Buyer’s guide · Updated August, 2026

Best eSIM for Samoa, ranked.

Digicel carries almost every travel eSIM sold for Samoa, and it’s the stronger network the moment you leave Upolu.

Jamie Cole, Best eSIM for Samoa author
Jamie Cole
Tech writer · eSIMply.co
13 min read Last updated August, 2026

Three Samoa eSIMs, and the network each one runs on

Saily
The cheapest confirmed entry price on our list, with NordVPN backing and a clean app.
$6.29 / 1GB · 7 days
  • Cheapest confirmed entry plan we found for Samoa
  • 10GB / 30 days at $41.99, flagged as Saily’s own “best choice”
  • Doesn’t name a Samoa carrier on its product page
Airalo
Also names Digicel, and once converted from its native AUD pricing, the cheapest 10GB month of the five.
$6.30 / 1GB · 3 days
  • Names Digicel as its Samoa carrier, same as eSIMply and Nomad
  • 10GB / 30 days at $43.05, the cheapest big bucket in this comparison
  • Prices display in AUD by default, converted to USD below

Samoa runs on two mobile networks, and this guide breaks down which travel eSIMs actually use the stronger one, what a real week of data costs across five providers, and where coverage still thins out between Upolu and Savai’i. We compare current pricing, plan flexibility, and what each provider discloses about its Samoa carrier, then rank all five so you can pick without guessing.

02 Full comparison

All five Samoa eSIMs, compared

Samoa runs on two networks, Digicel and Vodafone Samoa (formerly Bluesky), and three of the five providers below name Digicel specifically on their product pages. Prices range from just over $6 for a light week to the mid-$50s for a full 10GB month. The table sorts by entry price first, since that is where the real gap between these five shows up.

2026 Samoa eSIM comparison
5 providers · August 2026
Provider Plans From Network
Saily
Cheapest confirmed entry here, $6.29 for 1GB. 10GB / 30 days at $41.99, Saily’s own “best choice” tier.
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d
$6.291GB / 7d
Not disclosed
Airalo
Names Digicel. Bills in AUD, converted below. Cheapest 10GB / 30 days here at $43.05.
1GB to 10GB · 3-30d
$6.301GB / 3d
Digicel
eSIMply
Names Digicel outright. Full 1GB to 10GB ladder, each tier discounted off eSIMply’s own listed price. No ID required.
Up to 29% off
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d
$7.951GB / 7d
Digicel
Nomad
Names Digicel. Also bills in AUD, converted below. Free 1GB trial eSIM for new users.
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d
$7.971GB / 7d
Digicel
Jetpac
Confirmed from $7. Full tier ladder loads in-app only, so only the entry price is verified here.
From $7 · 30d
$7.00entry pack / 30d
Not disclosed

Prices are from each provider’s public Samoa product page, shown in USD. Airalo and Nomad price in AUD natively; figures here are converted at the live rate.

03 eSIM vs local SIM

A local Samoa SIM versus an eSIM

Buying a Samoa SIM on the ground is straightforward. Digicel and Vodafone Samoa both run counters in the Faleolo Airport arrivals hall and shops across Apia and Salelologa, and a basic SIM costs around ST$5 to $10 before you add data. The catch is registration: Samoa requires ID for every SIM purchase, so budget a few minutes at the counter with your passport in hand.

A travel eSIM skips that step entirely. You buy online, scan a QR code, and it activates the moment it finds a network at Faleolo, no counter, no ID check, no problem if you land after the kiosks have closed for the night. eSIMply’s entry plan runs $7.95 for 1GB over 7 days, close to what a comparable Digicel or Vodafone data bundle costs once you have actually registered for one.

What you give up is a local phone number. A Vodafone or Digicel SIM lets people call or text you on a Samoan number, useful if you are coordinating a boat transfer or a village homestay by phone rather than WhatsApp. Most visitors solve this by keeping their home SIM in one slot for calls and running the Samoa eSIM as a dedicated data line in the other.

04 Rankings

Ranked on price, and on what each one won’t tell you about its network

Airalo

Names Digicel too, and currently the cheapest 10GB month of any Samoa eSIM here, once converted from its native AUD pricing.

4.5/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB
Validity
3-30 days
Network
Digicel
Type
Data only

Airalo is the most widely used travel eSIM brand worldwide, and its Samoa product page names Digicel as the carrier, matching eSIMply and Nomad. The catch is currency: Airalo’s Samoa page defaults to Australian dollars rather than US dollars, so the prices below are converted at the live AUD to USD rate rather than pulled directly in USD.

The plan range runs from a 1GB / 3-day option up to 10GB over 30 days, and that 10GB tier is the cheapest we found across all five providers in this comparison, useful if you are after a full month of data without paying a premium for it.

Samoa plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB3 days$6.30
3 GB7 days$15.40
5 GB7 days$22.75
5 GB Best value30 days$24.15
10 GB30 days$43.05
Installation

Install through the Airalo app, which walks you through setup step by step on iOS and Android. QR installation takes a couple of minutes, and the app tracks remaining data in real time.

What works
  • Names Digicel, matching eSIMply and Nomad, so coverage across Savai’i holds up
  • Cheapest 10GB / 30-day plan of the five providers here, once converted to USD
  • Most globally recognised eSIM brand, with a mature app and live usage tracking
Trade-offs
  • Prices display in AUD by default on Airalo’s Samoa page, so double-check the converted total before buying
  • Entry tier is only 3-day validity, shorter than eSIMply, Saily, or Nomad’s 7-day starting point

Saily

The cheapest confirmed entry price on our list, with a full plan ladder and its usual NordVPN-brand backing.

4.4/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB
Validity
7-30 days
Network
Not disclosed
Type
Data only

Saily is built by the team behind NordVPN, and its Samoa page runs the cheapest 1GB entry we could confirm across all five providers, at $6.29 for 7 days. The lineup is a clean four-tier ladder, with the 10GB plan flagged as Saily’s own “best choice” for Samoa.

Saily does not name a Samoa carrier on its product page, saying only that it connects to “Samoa’s best networks.” Treat that as an unconfirmed connection rather than assuming it matches eSIMply, Airalo, and Nomad’s disclosed Digicel link.

Samoa plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB7 days$6.29
3 GB30 days$14.99
5 GB30 days$23.99
10 GB Best value30 days$41.99
Installation

Install via the Saily app or straight from the confirmation email. The app manages your eSIM and shows live usage, and it works with any eSIM-capable iPhone or Android device.

What works
  • Cheapest confirmed entry price here, $6.29 for 1GB over 7 days
  • Full four-tier ladder up to 10GB / 30 days at $41.99
  • NordVPN backing gives a security-brand trust signal, and the app is clean to use
Trade-offs
  • Doesn’t name a Samoa carrier, so coverage is unconfirmed rather than verified like eSIMply, Airalo, or Nomad
  • No plan shorter than 7 days or longer than 30, so it doesn’t suit a short stopover or an extended stay

Nomad

Also names Digicel, though Samoa pricing displays in AUD and converts to the highest entry price of the three Digicel-confirmed options.

4.3/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB
Validity
7-30 days
Network
Digicel
Type
Data only

Nomad names Digicel as its Samoa carrier, the same network eSIMply and Airalo disclose, and its own page states coverage explicitly: “Network for Samoa: Digicel.” Like Airalo, Nomad’s Samoa page bills in Australian dollars by default, so the prices below are converted to USD at the live exchange rate.

Once converted, Nomad’s entry plan runs close to eSIMply’s, and the ladder climbs to a 10GB / 30-day plan. Nomad also offers a free 1GB trial eSIM for new users, worth grabbing before you commit to a paid plan if you haven’t used the app before.

Samoa plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB7 days$7.97
3 GB30 days$13.95
5 GB Best value30 days$30.90
10 GB30 days$48.84
Installation

Standard QR code install through the Nomad app, which shows your live data balance and remaining days. Coverage switches automatically to the strongest local network it can find as you move around the islands.

What works
  • Names Digicel, matching eSIMply and Airalo’s disclosed Samoa carrier
  • Free 1GB trial eSIM available for new users before committing to a paid plan
  • Live data-balance tracking in a well-reviewed app, 4.8/5 on Trustpilot from over 40,000 reviews
Trade-offs
  • Samoa prices display in AUD by default, and the converted entry price runs slightly above eSIMply and Saily
  • No plan between 3GB and 5GB, so the ladder jumps more than eSIMply’s or Saily’s

Jetpac

Confirmed from $7, with an unlimited-style fair-use option, though Jetpac’s full Samoa tier list isn’t publicly readable.

3.8/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
From $7
Validity
30 days
Network
Not disclosed
Type
Data only

Jetpac’s Samoa page confirms an entry price of $7 and a choice between fixed data packs and unlimited-style plans, but the full pricing grid loads dynamically through the Jetpac app itself, so we can’t publish a complete tier-by-tier breakdown the way we can for the other four providers here.

What is confirmed: every data pack runs for 30 days once connected, or 3 months if you buy it and don’t activate right away, and the unlimited-style option gives a set daily high-speed allowance before slowing until the next 24-hour cycle resets. Jetpac does not name a Samoa carrier on its page.

Samoa plans
PlanValidityPrice
Entry data pack30 days$7.00

Jetpac’s full Samoa tier ladder loads inside its app rather than on the public product page, so only the entry price above is independently confirmed.

Installation

Buy through Jetpac’s site or app, and a QR code follows by email or in-app. Setup mirrors the other providers here: scan, activate, and switch on data roaming for the Jetpac line when you land.

What works
  • Confirmed entry price of just $7, competitive with the cheapest options here
  • Unlimited-style fair-use option available alongside fixed data packs, unusual among Samoa’s providers
  • 30-day validity even on the entry tier, longer than several competitors’ shortest plans
Trade-offs
  • Full Samoa pricing grid isn’t publicly readable outside the Jetpac app, so you can’t compare every tier before buying
  • Doesn’t name a Samoa carrier, so coverage is unconfirmed
07 Country essentials

Before you go to Samoa.

Samoa throws a few curveballs that have nothing to do with your data plan: cash-only entry fees on family land, a Sunday that shuts half the country down, and two carriers that split coverage unevenly across Upolu and Savai’i. Your eSIM handles the connectivity side. These are the rest of the things worth sorting before you land.

The eSIM gotcha

Digicel and Vodafone Samoa split the coverage map, and your eSIM probably only has one of them.

The biggest thing eSIM users get wrong about Samoa is assuming one carrier covers the whole country evenly. Digicel, the network almost every travel eSIM here uses, is the stronger option off Upolu and across Savai’i, while Vodafone Samoa runs the tighter network if your whole trip stays on Upolu’s tourist coast.

Neither gap is dramatic if you are mostly in Apia, but it is worth knowing before you count on a signal at a remote waterfall or a village on the far side of Savai’i.

Digicel powers every eSIM here, Vodafone covers Upolu better.

Samoa’s mobile market runs on exactly two carriers, and only one of them shows up behind the travel eSIMs sold here. Digicel is the network eSIMply, Airalo, and Nomad all name on their Samoa product pages, and it earns that role by being the stronger option in the places eSIM shoppers actually need coverage, Savai’i, the outer villages, and most of the coastline.

Vodafone Samoa, still labelled Bluesky Samoa on some official pages, runs the tighter network on Upolu specifically. If your whole trip stays inside Apia and the south coast resort strip, that gap barely matters. If you’re crossing to Savai’i, it does.

Samoa skipped a day in 2011, and time still trips people up.

On 29 December 2011, Samoa jumped straight to 31 December, deleting a day from the calendar to switch sides of the international date line. The move flipped the country from 23 hours behind Auckland to one hour ahead of it overnight, aligning Samoa’s working week with its main trading partners in New Zealand and Australia rather than the US.

It is worth knowing before you book a connecting flight through nearby American Samoa, which sits on the other side of the line and runs a full calendar day behind independent Samoa despite the short hop between them.

Villages go quiet for Sa, the evening prayer curfew.

Many Samoan villages, especially outside Apia, sound a bell or conch shell around 6 to 7pm each evening for Sa, a 10 to 20 minute prayer curfew where everyone in the village, on foot or driving, is expected to stop moving until the third bell sounds. It’s a courtesy rather than a law, but pulling over on a village road at the right moment is standard practice for anyone passing through in the early evening.

Sunday carries the same idea at a bigger scale. Most shops and services close, and visitors are expected to move slowly and quietly through villages rather than treat it like any other day.

No Uber, no Grab: taxis are unmetered and negotiated.

Ride-hailing apps like Uber and Grab do not operate in Samoa. Taxis are the standard door-to-door option, and almost none of them run a meter, so agreeing on the fare before you get in is the norm, not a negotiating tactic. Locals lean on a homegrown app called Talofa Ride for booking cars.

Two scams worth knowing: drivers quoting the fare in New Zealand dollars instead of tala to inflate it, and unposted “airport surcharges” added after the ride. The going rate from Faleolo International Airport into Apia runs around SAT$60 to $70, so treat anything wildly above that as a red flag.

Samoa drives on the left, and foreign licences don’t count.

Samoa switched from driving on the right to driving on the left in 2009, and the change brought a wave of cheap secondhand cars from Japan and the country’s first real traffic jams. Whatever licence you carry from home will not get you behind the wheel of a rental car.

Every visitor needs a temporary Samoan driving permit, which costs around WST$21, takes minutes to arrange at the Land Transport Authority, the airport, or most rental firms, and stays valid for a month.

Village land means cash-only entry fees, even for waterfalls.

Most of Samoa’s postcard attractions, waterfalls, natural pools, and beaches sit on land owned by individual families or villages rather than the government, and entry runs ST$5 to $20 per person in cash, sometimes with a separate vehicle or surf fee on top. There’s no card reader at a roadside fale collecting entry money, so this is one of the more reliable places a data-only eSIM won’t help and a stash of small tala bills will.

A short list of sites, including O Le Pupu Pu’e National Park, sit on government land and skip the fee entirely, but treat that as the exception rather than the rule.

Getting around and paying for things.

i
Getting around

Taxis are the easiest door-to-door option, plentiful in Apia and around the resorts, but almost none run a meter, so agree the fare first. Buses are cheap and cash-only, wave one down anywhere. A ferry links Upolu and Savai’i in 60 to 90 minutes.

$
Paying for things

The Samoan tālā is the only currency you can legally spend here. Cards work fine in Apia’s hotels and resorts, but village entry fees, buses, and most taxis are cash-only, so carry small notes once you leave the capital.

Getting around Samoa comes down to three real options: taxis, buses, and a rental car, since neither Uber nor Grab operate on the islands. Taxis are the easiest door-to-door choice and are plentiful in Apia and around the main resorts, but almost none of them run a meter, so agreeing on a price before the doors close is standard practice, not a negotiating tactic.

Samoa’s brightly painted local buses have no fixed stops. You wave one down anywhere along the route and pull the cord along the roof when you want off. They run on what locals call island time rather than a timetable, and a fare rarely climbs above SAT$12, but they stop running by early evening and are not the move if you need to be somewhere at a set hour.

If your trip covers both islands, budget time for the ferry between Mulifanua Wharf on Upolu and Salelologa Wharf on Savai’i, a 60 to 90 minute crossing run by the Samoa Shipping Corporation. Renting a car opens up the inland waterfalls and quieter south coast beaches, but remember Samoa drives on the left, and a temporary local licence from the Land Transport Authority is required first, regardless of what you’re carrying from home.

On money, the Samoan tālā (WS$, sometimes written ST or WST) is the only currency you can legally transact in on the islands. Local law makes it illegal to conduct business in a foreign currency, so US or Australian dollars in your wallet won’t settle a bar tab or a taxi fare no matter how willing the other person is. As of January 2026, US$1 converts to roughly WS$2.8, though it’s worth checking a live rate before you land since it moves.

Cash carries more weight in Samoa than in most places your eSIM will otherwise make you forget about. Entry fees to family and village-owned waterfalls, beaches, and natural pools run ST$5 to $20 per person, cash only, since there’s no card reader at a roadside fale collecting a few tala from each visitor. Bus fares and most taxi rides work the same way.

Apia’s hotels, resorts, and larger restaurants generally take cards without issue, so the cash-heavy reputation is really about anywhere that isn’t Apia. Budget a stash of small tala notes before heading to Savai’i or the south coast villages, and don’t count on finding an ATM once you’re off the main road.

Apps to install before you leave.

These are the apps locals and recent visitors actually reach for once they’ve landed, not a generic packing-list roundup.

TR
Talofa Ride Free · iOS / Android
Samoa’s homegrown ride-booking app, useful since Uber and Grab don’t operate on the islands.
MV
MyVodafone Free · iOS / Android
Check your data balance, buy bundles, and top up on the Vodafone Samoa network without hunting down a shop.
MD
My Digicel Free · iOS / Android
Same job as MyVodafone but for Digicel Samoa, the network almost every travel eSIM here runs on.
YB
Yabb Free to install · iOS / Android
eSIMply’s optional companion app for calls, texts, and a temporary number, since data-only eSIMs don’t come with a phone number.
WA
WhatsApp Free · iOS / Android
The default way to reach taxi drivers, hosts, and tour operators once you have their number, and it works fine over eSIM data.
GM
Google Maps (offline) Free · iOS / Android
Download the Upolu and Savai’i areas for offline use before you leave Apia, coverage thins out fast inland.
XE
XE Currency Free · iOS / Android
Track the tala’s live exchange rate rather than relying on a fixed number, since it moves day to day.
SK
Skype or Viber Free · iOS / Android
A VoIP fallback for calling home over data if you’d rather not rely on Yabb’s minutes.
GT
Google Translate Free · iOS / Android
Handy for the odd Samoan phrase, tulou for “excuse me” is the one you’ll use most, though English is widely spoken.
BK
Booking.com Free · iOS / Android
Useful for locking in Upolu and Savai’i resort or beach fale stays ahead of arrival rather than shopping around on the ground.
VP
A VPN app Free / paid · iOS / Android
Samoa doesn’t block VPN protocols, and one is genuinely useful for encrypting logins over shared hotel or cafe wifi.
i
Tipping in Samoa

Tipping isn’t part of Samoan culture, and it’s neither practiced nor expected, including at resorts that cater heavily to Australian and New Zealand visitors. Rounding up a bill is a nice gesture, not an obligation anyone is counting on.

$
Cash vs card

Apia’s hotels, resorts, and larger restaurants generally take cards without issue. Once you’re off the main road, especially on Savai’i or at a village-run attraction, it’s cash-only, and the Samoan tālā is the only currency you can legally spend, so budget a stash of small notes before you leave Apia.

Where you’ll actually use your eSIM in Samoa.

Five places where your Samoa eSIM will earn its keep, and where the choice of carrier starts to matter:

01 Apia, Upolu
The strongest and most consistent 4G on the islands, with both Digicel and Vodafone blanketing the capital, its cafes, and the Beach Road strip.
02 Faleolo International Airport
Both carriers run arrivals-hall kiosks here, and it’s typically where an eSIM auto-connects the moment you land.
03 Salelologa, Savai’i
The ferry-terminal town and Savai’i’s main commercial hub, the safest bet for a signal once you’ve crossed over from Upolu.
04 Upolu’s south coast (Lalomanu, To Sua)
Generally reliable coverage around the resort strip, though signal gets patchy on the southwest and northeast pockets of the island.
05 Inland villages and Savai’i’s west coast
Expect bars to drop regardless of provider. This is volcanic terrain and thin population, not something either carrier has fully solved.
08 Decision guide

Matching a Samoa eSIM to your actual trip

Five providers, three of them naming the same carrier, is a fairly simple decision compared to most destinations. The questions that actually move the needle for Samoa are how much data your trip burns, whether you’re crossing to Savai’i, and whether the network gap even matters for where you’re staying. See our broader guide to choosing the best eSIM plan for the general version of this logic.

Below are the four questions worth answering before you buy.

How much data does a Samoa trip actually burn?

Most Samoa itineraries lean on maps, WhatsApp, and photo uploads rather than constant streaming, so 1 to 2GB covers a light week around Apia. Add a Savai’i day trip or regular video calls home and the 5GB tier is the safer buy across every provider here. Only plan for the 10GB tier if you’re working remotely or tethering a laptop.

Which network is your Samoa eSIM actually on?

eSIMply, Airalo, and Nomad all name Digicel as the Samoa carrier, the network with the wider reach across Savai’i and the outer villages. Saily and Jetpac don’t disclose a carrier on their Samoa product pages, so treat their coverage as unconfirmed rather than assuming it matches the others. If your whole trip stays on Upolu, a Digicel-based eSIM still holds up fine, Vodafone Samoa’s local SIM is the only way to get its specific Upolu edge.

Staying on Upolu, or crossing to Savai’i?

A trip that never leaves Apia and the south coast resorts is the easy case, every provider in this comparison works fine there. Add a Savai’i crossing or a day out toward the lava fields and inland waterfalls, and Digicel’s wider reach becomes the more useful disclosure, since Vodafone Samoa’s coverage thins out fast once you’re off Upolu. Nothing here fixes a genuine dead zone inland, so download offline maps before you leave the coast road.

Is a Samoa-only eSIM enough, or do you need a Pacific bundle?

If Samoa is the whole trip, a single-country plan from any of the five providers here beats a regional Pacific bundle on price every time. Stopping over in Fiji, Tonga, or New Zealand on the same trip is the real case for a multi-country plan. Even then, buying a second Samoa-specific eSIM for the days you’re actually on the ground is usually cheaper than paying for blanket regional coverage you only use once.

i
Quick tip

Set the Samoa eSIM as your default data line before you land, and leave data roaming switched on for it specifically, that’s what triggers the automatic connection to Digicel or your chosen network on arrival at Faleolo.

09 Frequently asked questions

Samoa eSIM questions, answered

Most questions about a Samoa eSIM come down to one thing: which of the two local networks you’re actually buying into, and whether that matters for your specific trip. The rest are the standard setup and troubleshooting questions any first-time eSIM buyer runs into.

Here’s what we get asked most, answered plainly.

Not strictly. Samoa’s own carriers sell tourist SIMs at the airport and around Apia for less than most eSIMs charge. An eSIM skips the passport registration a physical Samoa SIM requires by law and gets you online before you’ve collected your bags, which is worth the small premium for most first-time visitors.

Not necessarily. Digicel, the carrier eSIMply, Airalo, and Nomad all name for Samoa, covers Savai’i and the outer villages more consistently than Vodafone Samoa does. If your trip includes Savai’i or the less-touristed parts of Upolu, a Digicel-based eSIM is the safer pick; if you’re staying entirely within Apia and the south coast, any of the five here will hold up fine.

Yes. eSIMply, Airalo, Saily, Nomad, and Jetpac all let you buy online and install before you fly. Confirm your phone is unlocked and eSIM-compatible, then scan the QR code emailed after purchase and set data roaming on for that line, it activates the moment it finds a network at Faleolo.

Saily and Airalo currently run the cheapest entry plans, at $6.29 and roughly $6.30 for 1GB. eSIMply sits close behind at $7.95 for 1GB over 7 days with a named Digicel connection and up to 29% off its own listed price. For a bigger data allowance, Airalo’s 10GB plan is the cheapest we found across all five providers, worth checking directly since eSIM pricing shifts.

Samoa has two carriers, Digicel and Vodafone Samoa, still labelled Bluesky Samoa on a few older sites. eSIMply, Airalo, and Nomad all name Digicel on their product pages, while Saily and Jetpac don’t disclose a carrier for Samoa, so treat those two as unconfirmed rather than assuming they match the others.

A week centred on Apia, using Google Maps, WhatsApp, and the odd photo upload, comfortably fits in a 1 to 2GB plan. Add a Savai’i ferry crossing, more video calls home, or a rental car relying on offline-adjacent navigation, and the 5GB tier across any of the five providers here is the safer buy. Save the 10GB plans for a longer stay or genuine remote-work use.

A local Vodafone or Digicel SIM is genuinely cheaper per gigabyte once you’re on the ground, but it requires passport registration by law and a working stop at an airport kiosk or Apia shop. An eSIM installs before you fly for around $6 to $8 entry, no ID required, though it won’t hand you a Samoan phone number the way a local SIM does. Plenty of travellers keep their home SIM in for calls and texts and run the Samoa eSIM as a second, data-only line.

No. Every travel eSIM in this comparison is data-only, so you won’t get a Samoan number, calls, or SMS on the eSIM line itself. Keep your home SIM active in the other slot for calls and two-factor codes, or install eSIMply’s optional Yabb app for a temporary number and calling credit alongside your data.

First, confirm data roaming is switched on for the eSIM line specifically, that’s what triggers the connection and it doesn’t cost extra on a travel eSIM. Close any VPN that’s stuck reconnecting, and if automatic network selection is stalled, manually select Digicel or Vodafone Samoa from your carrier settings. If none of that works, contact your provider’s support, since no eSIM will connect in a genuine dead zone inland or on Savai’i’s less-covered west coast.

Yes. Hotspotting is included across eSIMply, Airalo, Saily, Nomad, and Jetpac at no extra charge, so you can share your Samoa data with a laptop or a travel companion’s phone. Tethering burns through a data allowance faster than normal browsing, so size up a tier if you’re planning to share your connection regularly.

Our methodology

How we ranked Samoa’s eSIMs

We work in eSIM technology full-time, and eSIMply is one of the five plans compared here, so we’re upfront about that rather than pretending to be a neutral outsider. Every figure in this guide traces back to a primary source: each provider’s own Samoa product page, or Samoa’s official tourism and travel advisory sites for the country-specific context.

  • Carrier verification came straight from each provider’s Samoa page. eSIMply, Airalo, and Nomad name Digicel explicitly; Saily and Jetpac name no carrier, so we marked those “not disclosed” rather than guess.
  • Samoa’s single biggest factor is the Digicel-versus-Vodafone coverage split away from Apia, so we weighted named-carrier disclosure heavily alongside price.
  • Beyond carrier and price, we compared plan flexibility, validity windows, and hotspot support across all five, plus whether pricing was published in USD or required converting from another currency.
  • Where two providers land close on price, we broke the tie on carrier disclosure and validity range, favouring the one that tells you more before you buy.
  • Roamless, GigSky, and aloSIM were considered but excluded from this build. Roamless and GigSky’s Samoa pricing could not be independently verified at publish time, and aloSIM had no live Samoa product page under any URL pattern we tried.

We may receive a commission from some providers if you purchase via our links. This never influences our rankings, and a provider with a weaker Samoa offering gets ranked accordingly regardless of any affiliate relationship.

Jamie Cole, Best eSIM for Samoa author
Jamie Cole
Tech content writer · eSIMply.co

Jamie has worked in telecommunications for more than 8 years across mobile, SMS, eSIM, apps, and adjacent technology. He now writes for eSIMply as the tech content writer, analysing the top eSIM providers and breaking down what travellers actually need to know.

While we do our best to ensure accuracy, prices and plan availability are subject to change. Last updated by Jamie Cole.

Chat with Us!

Chat with us on WhatsApp for instant support!
Scroll to Top