Buyer’s guide · Updated July, 2026

Best eSIM for the Gambia, ranked.

The Gambia runs on cash and coastal 4G, so the carrier behind your eSIM matters more than the sticker price. This guide compares seven providers and names the network each one uses.

Jamie Cole, Best eSIM for the Gambia author
Jamie Cole
Tech writer · eSIMply.co
13 min read Last updated July 2026

Three picks that fit most Gambia trips.

Airalo
The best-known travel eSIM, running on Comium Gambia, with the widest spread of short-stay plans.
$9.79 / 1GB · 3 days
  • Names Comium Gambia as its carrier
  • Plans span 3, 7, 15, and 30 days
  • Prices geo-served in AUD, converted to USD here
Nomad
Names Comium and carries the cheapest large bucket here, a fit for a data-heavy stay.
$9.01 / 1GB · 7 days
  • Names Comium as its Gambia carrier
  • 10GB / 30 days at about $35, the best big-bucket price here
  • Live data tracking in a clean app, AUD converted to USD

Picking a Gambia eSIM looks simple until you notice prices swing from under eight dollars to over fifty for similar data. This guide compares seven providers on price, plan length, and the actual network each one runs on. By the end you will know which plan suits a beach week in Kololi and which holds up on a longer trip upriver.

02 Full comparison

How seven Gambia eSIMs stack up on price and network.

The Gambia runs on four mobile networks: Africell, QCell, Comium, and state-owned Gamcel. Providers split between them, so two plans at a similar price can sit on different carriers with different coverage. The table below sorts by entry price and shows which network each provider actually names.

2026 Gambia eSIM comparison
7 providers · July 2026
Provider Plans From Network
eSIMply
Names Africell, the Gambia’s widest network. Lowest entry here at $7.95, up to 53% off RRP, and no ID or SIM registration.
Up to 53% off
1GB to 5GB · 7-30d
$7.951GB / 7d
Africell
Airalo
The best-known brand, names Comium Gambia, with plans across 3 to 30 days. Geo-served in AUD, converted here.
1GB to 5GB · 3-30d
$9.791GB / 3d
Comium Gambia
Nomad
Names Comium, and carries the cheapest large bucket here at 10GB / 30 days for about $35. AUD converted to USD.
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d
$9.011GB / 7d
Comium
aloSIM
Names Africell, but lists typically 3G data. A short two-plan range built for a light beach trip.
1GB to 2GB · 7-15d
$9.501GB / 7d
Africell (3G)
Saily
NordVPN-backed with 5G listed, but does not name its Gambia carrier. Clean app and live data tracking.
1GB to 5GB · 7-30d
$9.991GB / 7d
Network not disclosed
GigSky
Auto-selects the local network rather than naming one. Cheapest headline entry, but on a 30-day 1GB.
1GB to 10GB · 15-30d
$8.491GB / 30d
Network not disclosed
Roamless
Names both Africell and QCell on 4G/5G, with a free 100MB trial, but prices are the highest here and 30-day only.
100MB to 3GB · 30d only
$18.951GB / 30d
Africell / QCell

Prices are from each provider’s public Gambia product page, shown in USD. Airalo and Nomad geo-served Australian dollars to us, converted at 0.70 AUD to USD on 23 July 2026.

03 eSIM vs local SIM

Buy a local Africell SIM, or install an eSIM first?

A local SIM is genuinely cheap in the Gambia. Africell, QCell, and Gamcel starter kits sell at the airport, in Serrekunda phone shops, and from street vendors, and local data bundles cost little in dalasi. The catch is that you need cash in hand and often your passport to register the SIM, and the airport counter is not always open when your flight lands.

An eSIM flips the order. You buy it at home, install it from a QR code before you fly, and it connects the moment you land without a kiosk visit or paperwork. eSIMply’s entry plan is $7.95 for 1GB over 7 days, so you trade a few dollars against skipping the registration queue and arriving already online.

The one thing a local SIM still gives you is a Gambian phone number for calls and texts, which a data-only travel eSIM does not carry. If you only need maps, WhatsApp, and bookings, the eSIM covers it. If you need a local number for a long stay or to receive Gambian SMS codes, add a cheap local SIM alongside your eSIM.

04 Rankings

Seven Gambia eSIMs, ranked by network and price.

Airalo

The best-known travel eSIM, on Comium Gambia, with plans from a 3-day taster to a 30-day month.

4.4/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 5GB
Validity
3-30 days
Network
Comium Gambia
Type
Data only

Airalo is the most widely used travel eSIM brand, and its Gambia page names Comium as the carrier. Comium is one of the country’s four networks, smaller than Africell and QCell, so coverage holds up around the coast but thins as you head upcountry. It is the natural pick if you already run Airalo elsewhere and want one app for everything.

Prices are geo-served in Australian dollars, so the figures below are converted at 0.70. The range spans a 3-day 1GB taster up to 5GB over 30 days, working out to roughly $9.79 through $45.10. That short 3-day plan suits a weekend layover, though it costs more per day than eSIMply’s 7-day entry.

Gambia plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB3 days$9.79
3 GB7 days$26.92
5 GB15 days$40.20
5 GB Best value30 days$45.10
Installation

The Airalo app walks you through installation step by step on iOS and Android. QR code install takes under two minutes. The app shows remaining data in real time, which helps when managing a capped plan across a multi-week stay.

What works
  • Names Comium Gambia, so you know the network before you buy
  • The most familiar travel-eSIM app, with reliable QR install and live usage tracking
  • Flexible validity, from a 3-day taster up to a 30-day month
Trade-offs
  • Prices are geo-served in AUD, so the USD you pay shifts with the exchange rate
  • Comium is a smaller network than Africell, so coverage can thin upcountry

Saily

NordVPN-backed with a clean app and 5G listed, though it does not name its Gambia carrier.

4.2/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 5GB
Validity
7-30 days
Network
Not disclosed (5G)
Type
Data only

Saily is built by the NordVPN team, which lends a recognised security-brand trust signal for a country where a VPN is worth having on slow hotel Wi-Fi. The 1GB / 7-day plan is $9.99, sitting in the same cluster as aloSIM and Airalo’s converted entry. The lineup runs three capped plans up to 5GB / 30 days at $44.99.

Saily does not name its Gambia carrier, saying only that it connects to the country’s best networks, and it lists 5G where the local network supports it. The app shows live data balance on iOS and Android. Without a named carrier you cannot check in advance whether it leans on Africell’s wide coast coverage or a smaller operator.

Gambia plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB Best value7 days$9.99
3 GB30 days$27.99
5 GB30 days$44.99
Installation

QR code install via the Saily app or directly from email. The app manages your eSIMs and tracks real-time usage. It works with all eSIM-capable iPhones and Android devices.

What works
  • NordVPN backing gives a recognised security-brand trust signal
  • 5G listed for the Gambia, with a clean app and live data monitoring
  • Simple three-plan ladder that is easy to budget for a short stay
Trade-offs
  • Carrier not disclosed, so you cannot verify the network before buying
  • Entry 1GB / 7 days at $9.99 is the priciest short-stay 1GB in the cheap cluster

Nomad

Names Comium and carries the cheapest large bucket here, converted from AUD.

4.3/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB
Validity
7-30 days
Network
Comium
Type
Data only

Nomad names Comium as its Gambia carrier, the same network Airalo uses. Where Nomad pulls ahead is the large bucket: its 10GB / 30 days converts to about $35, the cheapest big plan on our list. That makes it the value pick for a data-heavy month or for sharing over a hotspot.

Prices are geo-served in Australian dollars and converted here at 0.70. The ladder runs from 1GB / 7 days at about $9 up to that 10GB plan, all on 30-day windows above the entry tier. The Nomad app shows live data balance on iOS and Android, and it does not auto-renew, so set a reminder if your stay runs long.

Gambia plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB7 days$9.01
3 GB30 days$19.03
5 GB30 days$27.04
10 GB Best value30 days$35.05
Installation

Standard QR code install. The Nomad app shows your live data balance and remaining days. Because Nomad does not auto-renew, set a calendar reminder if your Gambia stay is likely to run past the plan window.

What works
  • Names Comium, so the network is disclosed up front
  • Cheapest large bucket here, 10GB / 30 days at about $35
  • Clean app with live data tracking and a clear capped-plan ladder
Trade-offs
  • Prices geo-served in AUD, so the USD cost moves with the exchange rate
  • Comium is smaller than Africell, so a coast-and-upcountry trip may prefer an Africell plan

aloSIM

Names Africell like eSIMply, but lists typically 3G data across a short two-plan range.

3.9/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 2GB
Validity
7-15 days
Network
Africell (3G)
Type
Data only

aloSIM names Africell as its Gambia network, putting it alongside eSIMply in the group that tells you the carrier up front. The difference is speed: aloSIM lists its Gambia data as typically 3G rather than 4G or 5G, so it suits messaging and maps more than streaming. The range is just two plans.

The 1GB / 7 days is $9.50 and the 2GB / 15 days is $18.00, both flat USD with no conversion. That covers a light beach week, but there is no larger bucket, so a data-heavy or longer trip runs out. The aloSIM app on iOS and Android shows live data balance.

Gambia plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB Best value7 days$9.50
2 GB15 days$18.00
What works
  • Names Africell, so you know the network before buying
  • Simple flat USD pricing with no currency conversion
  • Fine for a light trip built around maps and messaging
Trade-offs
  • Lists typically 3G data, slower than the 4G and 5G names here
  • Only two plans, topping out at 2GB, so no option for a heavy stay

Roamless

Names both Africell and QCell on 4G/5G, with a free 100MB trial, but the priciest data here.

3.8/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
100MB to 3GB
Validity
30 days only
Network
Africell / QCell
Type
Data only

Roamless is the only provider here to name two Gambia carriers, Africell and QCell, both on 4G and 5G. That is a genuine coverage edge, since it can fall back between the two strongest networks in the country. It also offers a free 100MB trial to test the connection before you commit.

The catch is price. The 1GB plan is $18.95, roughly double the cheap cluster, and 3GB reaches $52.45, all on 30-day windows. Roamless also runs a pay-as-you-go balance that never expires, which suits a repeat West Africa traveller more than a one-off beach week, and everything is managed in the Roamless app.

Gambia plans
PlanValidityPrice
100 MB Free trial30 daysFree
1 GB30 days$18.95
2 GB30 days$36.45
3 GB30 days$52.45
What works
  • Names both Africell and QCell on 4G/5G, the only dual-carrier disclosure here
  • Free 100MB trial to test coverage before you pay
  • Pay-as-you-go balance that never expires across trips
Trade-offs
  • Priciest data on our list, with 1GB at $18.95
  • 30-day validity only, so nothing built for a short weekend

GigSky

Auto-selects the local network rather than naming one, with the cheapest headline entry here.

3.7/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB
Validity
15-30 days
Network
Not disclosed
Type
Data only

GigSky does not name a Gambia carrier, instead auto-selecting whichever local network is available. In a four-operator country that can mean useful fallback if one network is weak where you are standing. Its 1GB is the cheapest headline entry at $8.49, though on a 30-day window rather than a short 7-day one.

The range climbs to 10GB / 30 days at $49.49, so it covers a heavy month, but the mid-tiers cost more than Nomad and eSIMply at similar sizes. GigSky is an established global brand with broad device support, and it suits a traveller who values one plan across several countries over the lowest per-trip price.

Gambia plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB Best value30 days$8.49
3 GB15 days$16.99
5 GB30 days$26.39
10 GB30 days$49.49
What works
  • Auto-selects the local network, useful fallback across four operators
  • Cheapest headline 1GB entry on our list at $8.49
  • Established global brand with broad device support
Trade-offs
  • Carrier not disclosed, so you cannot check coverage before buying
  • Mid and large tiers cost more than Nomad and eSIMply at the same size
07 Country essentials

Before you go to the Gambia.

The Gambia catches first-timers with things that have nothing to do with your data plan. It runs almost entirely on cash you cannot get before you land, its fast 4G barely leaves the coast, and it is wrapped so tightly by Senegal that your phone can wander onto a Senegalese network. These are the things to sort before you fly.

The eSIM gotcha

A Gambia eSIM stops at the Senegal border, and Senegal is everywhere.

The biggest thing eSIM users get wrong is assuming a Gambia-only plan covers a Gambia-plus-Senegal trip. The country is a thin sliver almost entirely surrounded by Senegal, so near any border your phone can latch onto a Senegalese tower where a Gambia plan shows no service. eSIM guides note that a Gambia plan only works inside the Gambia, so a border hop needs a West Africa regional plan or a separate Senegal eSIM.

The second trap is coverage. Africell and QCell 4G concentrate on the coast, and inland or up the river you drop to 3G or less, so download maps and bookings before you leave Banjul.

Dalasi only exists inside the Gambia. Land with cash.

The Gambian dalasi is a closed currency you cannot buy before you fly, so you arrive with euros, pounds, or dollars and change them at the airport or a bureau in Serrekunda. Guides are blunt that the Gambia is a cash-first economy where card acceptance is thin outside the Senegambia hotels.

Change what you need in stages rather than all at once, and keep a stack of small notes for taxis and markets. A live rate check before you swap money stops you losing out at the counter.

Bumsters work the tourist beaches. Be polite but firm.

Along the Kololi and Senegambia strip you will be approached by young men known locally as bumsters who offer friendship, tours, or trips over to Senegal. The UK government warns that they are unlikely to follow correct immigration procedures and may ask you for money, so a polite but firm refusal is the standard advice.

Keep valuables off the beach and a copy of your passport separate from the original. Petty theft is most common in isolated spots and markets, so stick to the busier stretches of the coast.

There is no Uber here. Learn the green vs yellow taxi split.

No rideshare app operates in the Gambia, so getting around means taxis and shared minibuses you flag in person. Local guides explain that green tourist taxis wait at hotels and the airport at fixed higher rates, while yellow town taxis are cheaper and shared.

Agree the fare out loud before you get in, because nothing is metered. Carry small dalasi notes, since drivers rarely have change for a large one.

Coverage is a coast story. Upriver you drop to 3G.

The 4G that feels quick around Banjul, Serrekunda, and Kololi thins out fast once you head inland or up the river. Coverage maps show solid signal concentrated along the Atlantic coast and greater Banjul, with the interior leaning on 3G or 2G.

For a river trip to Janjanbureh, download offline maps and any bookings before you leave the coast. Choosing a provider on a wide network like Africell helps, but no plan turns 3G backcountry into city 4G.

Skip the overloaded Banjul ferry. Cross by the bridge.

The old Banjul to Barra ferry still runs, but the UK government notes it is often overcrowded and overloaded with inadequate safety equipment, making the Senegambia Bridge the safer route north.

Roads elsewhere are heavily potholed and poorly lit after dark, so day travel is safer and you will want offline navigation loaded before you set off.

Getting around and paying for things.

i
Getting around

No Uber or Bolt operates here. Green tourist taxis wait at hotels at fixed rates, yellow town taxis are cheaper and shared, and gelly-gelly minibuses run the cheapest routes from lots called garages. Agree the fare before you get in, and load offline maps.

$
Paying for things

Plan to run almost entirely on cash. Bring euros, pounds, or dollars to change into dalasi, since the dalasi cannot be bought abroad. Cards work only at larger Senegambia hotels, and Visa ATMs cluster in Serrekunda and Kololi.

Getting around the Gambia means shared transport, because no rideshare app runs here. The workhorses are the gelly-gelly minibuses and shared bush taxis that leave from lots called garages, and a local transport guide notes that urban gelly-gelly fares are very low and a vehicle only departs once it is full. They are the cheapest way to move but run on their own schedule.

For door-to-door trips, taxis split into two colours. Green tourist taxis queue at hotels, resorts, and the airport at fixed premium rates, while yellow town taxis are cheaper, shared, and flagged down in the street. Because nothing is metered, settle the fare before you climb in, and have small dalasi notes ready since drivers rarely carry change.

Heading north or upcountry adds a river crossing. The Banjul to Barra ferry is cheap but the UK government flags it as frequently overcrowded and overloaded, so most travellers now use the Senegambia Bridge instead. Whichever route you take, a working data connection matters for messaging drivers, but load offline maps as a backup for the stretches where signal fades.

On money, plan to run almost entirely on cash. The dalasi is a closed currency, so you cannot get it before you arrive, and a currency guide confirms the dalasi is the everyday tender across the country. Bring clean euros, pounds, or US dollars to change at the airport or a Serrekunda bureau, then keep small notes for daily spending.

Cards work in a narrow band of places. Bigger hotels and restaurants along the Senegambia strip take Visa and Mastercard, but most markets, taxis, and local eateries are cash only. ATMs cluster in Serrekunda and Kololi, and Visa is accepted more widely than Mastercard, so do not rely on a single card.

Local mobile-money wallets like Africell’s Africa Money and QCell’s QCash dominate everyday payments, but these are built for residents with local accounts and are hard for a short-stay visitor to load. Treat them as a nice-to-know rather than a plan, and budget cash for anything outside the tourist hotels.

Apps to install before you leave.

These are the apps traveller guides consistently say first-time visitors to the Gambia wish they had downloaded before flying, not the ones in generic packing lists.

i
Tipping in the Gambia

Tipping is appreciated rather than rigidly expected, so rounding up a taxi fare or leaving about 10 percent for good restaurant service is normal. Keep small dalasi notes handy, since it is all cash and no one will run a card for a tip.

$
Cash vs card

The Gambia is overwhelmingly cash. Bring euros, pounds, or dollars to change into dalasi, use Visa ATMs in Serrekunda or Kololi, and expect cards to work only at the larger Senegambia hotels.

Where you’ll actually use your eSIM in the Gambia.

Six places where your mobile data will earn its keep, and where coverage differences between providers actually start to matter:

01 Banjul
The capital and airport gateway, with the strongest coastal 4G on Africell and QCell for arrivals, transfers, and your first top-up of dalasi.
02 Serrekunda
The Gambia’s largest urban area, with the most reliable data, banks, and Visa ATMs on the coast, and the easiest place to change money.
03 Kololi and Senegambia
The main tourist zone, where hotels, bars, and green taxis cluster and coverage is solid, but also where bumsters work the beach.
04 Brikama
A busy inland town and transport hub where 4G starts to give way to 3G at the edges, so save maps before you push further in.
05 Janjanbureh
Deep upriver, also known as Georgetown, where signal thins to 3G or 2G and offline maps and bookings earn their keep.
06 Barra and the north bank
Across the river from Banjul, where coverage is patchier and border proximity to Senegal can push your phone onto a Senegalese network.
08 Decision guide

Match your Gambia eSIM to the coast, the river, and the border.

The right Gambia eSIM comes down to three questions: how much data your trip burns, which network you want behind it, and whether you will stray toward the Senegal border. Answer those and the shortlist gets small fast.

Most travellers only need the coast, where every provider here works, so price and network decide it. The choices start to matter once you head upriver or plan a side trip into Senegal. If you want the wider checklist, read our general guide to choosing an eSIM plan.

How much data does a Gambia trip actually use?

A beach week of maps, WhatsApp, and social sits around 1GB to 3GB, so eSIMply’s 2GB or 3GB plan, or Airalo’s 3GB, covers it comfortably. Add regular video calls, streaming, or hotspot sharing and you want 5GB or more.

For a data-heavy month, Nomad’s 10GB at about $35 is the cheapest large bucket here. Buying slightly more than you think you need beats running out upcountry, where topping up is harder.

Which network do you want behind the eSIM?

Africell is the widest network and strongest along the coast, and eSIMply and aloSIM both name it, though aloSIM lists only 3G speeds. Airalo and Nomad both name Comium, a smaller operator that holds up on the coast but thins inland.

Roamless names both Africell and QCell, giving it a fallback between the two strongest networks. Saily and GigSky do not disclose a carrier at all, so you buy on trust rather than a named network.

Are you staying on the coast or heading upriver?

For a coast-only trip around Banjul, Serrekunda, and Kololi, any provider here works and price is the deciding factor. For a river trip to Janjanbureh, pick a wide network like Africell and download maps offline, since inland coverage falls to 3G or less.

No plan turns weak backcountry signal into city 4G, so plan for offline navigation on the upriver legs regardless of provider.

Will you cross into Senegal?

A Gambia-only eSIM stops working at the border, and the Gambia is almost entirely surrounded by Senegal. If you plan a day trip or an overland route through Senegal, buy a West Africa regional plan or a separate Senegal eSIM rather than relying on the Gambia one.

For a trip that stays inside the Gambia, a single-country plan is cheaper and simpler, and every provider on this list fits that case.

i
Quick tip

Set your eSIM as the default data line and switch data roaming on for that line only, then keep your home SIM in for calls with its own roaming off. Download offline maps of the coast and any upriver route before you land at Banjul.

09 Frequently asked questions

Gambia eSIM questions, answered.

These are the questions Gambia travellers ask most before buying, from which network to pick to why a plan can show no service on arrival.

Short answers here, with the detail in the provider cards and the section above.

Not strictly, but it is the easiest way to stay online. Roaming on your home plan is expensive here, and a local SIM needs cash and passport registration at a kiosk.

A Gambia eSIM installs before you fly and connects to Africell or another local network the moment you land, with no paperwork.

Not reliably. The Gambia is almost entirely surrounded by Senegal, so near the border your phone can latch onto a Senegalese tower where a Gambia-only plan shows no service.

For a trip that hops into Senegal, buy a West Africa regional plan or a separate Senegal eSIM. For a Gambia-only trip, a single-country plan is fine.

Yes, and it is the main advantage. Buy from eSIMply, Airalo, Saily, Nomad, aloSIM, Roamless, or GigSky online, and you receive a QR code by email.

Scan it in your phone’s settings before you fly, leave it switched off until you arrive, then enable it and data roaming to connect. Check your phone is eSIM-compatible first, which most recent iPhones and Android flagships are.

eSIMply has the lowest 1GB entry on our list at $7.95 and runs on Africell, the widest network. For a large bucket, Nomad’s 10GB at about $35 is the cheapest big plan here.

GigSky’s $8.49 1GB looks cheap but sits on a 30-day window, so match the plan to your trip length and the network you want, not the headline price alone.

The Gambia has four networks: Africell, QCell, Comium, and state-owned Gamcel, with Africell the widest and QCell strong on 4G and 5G.

eSIMply and aloSIM name Africell, Airalo and Nomad name Comium, and Roamless names both Africell and QCell. Saily and GigSky do not disclose their Gambia carrier.

A beach week of Google Maps, WhatsApp, and social runs around 1GB to 3GB, so a 2GB or 3GB plan covers most trips. Streaming, video calls, or hotspot use push you to 5GB or more.

Download Google Maps offline for the upriver legs, where signal drops to 3G and using less data helps a capped plan last.

An eSIM installs at home and skips the Gambia’s cash-and-passport SIM registration, connecting the moment you land from $7.95. A local Africell or QCell SIM is cheap and gives you a Gambian number for calls and texts, which a data-only eSIM does not.

The common setup is to keep your home SIM in for calls and bank codes, run the eSIM for data, and add a local SIM only if you need a Gambian number.

No. Travel eSIMs for the Gambia are data-only, so they carry no Gambian number and no cellular calls or SMS.

Keep your home SIM active for calls and bank codes through dual-SIM, set the eSIM as your default data line, and turn roaming off on the home line. eSIMply also offers an optional app that adds a callable number if you need one.

First, turn data roaming on for the eSIM line, which is normal for a travel eSIM and carries no extra charge. Close any VPN stuck on activating, then manually select a Gambian network like Africell or QCell in settings if it does not connect automatically.

Near the Senegal border your phone may show a Senegalese network instead, which a Gambia-only plan will not use, so move back inland or contact support.

Yes. Hotspot and tethering are included across every provider in this comparison, so you can share your eSIM data with a laptop or a travel companion at no extra cost.

Tethering burns data faster than phone use, so size up a plan if you will share often. Nomad’s 10GB is the cheapest bucket here for regular hotspot use.

Our methodology

How we ranked the Gambia eSIMs.

We work in eSIM technology full-time, so this is not a side-hustle review. One thing to be upfront about: eSIMply runs its own eSIM service, and one of the plans compared here is ours. We still rank it against the field on the same measures, and we exclude underperformers regardless of any commercial link.

Every price and carrier claim comes from primary sources, checked in July 2026:

  • We read each provider’s own Gambia product page for pricing and, where stated, the named carrier: Africell for eSIMply and aloSIM, Comium for Airalo and Nomad, Africell and QCell for Roamless. Saily and GigSky do not name a Gambia carrier, so we mark them not disclosed rather than guess.
  • The factor we weight most for the Gambia is coverage, because 4G concentrates on the coast while the interior and river drop to 3G, so a wide network like Africell matters more than a small price gap.
  • We compare entry-plan pricing, plan flexibility, validity windows, hotspot support, and how each provider handles activation and support.
  • Airalo and Nomad geo-served Australian dollars to us, so we converted their figures at 0.70 AUD to USD and disclosed it, rather than compare AUD against USD prices.
  • Where providers sit on the same network at a similar price, we rank by validity fit, install experience, and whether the carrier is disclosed at all.
  • We excluded Jetpac, which has no Gambia product page, and eSIM4, our sister brand, to keep the field to providers you can buy directly.

We may receive commission from some providers if you buy through our links. This never changes the order. Underperforming providers get excluded regardless of any affiliate relationship.

Jamie Cole, Best eSIM for the Gambia author
Jamie Cole
Tech content writer · eSIMply.co

Jamie has worked in telecommunications for more than 8 years across mobile, SMS, eSIM, apps, and adjacent technology. He now writes for eSIMply as the tech content writer, analysing the top eSIM providers and breaking down what travellers actually need to know.

While we do our best to ensure accuracy, prices and plan availability are subject to change. Last updated by Jamie Cole.

Chat with Us!

Chat with us on WhatsApp for instant support!
Scroll to Top