- Runs on Digicel, the same network as our top pick
- Short 3-day and 7-day options for brief trips
- Mature app with live data tracking
Best eSIM for Trinidad and Tobago, ranked.
There is no dependable Uber here, so a working eSIM the minute you land is what gets you a ride, a ferry seat, and a WhatsApp booking.
Three picks for the twin islands
- Auto-connects on arrival, no airport SIM kiosk, no swap
- No KYC and no ID required, just scan and go
- QR code emailed instantly, installs in under two minutes
- 24/7 support by chat or email if anything goes sideways
- Names Digicel and lists 4G/5G
- Bundles run all the way to 20GB / 30 days
- Hotspot and tethering supported
Several travel eSIM brands sell data for the twin islands, and most run on the same network, so the choice comes down to price and plan length. This guide ranks the options that do, compares what each costs and the network it runs on, and shows where a prepaid data plan beats airport roaming. By the end you will know which plan fits your trip and how to have it live before you clear the airport.
How eSIMply compares with Airalo, Saily, Nomad and aloSIM
Both national networks here, Digicel and bmobile (TSTT), run nationwide 4G LTE. Most eSIMs below connect through Digicel, so price, plan length and how you buy are the real differences, not coverage. The table sorts by entry price and what each plan gives you.
| Provider | Plans | From | Network |
|---|---|---|---|
|
eSIMply
Lowest entry here at $6.95 on Digicel, up to 52% off retail, no ID required, with 24/7 support.
Up to 52% off
|
1GB to 5GB · 7-30d | $6.951GB / 7d |
Digicel |
|
aloSIM
Digicel on LTE with a free international number thrown in. 5GB / 30 days for $32.50.
|
1GB to 5GB · 7-30d | $8.001GB / 7d |
Digicel |
|
Airalo
Also on Digicel, with the shortest plans here from 3-day windows. 5GB / 30 days for $32.50.
|
1GB to 5GB · 3-30d | $8.001GB / 3d |
Digicel |
|
Nomad
Digicel on 4G/5G with the widest ladder here, up to 20GB. Prices converted from AUD.
|
1GB to 20GB · 7-30d | $8.021GB / 7d |
Digicel |
|
Saily
USD-native pricing and no hotspot limits, but only two plans and no named carrier.
|
1GB to 3GB · 7-30d | $8.991GB / 7d |
Not disclosed |
Prices are from each provider’s public Trinidad and Tobago product page, shown in USD. Nomad’s prices were converted from AUD at 0.70; check from a US connection if exact cents matter.
eSIM or a local Digicel SIM at the airport?
You can pick up a local Digicel or bmobile prepaid SIM once you arrive, with stores in Port of Spain and kiosks near Piarco airport. It works, but it costs you an errand on day one. You find a store, queue, sort a plan, and top it up, all before you are online.
An eSIM skips that entirely. You buy it at home, scan a QR code, and land connected, with no counter to find and no swap. eSIMply’s entry plan is 1GB for 7 days at $6.95, which covers a short visit.
What a local SIM still gives you that a data-only eSIM does not is a local phone number for calls and texts. If you mainly need data for maps, WhatsApp, and ride apps, the eSIM is the faster route in.
Provider rankings for Trinidad and Tobago
eSIMply
The lowest entry price in this guide, running on Digicel, with no ID check and support that answers around the clock.
eSIMply runs on Digicel, one of Trinidad and Tobago’s two national networks, which carries strong 4G LTE across Port of Spain, San Fernando, Chaguanas, Arima and the main Tobago tourist areas. Its 1GB / 7-day plan is $6.95, the lowest entry price in this guide.
The range climbs to 3GB / 30 days at $19.95 and 5GB / 30 days at $30.95, which suits a week or two of maps, WhatsApp, ride apps and the odd video call. Every plan currently runs at up to 52 percent off the listed retail price.
| Plan | Validity | Price | Savings |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $6.95 | Save $7.45 (52%) |
| 2 GB | 15 days | $13.95 | Save $13.05 (48%) |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $19.95 | Save $17.85 (47%) |
| 5 GB Best value | 30 days | $30.95 | Save $27.55 (47%) |
Buy online, get a QR code by email, and scan it in your phone’s settings before you fly. Setup takes under two minutes. Set it as your active data line with roaming on, and it connects to Digicel when you land at Piarco or A.N.R. Robinson airport.
- Lowest entry price in this guide, 1GB / 7 days at $6.95, with up to 52% off retail
- Runs on Digicel, with wide 4G LTE across both islands’ towns and beaches
- No KYC and no ID required to activate, so there is no paperwork
- QR code emailed instantly after ordering, installs in under two minutes, with 24/7 chat and email support
- Optional companion app adds calling and texting credit if you want a number while abroad
- Data-only plan, so no Trinidad and Tobago phone number or inbound calls on the eSIM line
- Tops out at 5GB, so a heavy-data month would need a top-up
Airalo
Also on Digicel, with short 3-day options and a mature app, at a slightly higher entry price.
Airalo is the most widely used travel eSIM brand, and its Trinidad and Tobago plan also names Digicel as the carrier, so coverage matches eSIMply’s. The difference is the plan structure, since Airalo leans on short validity windows, starting at 1GB for 3 days at $8.00.
That short-stay flexibility suits a quick stopover or a Carnival weekend, while the 5GB / 30 days at $32.50 covers a longer trip. Its app handles install and shows live data usage on iOS and Android.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 3 days | $8.00 |
| 3 GB | 3 days | $20.00 |
| 3 GB | 7 days | $21.00 |
| 5 GB | 7 days | $30.00 |
| 5 GB | 15 days | $31.00 |
| 5 GB Best value | 30 days | $32.50 |
The Airalo app walks you through QR install on iOS and Android in a couple of minutes. It shows remaining data in real time, which helps on a capped plan.
- Names Digicel as the carrier, matching the coverage of the top pick
- Short 3-day and 7-day options suit a stopover or a Carnival weekend
- Mature app with reliable QR install and live usage tracking
- Entry 1GB / 3 days at $8.00 costs more than eSIMply at the same tier
- Short default validity means buyers on longer trips pay more over time
aloSIM
Digicel on LTE with a free international number included, and a simple ladder up to 5GB.
aloSIM names Digicel as its carrier on the Trinidad and Tobago page and lists typical LTE speeds, so coverage lines up with eSIMply and Airalo. Its entry plan is 1GB for 7 days at $8.00, and every plan bundles a free international phone number.
The ladder runs to 5GB / 30 days at $32.50, matching Airalo’s ceiling. Install is a 90-second QR scan through the app, backed by a money-back guarantee.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $8.00 |
| 2 GB | 15 days | $15.00 |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $21.00 |
| 5 GB Best value | 30 days | $32.50 |
Buy on the aloSIM site or app, then scan the QR code it sends to install in about 90 seconds. The app shows remaining data, and a money-back guarantee covers you if a plan will not activate.
- Names Digicel, matching the coverage of the top pick
- Bundles a free international phone number with every plan
- 90-second install with a money-back guarantee
- Entry 1GB / 7 days at $8.00 costs more than eSIMply at the same tier
- Tops out at 5GB, so a heavy-data month would need a top-up
Nomad
Digicel on 4G/5G with the widest data ladder here, up to 20GB, though prices are set in AUD.
Nomad names Digicel on its Trinidad and Tobago page and lists 4G/5G, with hotspot and tethering supported. Its data ladder is the deepest in this guide, running from 1GB all the way to 20GB, which suits a long stay or a data-heavy trip.
Entry is 1GB / 7 days at about $8.02, and the 5GB / 30 days plan lands near $29.07. Nomad prices in Australian dollars, so the exact US figure moves with the exchange rate.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $8.02 |
| 3 GB | 30 days | $19.04 |
| 5 GB Best value | 30 days | $29.07 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $43.11 |
| 20 GB | 30 days | $79.19 |
Nomad’s USD prices are converted from AUD at 0.70 and shift with the exchange rate.
Buy through the Nomad app or site, then scan the QR code to install before you fly. The eSIM starts automatically when it connects to Digicel on arrival, and the app tracks remaining data.
- Widest data ceiling here, with bundles up to 20GB for a longer stay
- Names Digicel and lists 4G/5G, with hotspot and tethering supported
- Plan starts automatically on first connection, no manual toggling
- Priced in AUD, so the US dollar cost shifts with the exchange rate
- Entry price sits above eSIMply at the same 1GB tier
Saily
USD-native pricing and no hotspot limits from NordVPN’s travel brand, but a short two-plan lineup and no named carrier.
Saily is the travel eSIM from NordVPN’s team, and it prices in US dollars, so there is no conversion guesswork. Its Trinidad and Tobago page keeps things simple with two plans and no hotspot restrictions.
The catch is the short lineup, 1GB for 7 days at $8.99 and 3GB for 30 days at $25.99, with nothing above 3GB. It also does not name which local network it rides, describing it only as the country’s best networks.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $8.99 |
| 3 GB Best value | 30 days | $25.99 |
Buy in the Saily app, then install the eSIM and turn on the profile with roaming enabled. The app handles setup and shows your remaining balance as you travel.
- Prices in US dollars, so there is no exchange-rate guesswork
- No hotspot or tethering restrictions on its plans
- Clean app and support from an established VPN brand
- Only two plans, 1GB and 3GB, with nothing larger for a heavy trip
- Does not disclose which local network it connects to
Before you go to Trinidad and Tobago.
Trinidad and Tobago catches first-timers out in ways that have nothing to do with your data plan. There is no dependable Uber, the two islands need a ferry or a flight between them, and a lot of daily life still runs on cash. Your eSIM keeps you online for all of it, which is exactly why it needs to be working before you leave the airport.
There is no reliable Uber, so you may need to book a ride before you reach any Wi-Fi.
The biggest thing visitors get wrong is assuming they can sort a taxi at the airport the way they would at home. The global ride apps are unreliable or absent here, so people lean on local apps like Drop and TT RideShare, plus WhatsApp, and every one of them needs a live data connection.
Activate your eSIM before you leave the terminal so you can book that first ride, check a maxi taxi route, or message your guesthouse without hunting for airport Wi-Fi first.
Book rides with Drop and TT RideShare, not Uber.
Do not count on Uber here. The big global names, Uber, Bolt, Grab and inDrive, either do not operate or run inconsistently across the twin islands, so residents lean on homegrown apps instead. The two worth installing before you fly are Drop, a Caribbean ride app with upfront fares and driver tracking, and TT RideShare.
Both need a live data connection to request a car, which is the first reason your eSIM has to be working before you leave the airport.
Route taxis and colour-banded maxis run the island.
The cheapest way to move is the shared-transport system, and it runs on a code that is not written down anywhere obvious. Route taxis are ordinary cars with an H on the licence plate that follow fixed routes for a fixed fare, while maxi taxis are colour-banded minibuses, red band for the Port of Spain to Arima corridor, that also run set routes.
You flag them down, tell the driver your stop, and pay cash. Locals confirm routes and pickup points over WhatsApp, so having data lets you check before you commit.
Crossing between Trinidad and Tobago takes planning.
Trinidad and Tobago are two separate islands, and the crossing is a real trip to plan. The inter-island ferry runs Port of Spain to Scarborough and takes about two and a half hours on the fast boats operated by the Port Authority, with sailings that book up online in advance.
A short domestic flight is the faster alternative. Either way you want the booking confirmation and live schedule on your phone, not a screenshot you took on hotel Wi-Fi three days ago.
Data is strong in town, thin in the rainforest.
Both national carriers deliver solid mobile data where travellers actually spend their time. Coverage is excellent across Port of Spain, San Fernando, Chaguanas, Arima and Scarborough, and reliable at the beach spots like Maracas, Crown Point and Store Bay.
It thins out in the forested interior, Tobago’s north coast and the more remote hiking and birding sites, so download offline maps for the Northern Range and the rainforest before you head in.
Carnival crowds the network, so size up.
If you are visiting for Carnival, plan your data around the crowds. The country’s two million-plus mobile connections all converge on the same few square kilometres of Port of Spain during the season, and the fete and parade routes get congested in the same way any packed event does.
A plan with a little headroom beats scraping the bottom of a 1GB bundle while trying to find your band or your lime. Messages and maps still get through, but heavy uploads can crawl in the thick of it.
Getting around and paying for things.
Install Drop and TT RideShare before you fly, since both need data to request a car. For cheap local runs, route taxis (cars with an H plate) and colour-banded maxi taxis follow fixed routes for cash fares.
Cards work at hotels, malls and larger restaurants, but route taxis, maxi taxis, doubles stands and small vendors are cash-first. Pull Trinidad and Tobago dollars at well-lit ATMs in daylight.
Getting around Trinidad and Tobago means local ride apps and shared taxis, not Uber. Install Drop and TT RideShare before you fly, because both need data to request a car.
For cheap local travel, route taxis (cars with an H plate running fixed routes) and colour-banded maxi taxis cover most of Trinidad. You pay cash, you flag them down, and you tell the driver where you are getting off. Government PTSC buses run the main corridors but keep looser schedules than the maxis.
The two islands are linked by the Port of Spain to Scarborough inter-island ferry, roughly two and a half hours on the fast boats, or a short domestic flight. A separate water taxi runs Port of Spain to San Fernando to dodge highway traffic. The UK Foreign Office also suggests using established taxi firms recommended by your hotel rather than flagging unknown cars at night.
The currency is the Trinidad and Tobago dollar, and cash still handles a big share of everyday spending. Cards are fine at hotels, malls, supermarkets and sit-down restaurants, while smaller vendors, doubles stands and shared taxis are cash-only.
Foreign Visa and Mastercard generally work at established merchants, but the UK government warns travellers to be careful at ATMs, use well-lit machines, withdraw small amounts and keep an eye on your card to avoid skimming. Pull cash during daylight and keep a small local-dollar float for taxis and street food.
Apps to install before you leave.
These are the apps travellers to Trinidad and Tobago consistently wish they had downloaded before flying, not the ones in generic packing lists.
Tipping is modest and not automatic. Around 10 to 15 percent is normal at restaurants when service is not already added, and rounding up for taxi drivers or guides is appreciated rather than expected.
Cards work at hotels, malls and larger restaurants, but route taxis, maxi taxis, doubles stands and roadside vendors are cash-first. Keep a small float of Trinidad and Tobago dollars and pull more at well-lit ATMs in daylight.
Where you’ll actually use your eSIM in Trinidad and Tobago.
Six places where your mobile data will earn its keep, and where the difference between town and bush coverage starts to matter:
How to choose the best eSIM for Trinidad and Tobago
With a handful of travel eSIMs covering the twin islands, and most running on Digicel, the choice comes down to price, plan length, and how you like to buy. A few questions sort it quickly.
If you want more general help first, see our guide to choosing an eSIM plan for your trip.
How much data will you actually use?
For a week of maps, WhatsApp, ride apps and social scrolling, 3GB to 5GB is a comfortable range. eSIMply’s 3GB / 30 days at $19.95 or 5GB / 30 days at $30.95 cover most trips, and a short stopover can run on the 1GB entry.
Does the network matter here?
Most eSIMs here run on Digicel, and both national carriers, Digicel and bmobile, deliver solid 4G LTE where travellers spend their time. So carrier is rarely the deciding factor, and coverage is effectively the same on any Digicel-based plan. Price and plan length are what separate them.
Trinidad, Tobago, or both?
Town and beach coverage is strong on both islands, but the rainforest interior and Tobago’s north coast thin out. If you are hiking the Northern Range or exploring remote Tobago, download offline maps first. For city-and-beach trips, any plan here keeps you online.
One country, or a Caribbean plan?
If Trinidad and Tobago is your only stop, a single-country plan is cheaper and simpler. If you are island-hopping the wider Caribbean, a regional bundle can work out better across borders. For a one-country trip, the plans in this guide are the better value.
Set the eSIM as your default data line and switch data roaming on for it before you land. Then download offline maps of the Northern Range and Tobago’s north coast, where signal drops.
Trinidad and Tobago eSIM questions, answered
Most questions about a Trinidad and Tobago eSIM come down to coverage, cost, and getting online the moment you land. Here are the ones travellers ask most before they buy.
If your question is not here, each provider’s product page spells out compatibility and activation in detail.
Not strictly, but it is the easiest way to land connected without paying roaming rates. It matters more here than in many places because getting a ride relies on local apps like Drop and WhatsApp, which need data the moment you arrive. An eSIM has you online before you leave the airport.
Yes. Most eSIMs here, including eSIMply, run on Digicel, which covers the main towns and tourist areas on both islands, from Port of Spain to Scarborough and Crown Point. Coverage thins in the forested interior and Tobago’s remote north coast, so download offline maps for those spots.
Yes, and you should. Buy from eSIMply or another provider here, check your phone is eSIM-compatible, then scan the QR code they email you and install it before you fly. It stays dormant until you land and connect, so there is no rush to use it early.
eSIMply has the lowest entry price in this guide at $6.95 for 1GB / 7 days, and it stays cheaper than Airalo, Saily, Nomad and aloSIM at comparable tiers, with 5GB / 30 days at $30.95. Airalo’s edge is its short 3-day plans, while Nomad goes deepest on data with bundles up to 20GB. Most run on Digicel, so you are mainly comparing price and plan length, not coverage.
The country has two main mobile networks, Digicel and bmobile (TSTT), and both run nationwide 4G LTE. eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad and aloSIM all connect through Digicel, while Saily does not name its carrier. Only Nomad lists 5G, which is still limited even on the local networks.
For a typical week of Google Maps, WhatsApp, Drop or TT RideShare, and social media, plan on 3GB to 5GB. Streaming and heavy uploads, common during Carnival, burn through it faster, so size up if that is your trip. Download offline maps to save data in low-signal areas.
For most visitors, yes. An eSIM installs at home and has you online on arrival, with no store errand or top-up queue, from $6.95. A local SIM’s advantage is a Trinidad and Tobago phone number, so keep your home SIM in for calls and 2FA and run the eSIM alongside it for data.
No. These are data-only plans, so there is no local number and no cellular calls or texts on the eSIM line. Keep your home SIM active for calls and 2FA using dual-SIM, set the eSIM as your default data, and switch roaming off on the home line.
eSIMply also offers an optional app to add calling and texting credit if you want a number while abroad.
First, turn data roaming on for the eSIM line, which is normal for travel eSIMs and does not add charges. If it still hangs, close any VPN, then manually select Digicel in your network settings. If that fails, restart the phone and contact the provider’s support, and remember that no plan fixes a genuine dead zone in the deep interior.
Yes. eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad and aloSIM all allow tethering, and Saily lists no hotspot restrictions either, so you can share data with a laptop or a travel companion at no extra cost. Tethering uses data faster, so pick a larger plan like 5GB / 30 days if several devices will lean on it.
How we ranked these Trinidad and Tobago eSIMs
We work in eSIM technology full-time, so this is not a side project. For Trinidad and Tobago that meant checking each provider’s own product page for the carrier it names, then weighing price, plan length, and support.
- We confirmed the underlying network on each provider’s own Trinidad and Tobago page: eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad and aloSIM all name Digicel, while Saily names no carrier.
- Because most run on the same network, coverage is close to a wash, so we weighted entry price, plan flexibility, validity windows, hotspot support, and how you buy.
- eSIMply is one of these providers, and it is our own service. We still rank it on the same price-and-plan axes as everything else.
- We left out three brands rather than guess: Jetpac and Roamless do not publish a verifiable price for the twin islands, and GigSky lists its plans as temporarily unavailable.
- Figures trace to each provider’s public Trinidad and Tobago product page and the official carrier coverage information, shown in USD. Nomad’s page prices in AUD, which we converted at 0.70.
We may earn commission if you buy through our links. That never changes the ranking, and any provider that underperformed would be dropped regardless.
Jamie has worked in telecommunications for more than 8 years across mobile, SMS, eSIM, apps, and adjacent technology. He now writes for eSIMply as the tech content writer, analysing the top eSIM providers and breaking down what travellers actually need to know.
While we do our best to ensure accuracy, prices and plan availability are subject to change. Last updated by Jamie Cole.