution to licence plates switching from MK to NMK.
Commerce moves slower than diplomacy. GigSky still labels the country Macedonia, FYR, a designation that was retired outright, and four of the seven providers here sell the plan on a macedonia URL. Locals overwhelmingly still say Macedonia, so you will hear both names constantly.
Free EU roaming here is proposed, not live.
You will read blog posts claiming the Western Balkans has joined EU free roaming. It has not. As of 25 February 2026 the European Commission had only proposed opening negotiations with North Macedonia and its neighbours.
The country’s own Ministry of Digital Transformation confirmed in January 2026 that the enabling law was still going through parliament. Plan for roaming charges, not for free data.
A Balkan SIM roams free here. A Western one does not.
There is a regional deal most travellers have never heard of. Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia and Serbia operate their own Regional Roaming Agreement, with roam-like-at-home across the six since 1 July 2021.
If you are already carrying a Serbian or Albanian SIM from earlier in a Balkans trip, it works here at domestic rates. That agreement does not extend to EU SIMs, and it does not cover Greece, Bulgaria or Turkey either, which trips up people crossing from Thessaloniki.
Physical SIMs need your passport. An eSIM does not.
Buying a local plastic SIM is not a walk-in purchase. Prepaid registration is a legal requirement under the Law on Electronic Communications, so the clerk scans your passport before the card activates, and unregistered cards die within a day or two.
An eSIM bought before you fly skips the counter, the queue and the ID scan. The trade-off is price, because local A1 and Telekom bundles genuinely undercut every travel eSIM on this page.
Skopje winter air is genuinely among Europe’s worst.
This one is not a travel-blog exaggeration. IQAir recorded Skopje above AQI 150 in early March 2026, putting it among the most polluted cities in the world that morning, with national PM2.5 running roughly four to five times the WHO annual guideline.
Winter temperature inversions trap household heating smoke in the Skopje valley. If you visit between November and February, check the air index the way you would check rain, which is one more reason to land with working data rather than hunting for wifi.
Why Skopje is covered in statues.
Visitors are usually baffled by the sheer density of neoclassical monuments downtown. It came from Skopje 2014, a state building programme that put up 136 structures between 2010 and 2014, with costs that ballooned far past the announced 80 million euros.
It is deeply unpopular locally, and the government halted the programme and began removing monuments in 2018. Treat it as something to ask about rather than to joke about.
Mountains eat your signal, whichever carrier you pick.
Coverage is solid in the cities and thins fast once you climb. Signal is patchy across Mavrovo and the Shar Mountains, and trail markings are unreliable enough that offline maps are standard advice.
Matka Canyon sits close enough to Skopje to stay mostly connected, but the deeper Mavrovo and Shar routes are real dead zones. No provider on this page fixes that, so download your maps at the trailhead while you still have bars.
Getting around and paying for things.
No Uber. Wizi, the rebranded Cammeo app, is the closest equivalent and lets you pay by card. Intercity buses run the country while the railway barely does. Skopje city buses moved to the SkopjeBus app, so do not download the old Skopska one.
Cards work fine across Skopje, Ohrid and Bitola, and thin out in smaller towns. The denar is a closed currency you cannot buy at home, so withdraw from an ATM on arrival. Keep cash for taxis, green markets and small bakeries.
There is no Uber here. Uber does not operate in North Macedonia, and the gap is filled by local taxi apps, chiefly Wizi, the rebranded Cammeo app, which lets you book and pay by card, plus MK Taxi which dials the local firms for you. Street taxis are cheap, with meters starting around 50 to 70 MKD and roughly 25 to 35 MKD per kilometre, but an app gives you the driver and car details up front.
That matters more than it sounds, because taxi overcharging is the one scam visitors report again and again in Skopje. Travellers in r/mkd have documented being charged 1,600 denars for a five-minute ride by a driver running a fake meter app, against a normal fare of about two euros. Local advice in those threads is consistent: never take a taxi that invites you in on the street, and book through an app instead. Every one of those apps needs working data.
Buses run the country, trains barely do. Intercity buses form the backbone of the national network, reaching almost every town for roughly 3 to 15 euros a leg, while the railway is skeletal. There are only two trains a day each way between Skopje and Bitola, taking 3.5 to 4.5 hours, and the eastern branch to Stip and Kocani has had no passenger service since 2020.
Skopje city buses moved to a new app, and the old one is dead. JSP retired the Skopska app and replaced it with SkopjeBus for planning, buying and validating tickets, with a single ride around 40 denars. From the airport, licensed taxis run a fixed fare of roughly 1,200 to 1,500 MKD into the centre and the Vardar Express bus does the same trip for about 250 MKD, though it is timed to flights rather than running all day.
Border hops are easy but change your data situation. The Blace crossing to Kosovo sits about 31 km from Skopje on the Pristina highway, and Sveti Naum near Lake Ohrid is a small tourist crossing into Albania. A local Macedonian SIM keeps working across those borders under the Western Balkans agreement, but a single-country eSIM will not, so check whether your plan is country-only or regional before a day trip.
On money, the denar is the only legal tender and you cannot get it at home. UK Foreign Office advice notes British banks do not exchange Macedonian denars, so change them back before you leave, and the denar is a closed currency that cannot be exchanged outside the country. Withdraw what you need and spend it down before your flight out.
Euros get taken, and they get taken badly. Hotels, car rental firms and souvenir shops will often accept them, but they apply poor exchange rates, so paying in denars saves you money. ATMs are widely available in cities, tourist areas and at the airport, typically allowing 20,000 to 30,000 MKD per withdrawal, which makes them the cleanest way to get local cash.
Cards work in the cities, cash works everywhere. Contactless is fine at most modern terminals in Skopje, Ohrid and Bitola but patchier in smaller towns, while small restaurants, taxis and local shops outside the tourist hotspots often take banknotes only. Break your big notes early, because kiosks and taxis frequently cannot change a 1,000 or 2,000 MKD bill.
One small mercy for drivers. Motorway tolls accept denars, euros or credit cards, so a toll booth is one of the few places where not having exact local cash will not stall you.
Apps to install before you leave.
These are the apps that actually matter here, rather than the ones in a generic packing list. Several of them are the reason a working data plan earns its keep on day one.
Tipping is not a built-in expectation. Locals round up the bill, and 10 percent for good restaurant service is the standard guidance, with 15 percent treated as a maximum. Check the bill first, because a service charge is more common in Skopje and the tourist areas, and where one is applied nothing further is needed. Tip in denars and in cash.
Skopje, Ohrid and Bitola take cards almost everywhere, and locals will tell you the cash-is-king advice online is out of date. Keep denars anyway for taxis, green markets, small bakeries and the airport shuttle if you pay onboard. The denar is pegged to the euro at roughly 61.5, so a wildly different rate at an exchange counter is a scam you can spot instantly.
Where you’ll actually use your eSIM in North Macedonia.
Six places where your mobile data earns its keep, and where the gap between providers starts to matter:
Four questions that pick your plan.
Almost every provider here lands on A1, so the usual “which network is best” question matters less in North Macedonia than it does elsewhere. What actually decides your plan is trip length, whether you are crossing a border, and how much you care that two providers will not tell you what you are buying.
The other honest question is whether to buy a travel eSIM at all. If you are staying a month, a local A1 or Telekom prepaid bundle will beat everything on this page on price. Our general guide to choosing a plan covers the wider trade-offs.
How much data does a Macedonian week actually burn?
A typical trip here runs light. You are using maps around Skopje and Ohrid, Viber to reach guesthouses, a taxi app instead of arguing over a meter, and the odd air-quality check in winter. That is a 1GB to 3GB week for most people.
For a long weekend, eSIMply’s 2GB / 15 days at $5.95 or aloSIM’s 2GB / 15 days at $7.00 both cover it comfortably. If you are uploading photos from Ohrid daily, step up to 5GB, where eSIMply is $11.95 for 30 days and Nomad is $12.00 on A1.
Does it matter which carrier you get?
Less than you would think. eSIMply, Airalo and Roamless all name A1, aloSIM names Vip which has been A1 since 2018, and Nomad sells on both A1 and Telekom. Saily and GigSky do not disclose their carrier at all, which is the real reason to skip them rather than any coverage concern.
Where the two networks differ is outside the cities, and even then the honest answer is that mountain coverage is poor on both. If you want the option to pick, Nomad is the only provider here that gives it to you.
Are you crossing into Kosovo, Serbia or Albania?
This is the question that catches Balkans loopers. Every plan on this page is country-only, so it stops at the border. The Blace crossing to Kosovo is 31 km from Skopje and easy to do as a day trip, and your eSIM will go dark on the other side.
If your route takes in two or more Western Balkans countries, price a regional plan against buying separate country eSIMs. Airalo, Nomad and GigSky all sell Balkans or Europe bundles alongside the local plans listed here.
Is a regional plan better than a country plan?
For a single-country trip, no. A regional Balkans bundle costs more per gigabyte than a $2.95 local plan, and you are paying for coverage you will not use. Country-only is the right call for anyone flying into Skopje and out of Skopje.
For a multi-country trip, the maths flips quickly. Two or three separate country eSIMs plus the faff of switching between them usually loses to one regional plan, especially if Greece or Bulgaria is on the itinerary, since the Western Balkans roaming zone does not cover either.
Install the eSIM before you fly, set it as your default data line, and turn data roaming on for that line only. Leave your home SIM in for calls and 2FA with its own roaming switched off. Download offline maps for Mavrovo, the Shar range and the Ohrid lake road, because no plan here fixes those dead zones.
Questions worth answering before you buy.
Most questions about data in North Macedonia come back to the same two facts. It is not in the EU, and it changed its name in 2019, which between them explain nearly every surprise travellers hit.
Below are the ones that come up most, answered with the live prices and verified carrier details from this page.
Not strictly, but the alternatives are worse. North Macedonia is outside the EU, so your European roaming allowance does not apply and data is billed at up to 14 euros per GB, which a $2.95 eSIM undercuts within the first hour.
The other option is a local prepaid SIM, which is cheaper still but legally requires a passport scan at the counter before it activates. An eSIM skips that entirely and works the moment you land at Skopje.
Because it is probably filed under the old name. The country was renamed from Macedonia to North Macedonia by the Prespa Agreement in 2019, and the eSIM industry has not fully followed. Airalo, Saily, aloSIM and GigSky all return a 404 on a north-macedonia URL and sell the plan under macedonia instead.
GigSky goes further and still labels it Macedonia, FYR, a designation retired outright. If searching the current name comes up empty, search the old one before assuming the provider does not cover the country. Jetpac genuinely does not sell it at all.
Yes, and it is the main reason to buy one. eSIMply, Airalo, Saily, Nomad, aloSIM, Roamless and GigSky all sell online and deliver a QR code by email within minutes of purchase.
Install it at home, keep it switched off, and activate on landing. Check your handset supports eSIM first, which covers every iPhone from the XS onward and most recent Android flagships.
On entry price, eSIMply at $2.95 for 1GB over 7 days is the cheapest of the seven providers that sell the country, and it names A1 as the network. Roamless is second at $3.95, and its plan runs a full 30 days, which suits a slower trip.
For larger buckets the answer changes. Nomad has the cheapest 20GB at $32.00 on A1 and the only 50GB plan at $75.00 on Telekom. Saily is the outlier at $7.99 for 1GB, more than double the cheapest here, without naming its carrier.
Almost certainly A1 Makedonija. The country has two main networks, A1 and Makedonski Telekom, and A1 is where the majority of travel eSIMs land. eSIMply, Airalo and Roamless all name A1 on their product pages, and aloSIM names Vip, which was rebranded A1 in 2018.
Nomad is the exception, selling separate plan families on A1 and on Telekom, so it is the only provider here that lets you choose. Saily and GigSky do not publicly disclose their North Macedonian carrier partner.
Between 1GB and 3GB covers most weeks. The heavy users here are maps, Viber for booking guesthouses, the Wizi taxi app, SkopjeBus for city tickets, and IQAir if you are visiting in winter. None of them are especially hungry.
A long weekend fits in 2GB, which is $5.95 on eSIMply for 15 days. A fortnight taking in Skopje, Ohrid and Bitola with regular photo uploads is a 5GB trip. Download offline maps before Mavrovo or the Shar Mountains, because signal there is unreliable on every network.
It depends entirely on how long you are staying. A local A1 or Telekom prepaid bundle is genuinely cheaper than anything on this page, and travellers who live there say so freely. The catch is that prepaid registration is a legal requirement, so you hand over your passport at the counter and unregistered cards stop working within a day or two.
An eSIM installs before you fly, needs no shop visit and no denar cash on arrival, and starts at $2.95. A rough rule that locals themselves use: under about ten days, take the eSIM; longer than that, buy prepaid once you are there. You can also keep your home SIM in for calls and 2FA and run the eSIM as your data line.
No. Every plan on this page is data only, so there is no Macedonian number and no cellular calls or SMS on the eSIM line. Keep your home SIM active in the second slot for calls and 2FA codes, with its own data roaming switched off so it cannot bill you.
This is worth knowing here because some local apps ask for a Macedonian number at sign-up. Calls over Viber or WhatsApp work fine on data. eSIMply also sells an optional companion app that adds calling and texting credit if you need a number while abroad.
Nine times out of ten, data roaming is off on the eSIM line. Turn it on for that line specifically, which costs nothing extra because roaming is how a travel eSIM connects in the first place. Kill any VPN that is looping on “Activating” while you do it.
If it still will not connect, go into network settings and manually select A1 or Telekom rather than leaving it on automatic, then restart. If you are in Mavrovo or high in the Shar Mountains, no setting will fix it, because the coverage genuinely is not there.
Yes on the capped plans. eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad, aloSIM, Roamless and GigSky all support tethering, so you can share a plan with a laptop or a travelling companion at no extra cost.
Watch the unlimited tiers, though. Hotspot allowances on unlimited plans are frequently capped even where data is not, and GigSky throttles its unlimited plans after 2.5GB a day. Tethering also burns data far faster than phone use, so size up a tier if you plan to work off it.
How we built this North Macedonia ranking.
We work in eSIM technology full-time, so this is not a side-hustle review. Every figure on this page was read off each provider’s own public North Macedonia product page in July 2026, and nothing here comes from a third-party review site or a press release.
Full disclosure: eSIMply runs its own eSIM service, and one of the plans ranked above is ours. That is exactly why the workings are laid out below rather than asserted.
- Carrier claims come from each provider’s own product page and nowhere else. eSIMply, Airalo and Roamless name A1 directly, aloSIM names Vip which has been A1 Makedonija since 2018, and Nomad’s own plan data names both A1 and Telekom. Saily and GigSky do not disclose a carrier, so we say so rather than guess.
- Carrier disclosure was weighted heavily here, because with five of seven providers on the same network, the thing that actually separates them is whether they tell you what you are buying.
- Every price was captured in USD and verified as USD. Airalo and Nomad both geolocate visitors and quote local currency by default, so each ladder was re-read in a currency-confirmed session before it went in the table.
- We compared entry pricing, plan flexibility, validity windows, hotspot support, and how each provider handles its unlimited tiers, including throttling thresholds where they are published.
- Where providers share the same network and similar prices, the tie-break is validity range and carrier transparency, which is how Roamless finishes above Airalo on entry price but below it on range.
- Considered and excluded: Jetpac, whose product sitemap carries no Macedonia entry and whose country page renders a 404, despite auto-generating a plausible-looking title and price from the URL. Holafly and Ubigi were reviewed and left out for lack of a comparable local plan.
- Country facts are traced to primary sources throughout, including the European Commission on roaming negotiations and UK Foreign Office travel advice on currency.
We may receive commission from some providers if you purchase via our links. This never influences the rankings. Underperforming providers get excluded regardless of any affiliate relationship, and where a local prepaid SIM beats our own product, as it does here for anyone staying a month, we say that too.
Jamie has worked in telecommunications for more than 8 years across mobile, SMS, eSIM, apps, and adjacent technology. He now writes for eSIMply as the tech content writer, analysing the top eSIM providers and breaking down what travellers actually need to know.
While we do our best to ensure accuracy, prices and plan availability are subject to change. Last updated by Jamie Cole, tech content writer at eSIMply, on 16 July 2026.