- Country list matches eSIMply's exactly, with no Oceania markets padding the count
- Twenty plan sizes from 1GB up to 100GB across 180 days
- Flags 5G or LTE against each individual carrier in its coverage list
Best eSIM for Asia, ranked.
Four of these eight Asia plans quietly fold in Australia and New Zealand, and one of them leaves out Singapore.
Three Asia eSIMs that suit three different trips.
One matches the widest pure-Asia footprint, one pairs that same coverage with the deepest ladder of unlimited data options, and one stretches past Asia entirely. Most trips through the region look like one of those three shapes.
- Eighteen Asian countries with no Australia or New Zealand quietly folded in
- Every carrier disclosed on the plan page, from China Mobile to AIS to Jio
- Entry plans start at $2.95 for 500MB across 3 days
- No ID verification, and the plan starts counting on first use rather than purchase
- Twenty-two countries, the widest list here, including Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan
- Unlimited plans at seven durations from 5 days through to 30
- States its fair-use figure openly at 3GB a day before speeds drop
Buying one eSIM for a multi-country Asia trip ought to be the easy decision. It is not, because the eight providers selling a regional plan do not agree on what Asia means. This guide sets out what each plan really covers, what it costs at every plan size, and how to work out whether one regional eSIM beats a handful of single-country ones.
Compare all eight Asia eSIM plans side by side.
Four of the eight name the local carrier behind every country they cover, including China Mobile and China Unicom in China, Jio in India, KDDI and Softbank in Japan, and AIS in Thailand. The other four name nobody at all. The table shows what you are actually buying, which is the number of countries, the shape of the plan ladder and the entry price.
| Provider | Plans | From | Network |
|---|---|---|---|
|
eSIMply
Eighteen Asian countries and nothing outside Asia, with the carrier named for every one of them on the plan page.
Up to 56% off
|
18 countries · 500MB to Unlimited | $2.95500MB / 3d |
Named per country |
|
Airalo
Country for country the same 18 as eSIMply, with the widest set of plan sizes and 5G flagged against each carrier.
|
18 countries · 1GB to 100GB | $4.001GB / 3d |
Named per country |
|
Saily
The longest list at 22, though Australia, New Zealand, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan account for four of them.
|
22 countries · 1GB to Unlimited | $4.991GB / 7d |
Not disclosed |
|
Nomad
Two different Asia Pacific plans share one page: 14 countries with Singapore and 5G, or 21 countries without Singapore and 4G throughout.
|
14 or 21 countries · 1GB to 50GB | $4.001GB / 7d |
Named per country |
|
Jetpac
No Asia-wide plan exists. The nearest product is Southeast Asia, seven countries, with no China, India, Japan, South Korea, Hong Kong or Taiwan.
|
7 countries · 1GB to Unlimited | $7.003GB / 1d |
Named per country |
|
aloSIM
The narrowest pure-Asia list at 14, missing Cambodia, Laos, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, but it names every carrier and publishes its daily fair-use figure.
|
14 countries · 1GB to Unlimited | $5.001GB / 7d |
Named per country |
|
Roamless
Twenty countries, with Türkiye bundled into Asia rather than Europe. Hotspot is unlimited and the fixed plans state no speed limit at all.
|
20 countries · 1GB to 50GB | $3.951GB / 30d |
Not disclosed |
|
GigSky
Nineteen countries weighted towards the Pacific. Singapore and the Philippines sit outside the plan and sell only as separate country products.
|
19 countries · 100MB to Unlimited | $3.141GB / 7d |
Not disclosed |
Prices come from each provider's own regional product page in USD, and country counts are each provider's own published figure.
Why a local SIM card stops working at the next border.
A local SIM card works beautifully in one country and stops dead at the next. On a five-country route that means five purchases, five queues and five sets of paperwork, each in a different language and each eating an hour you would rather spend elsewhere.
Registration rules are the part travellers underestimate. China and India both tie a prepaid SIM to identity documents and a local address or hotel booking, and several other markets on this list require a passport scan at the counter. A regional eSIM skips all of it, and eSIMply’s Asia plan states plainly that no ID verification is required.
What you give up is a local phone number. Every plan in this comparison is data only, so an SMS code from your bank will not land on it, and a local app that verifies by text may refuse to register. Keep your home SIM in the phone for messages and run the eSIM alongside it for data, from $3.95.
Eight Asia eSIM providers, ranked by what they actually cover.
The best eSIMs for Asia are the ones whose country list matches your route, so the order below follows coverage first and price second. Every provider here sells travel eSIMs you buy once and use across multiple countries without roaming fees.
eSIMply
Pure Asia coverage at 18 countries, with the carrier behind each one published on the plan page.
The plan covers Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Macao, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam. That is every one of the region’s big four markets plus the four city destinations most itineraries pivot around. Nothing from Oceania is folded in to inflate the count.
The plan page names the carrier for each country: China Mobile, China Telecom and China Unicom in China, Jio in India, HKT in Hong Kong, KDDI and Softbank in Japan, AIS, Dtac and True in Thailand, Singtel and StarHub in Singapore. Four of the eight providers here name nothing at all, so this is checkable coverage rather than a promise.
Pricing splits into two ladders. Fixed buckets run from 500MB across 3 days at $2.95 up to 100GB across 180 days at $87.95, and unlimited runs from 3 days at $9.95 to 30 days at $71.95. One detail worth noting: at 10GB and 20GB the Asia plan is a dollar cheaper than the China-only plan on the same site, so a trip that includes China pays nothing extra for the other 17 countries.
| Plan | Validity | Price | Savings |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $3.95 | Save $5.05 (56%) |
| 2 GB | 15 days | $5.95 | Save $6.65 (53%) |
| 5 GB Best value | 30 days | $13.95 | Save $13.05 (48%) |
| 20 GB | 30 days | $37.95 | Save $32.25 (46%) |
| Unlimited | 7 days | $24.95 | Save $21.85 (47%) |
| Unlimited | 30 days | $71.95 | Save $60.35 (46%) |
The QR code and an installation link arrive by email within minutes of purchase. Install it at home while you still have a stable connection, then leave the line switched off until you land. The plan starts counting on first data use rather than on purchase, and no ID verification is required at any point.
- Eighteen Asian countries with no Oceania markets inflating the number
- Carrier named for every country, which four rivals here do not do
- Entry plan at $2.95 for 500MB, the lowest starting price of the eight
- Fixed and unlimited ladders both run long, out to 180 days and 30 days
- No ID verification, and validity starts on first use rather than purchase
- The category page mentions Nepal in its marketing copy, but Nepal is not one of the 18 covered countries
- The category page and the plan page list different carriers for the same countries, so treat the plan page as the accurate one
Airalo
The same 18-country footprint, with more plan sizes than anyone else here.
Airalo’s Asia eSIM covers exactly the same 18 countries as eSIMply, country for country. No Australia, no New Zealand, no Central Asia. If the two plans cover your route identically, the decision comes down to price and plan shape rather than coverage.
Twenty plan options is the widest ladder in this comparison, and the coverage list marks each carrier as 5G or LTE. China shows China Unicom and China Mobile at 5G with China Telecom at 4G, Hong Kong shows HKT at 5G, Japan shows both KDDI and Softbank at 5G. That level of detail is rare and it is genuinely useful when you are deciding whether a plan will hold up for video calls.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 3 days | $4.00 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $15.00 |
| 20 GB | 30 days | $39.00 |
| Unlimited | 7 days | $26.00 |
| 100 GB | 180 days | $89.00 |
- Identical 18-country list to eSIMply, verified against both coverage pages
- Twenty plan sizes, from a 3-day 1GB top-up to 100GB across 180 days
- Marks 5G or LTE against each named carrier rather than claiming it blanket
- The 1GB entry plan expires after 3 days, which is tight for an arrival buffer
- Neither hotspot policy nor a fair-use figure appears on the product page
Saily
Twenty-two countries, four of which are not in Asia at all.
Saily does not sell an Asia-only plan. The Asia and Oceania product is what you get, and its 22 countries include Australia, New Zealand, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan. Strip those out and the Asian footprint is the standard 18, matching eSIMply and Airalo.
The page names no carriers, describing the underlying networks only as the best local providers in the region. It does state the things that usually go unstated: unlimited hotspot sharing, and a fair-use policy of 3GB a day at full speed before the rest of the day runs at a reduced rate. For a long trip through Asia that carries on down into Australia, this is the only plan here that covers both legs.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $4.99 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $19.49 |
| 25 GB | 60 days | $48.99 |
| Unlimited | 7 days | $28.99 |
| Unlimited | 30 days | $86.99 |
- The longest country list here at 22, and the only one carrying Uzbekistan
- Publishes both its hotspot policy and its daily fair-use figure openly
- Seven unlimited durations, the most granular unlimited ladder of the eight
- Names no carrier anywhere on the product page, so coverage cannot be checked
- Fixed-data pricing is the highest of the three 18-country Asian footprints
Nomad
Two different Asia Pacific plans sold on one page, and the cheaper one has fewer countries.
This is the plan most likely to catch someone out. Nomad’s Asia Pacific eSIM comes in a 14-country version and a 21-country version at different prices, and the two are not a simple upgrade. The 21-country plan adds India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Cambodia, Laos, Nepal and Brunei, but it drops Singapore and runs 4G on every listed network.
The 14-country plan keeps Singapore and lists 5G on nine of its fourteen markets, including Optus in Australia, Telkomsel in Indonesia, SoftBank and KDDI in Japan and SingTel in Singapore. Nomad is also the only provider here covering Nepal, on the 21-country variant. Read the coverage block for the variant you are actually buying, not the page headline.
One more thing sits in the small print. Nomad states that local Thai regulation leaves the plan with no service in Pattani, Narathiwat, Yala and four neighbouring districts. It is the only provider in this comparison that publishes a domestic carve-out of that kind.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB (14 countries) | 7 days | $4.00 |
| 1 GB (21 countries) | 7 days | $7.00 |
| 5 GB (14 countries) | 30 days | $14.00 |
| 5 GB (21 countries) | 30 days | $19.00 |
| 20 GB (14 countries) | 45 days | $35.00 |
| 20 GB (21 countries) | 45 days | $48.00 |
| Unlimited (14 countries) | 10 days | $29.00 |
- The only plan here covering Nepal, on its 21-country variant
- Names the carrier for every country on both variants, with 5G marked per market
- Publishes a Thailand coverage carve-out that other providers leave unmentioned
- The 21-country plan drops Singapore, which the 14-country plan includes
- The 21-country plan is 4G only on every network, with no 5G anywhere
Jetpac
Has no Asia plan. The nearest product stops at seven Southeast Asian countries.
Jetpac belongs in this comparison because travellers keep finding it while shopping for an Asia plan, and because it does not sell one. Its regional product is Southeast Asia, covering Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. There is no China, India, Japan, South Korea, Hong Kong or Taiwan on it.
For a trip that genuinely stays inside those seven countries, the short-duration pricing is the most flexible here. One-day and four-day plans exist, which nobody else in this comparison offers, and unlimited runs at seven durations. Carriers are named per country, including INDOSAT in Indonesia and StarHub in Singapore, and unlimited plans carry a stated 3GB daily allowance before speeds drop.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 3 GB | 1 day | $7.00 |
| 5 GB | 7 days | $12.00 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $25.00 |
| 30 GB | 30 days | $44.99 |
| Unlimited | 30 days | $65.99 |
- One-day and four-day plans, which no other provider in this comparison sells
- Names the carrier for all seven countries and states its daily fair-use figure
- Large fixed buckets are competitively priced within Southeast Asia
- No Asia-wide plan exists, so a trip taking in China, Japan or Korea needs something else
- Data only with no SMS, and calls are sold separately as in-app voice packs
aloSIM
The shortest true-Asia list, but one of the more transparent product pages.
Fourteen countries makes aloSIM’s Asia plan the narrowest pure-Asia product here. Compared to the 18-country plans it is missing Cambodia, Laos, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. It keeps China, India, Japan, Indonesia, Singapore and the Philippines, so for a city-hopping route it may well cover everything you need.
The page is unusually forthcoming once you open its panels. Carriers are listed per country, including China Unicom at 5G, Reliance Jio in India, KDDI in Japan and AIS in Thailand. Fair use is stated at 3GB of full-speed data a day before the rate drops until the next day, hotspot is confirmed, no ID is required, and a phone number is included with purchase.
One inconsistency is worth knowing about before you compare. The page title says the plan covers 13 countries while the page body says 14 and lists 14. The list on the page is the number to go by.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | $5.00 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $20.00 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | $37.00 |
| Unlimited | 7 days | $26.00 |
| Unlimited | 30 days | $73.50 |
- Names carriers, states its daily fair-use figure, and confirms hotspot on one page
- Includes a phone number with the purchase, which nobody else here does
- Unlimited plans at six durations, matching the longest ladders in this comparison
- Fourteen countries, with no Cambodia, Laos, Pakistan or Sri Lanka
- Fixed-data pricing runs well above the 18-country plans at the same sizes
Roamless
Twenty countries on a single global eSIM, with Türkiye filed under Asia.
Roamless sells one global eSIM and attaches regional data plans to it. The Asia and Oceania plan covers 20 countries, adding Australia and New Zealand to a standard Asian list, and filing Türkiye under Asia rather than Europe or the Middle East. Laos is the notable absence.
Every plan runs 30 days, which is the longest standard validity here and useful when an itinerary slips. The page states unlimited hotspot and, unusually, no speed limit at all on the fixed data plans. It names no carrier anywhere, so there is nothing to verify against a coverage map before you buy.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 30 days | $3.95 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $14.95 |
| 20 GB | 30 days | $38.95 |
| 50 GB | 30 days | $58.95 |
- Every plan carries 30 days of validity, including the $3.95 entry plan
- States unlimited hotspot and no speed limit on the fixed data plans
- Türkiye is included, which helps if Asia is one leg of a longer overland trip
- Names no carrier for any of the 20 countries
- No unlimited option and no plan above 50GB, so heavy users run out of ladder
GigSky
Nineteen countries weighted towards the Pacific, with two big Asian markets left out.
GigSky has no Asia-only product. Its Asia page loads but carries no plans, and the live product is Asia Pacific, covering 19 countries including Fiji, Nauru, Tonga, Vanuatu, Australia, New Zealand and Kazakhstan.
Singapore and the Philippines are not among them. Both appear on the same page under other countries in the region, which means they sell only as separate single-country plans.
That makes the 19-country headline misleading for most Asia itineraries, because Singapore is one of the region’s busiest transit points. Where GigSky is genuinely useful is a trip that crosses from Asia into the Pacific islands, which no other provider here covers. A free 100MB plan across 7 days lets you confirm the eSIM installs on your device before committing.
| Plan | Validity | Price |
|---|---|---|
| 100 MB | 7 days | $0.00 |
| 1 GB | 7 days | $3.14 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | $11.04 |
| 20 GB | 60 days | $31.44 |
| 50 GB | 90 days | $49.29 |
| Unlimited | 7 days | $20.82 |
- A free 100MB plan lets you test installation before spending anything
- The only plan here reaching Fiji, Nauru, Tonga and Vanuatu
- Long validity windows, with 60 and 90 day options on the larger buckets
- Neither Singapore nor the Philippines is included in the regional plan
- Names no carrier, and the prices shown reflect a site-wide discount that may end
Before you go to Asia.
Asia is not one destination with one set of rules, which is exactly why a regional plan needs more thought than a single-country one. Payment rails, mapping apps and messaging defaults all change the moment you cross a border, and so does what your data is doing for you. These are the things worth sorting before you land.
Read the country list before you read the price. Two of these plans leave out countries you would assume were included.
The single most expensive mistake on a regional plan is buying coverage you do not get. GigSky’s Asia Pacific plan counts 19 countries, yet Singapore and the Philippines sit on that same page under other countries in the region, outside the plan. Nomad’s 21-country plan drops Singapore while its 14-country plan keeps it.
Both exclusions are published, and both sit one click below a headline number that reads like full regional coverage. Write your route down, open each provider's country list, and tick the countries off before you compare a single price.
China is where your plan and the open internet become separate problems.
The UK Foreign Office states that the Chinese authorities control internet access, and that Google, Facebook, YouTube and X are permanently blocked. That filtering sits at the gateways where mainland networks meet the rest of the internet, so it applies to the connection rather than to the apps on your phone.
Buying data does not, on its own, settle what you can reach with it. Not one of the eight providers compared above makes any claim about internet access in China on its Asia product page. Plan for the mainland separately rather than assuming the regional plan covers it.
Roaming architecture explains why two people on the same plan report different things.
International data roaming usually runs in what the industry calls home-routed mode. As the IETF describes it, the device gets its IP address from the home network and all of its traffic is routed back there. The alternative, local breakout, has the visited network assign the address so traffic leaves locally.
Which mode a given eSIM uses in a given country is not published by any of these eight providers. Note also that Chinese law requires VPN services to be licensed, so plan for the connection you can verify rather than the one you hope for.
Google Maps will not navigate you around South Korea.
South Korean law restricts the export of detailed domestic map data, which is why full driving and walking navigation has never worked in Google Maps there. Seoul conditionally approved a high-precision export in February 2026, with normal service expected to follow.
Locals navigate with Naver Map and KakaoMap, and those remain the reliable choice whatever Google ships next. Install them before you land, because setting up an unfamiliar map app in a subway station is nobody’s idea of a good arrival.
A regional plan gives you one allowance, not one per country.
A 10GB Asia plan is 10GB for the whole trip, however many borders you cross. Two 5GB country plans also total 10GB, but half of it is stranded in the country you leave early, and topping up in the other one costs again.
On a fixed two-country itinerary, country plans usually work out cheaper for the same total data. On anything looser, the pooled allowance is what the extra money buys.
Coverage carve-outs live below the headline number.
Nomad publishes that local Thai regulation leaves its plan with no service in Pattani, Narathiwat, Yala, Chana, Na Thawi, Thepha and Saba Yoi. It is the only provider here that states a domestic exclusion of that kind.
Regional plans inherit whatever restrictions apply to the visited network, and those almost never appear in a coverage count. Assume the number on the page is a maximum rather than a guarantee.
Getting around and paying for things.
Transit cards stop at the border even when your data does not. Tokyo runs on Suica, Hong Kong on Octopus, Seoul on T-money, Taipei on EasyCard and Singapore on SimplyGo, and none of them works in the next country. Ride-hailing splits the same way, with Grab across Southeast Asia, Gojek in Indonesia, DiDi in mainland China and Kakao T in Korea.
There is no single payment rail across Asia. Mainland China runs on Alipay and WeChat QR codes, which now take foreign Visa and Mastercard directly, while Japan still wants cash in plenty of places. Southeast Asia’s QR systems are linked to each other but not to visitors, so a Western card or cash remains the fallback.
Transit cards in Asia are closed loops that stop at the border. Tokyo runs on Suica, Hong Kong on Octopus, Seoul on T-money, Taipei on EasyCard and Singapore on SimplyGo. A regional eSIM works across all five cities, while each of those cards works in exactly one of them.
Ride-hailing is regional rather than global. Grab covers most of Southeast Asia, Gojek dominates Indonesia, DiDi is the mainland China app and Korea runs on Kakao T. Uber is thin to absent across most of the region, so the app you depend on changes every time you land.
Booking long-distance rail generally needs data and an account before you reach the station. China’s rail ticketing runs on a passport number through the 12306 system, India’s through IRCTC, and Japanese reservations sit inside each JR company’s own app. Regional data earns its keep on arrival day, when you are doing this standing in a queue.
On money, mainland China is the one that catches people out. The UK Foreign Office notes that cashless payments through smartphone apps such as WeChat or Alipay are almost universal. Foreign visitors can now bind Visa, Mastercard, JCB, Discover and Diners Club cards inside Alipay without a Chinese bank account or local phone number.
Set that up at home, because the flow itself wants a working connection. Southeast Asia’s QR rails are a different trap. Thailand’s PromptPay, Indonesia’s QRIS, Singapore’s PayNow and Malaysia’s DuitNow connect to each other through the ASEAN cross-border payment linkages, and those linkages run between the participating countries’ own bank apps.
A visitor holding a Western card gets none of that and still pays by card or cash. India is the exception with a real tourist path: UPI One World is a prepaid wallet issued to foreign nationals from G20 countries on a passport and valid visa, with no onboarding fee. It is loaded at money-exchange counters, so treat it as an arrival-day errand.
Apps to install before you leave.
No single app covers Asia. These are the ones that matter country by country, and the reason a regional plan needs to be working the moment you land rather than once you reach the hotel.
Tipping swings from unwelcome to expected inside a single week of travel. It is not customary in Japan, South Korea, Taiwan or mainland China, while 10% service charges are normal in hotel restaurants across Southeast Asia and rounding up is common in India, Indonesia and the Philippines.
Carry a card and some cash, and expect the ratio to change at every border. China is almost entirely QR based, Japan still runs on cash in smaller venues, Singapore and Hong Kong take contactless nearly everywhere, and Indonesia, Vietnam and India all want cash outside the cities.
Where your Asia eSIM earns its keep.
Eight cities where mobile data does real work, and where the differences between these plans stop being theoretical:
Four questions that decide which Asia eSIM you need.
Choosing a regional plan is a different exercise from choosing a country one. The price ladders across these eight are close enough that they rarely decide anything, and the country lists are far enough apart that they almost always do.
Work through these four questions in order. The first two narrow the field to the plans that cover your route at all, and the last two sort what is left. If you want a wider primer first, eSIMply has a general guide to picking a plan.
Does the plan cover every country on your route?
Write your route out and check it against each provider’s published list, not the headline number. GigSky’s 19-country plan has no Singapore and no Philippines. Nomad’s 21-country plan has no Singapore either, although its 14-country plan does.
Only eSIMply, Airalo and aloSIM sell a pure Asia product with nothing from Oceania in it. eSIMply and Airalo tie for the widest pure-Asia coverage at 18 countries each, covering the same list. aloSIM covers 14, dropping Cambodia, Laos, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
How much data does an Asia itinerary actually burn?
Regional trips run heavier than country trips, because you are navigating unfamiliar cities constantly and doing arrival-day admin over and over. Two weeks of maps, ride-hailing, messaging and the occasional booking sits comfortably in 5GB to 10GB.
For that range, eSIMply’s 5GB across 30 days is $13.95 and its 10GB is $23.95. Airalo charges $15.00 and $25.00 for the same sizes, Roamless $14.95 and $24.95. If you stream or tether a laptop, jump to an unlimited plan rather than a bigger bucket.
Do you want a named carrier or a promise?
eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad, aloSIM and Jetpac all publish the local carrier for each country they cover. Saily, Roamless and GigSky name none, describing their networks only in general terms.
That matters because a named carrier is checkable. You can look up the operator’s own coverage map for the region you are heading to before you spend anything. With an undisclosed network there is nothing to check.
Is one regional plan cheaper than two country plans?
Usually not, on a straight price-per-gigabyte basis. eSIMply’s Japan 5GB plan is $9.95 and its Thailand 5GB plan is $6.95, so two country plans give you 10GB for $16.90 while the Asia 10GB plan is $23.95.
The regional plan wins on three other counts. It pools one allowance instead of stranding data in a country you leave early, it covers the countries you add to the itinerary later, and on eSIMply the Asia 10GB plan is actually a dollar cheaper than the China-only 10GB plan. Three or more countries, or any itinerary including China, and the regional plan is the better buy.
Install the eSIM at home while you still have a stable connection, then leave the line switched off until you land. Set the eSIM as your default data line and turn data roaming on for that line only, which costs nothing extra. Download offline maps for your first two cities before you fly.
Asia eSIM questions travellers ask before buying.
Most of what people ask about a regional Asia plan comes down to two things: whether it covers the countries they are going to, and what happens in China.
These answers use the eight providers in the comparison above and the figures on their own product pages. Where a provider does not publish something, that is said rather than guessed.
Not strictly, but on a trip across multiple countries it is the option with the least friction. Roaming with your home carrier through four or five Asian markets gets expensive quickly, and travel eSIMs exist precisely so you can stay connected without roaming fees or a physical SIM swap at every border.
An Asia eSIM installs before you fly and connects on landing in any covered country. China and India both tie a prepay SIM to identity documents, so skipping that process is worth something on its own.
Two of them, and both exclusions sit one click below a headline coverage number. GigSky’s Asia Pacific plan counts 19 countries but includes neither Singapore nor the Philippines, which appear separately on the same page as single-country products.
Nomad sells two Asia Pacific plans on one page. Its 21-country plan adds India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Cambodia, Laos, Nepal and Brunei, but drops Singapore and runs 4G everywhere. Its 14-country plan keeps Singapore and lists 5G on nine markets.
Jetpac has no Asia plan at all. Its Southeast Asia product covers seven countries with no China, India, Japan, South Korea, Hong Kong or Taiwan.
Count the countries in Asia you are actually visiting, then check coverage across each shortlisted plan before comparing prices. Macau, for instance, appears on six of the eight lists but not on Jetpac’s or GigSky’s.
Yes, and it is the better way to do it. eSIMply, Airalo, Saily, Nomad, aloSIM, Roamless and GigSky all sell their regional plans online, and the QR code arrives by email within minutes of payment.
To set up your eSIM, scan that code over a Wi-Fi internet connection at home, which writes the profile directly into your smartphone. Leave the line switched off afterwards and activate your plan only once you reach your destination, since validity starts on first use.
Check compatibility first. An embedded SIM is built into every iPhone from the XS onward and most recent Android flagships, but older and carrier-locked handsets are incompatible. Several providers also ask you to download the app to track usage and top up.
On entry price, eSIMply starts lowest at $2.95 for 500MB across 3 days, with 1GB across 7 days at $3.95. Roamless matches that $3.95 but gives you 30 days of validity for it, which is the longest window on any entry plan here.
On large buckets, GigSky’s 50GB across 90 days at $49.29 is the cheapest big plan in the comparison, although that price reflects a site-wide discount that may not last. Airalo’s 100GB across 180 days at $89.00 and eSIMply’s at $87.95 are the two largest plans available.
For heavy data use, look at unlimited data plans rather than bigger buckets. eSIMply runs unlimited from a 3-day option at $9.95 through a 15-day option at $47.95, Airalo and aloSIM both price 7 days at $26.00, and Jetpac is the only provider here selling a 1-day plan.
Coverage decides value here more than price does. GigSky is the cheapest plan in the table at several sizes, and it does not include Singapore or the Philippines.
It depends on the country and the provider, and half of them tell you. eSIMply names China Mobile, China Telecom and China Unicom in China, Jio in India, HKT in Hong Kong, KDDI and Softbank in Japan, Singtel and StarHub in Singapore, AIS, Dtac and True in Thailand, and LGU+ and SKT in South Korea.
Airalo, Nomad, aloSIM and Jetpac also publish per-country carrier lists. Airalo and Nomad go further and mark which of those networks run 5G rather than 4G.
Saily, Roamless and GigSky do not publicly disclose their Asian carrier partners. Their product pages describe the networks only in general terms, so there is nothing to verify before you buy.
The carrier matters because it decides reliability rather than the brand on the front of the eSIM. Connectivity in dense markets such as Hong Kong, Singapore, Macau and Taipei is fast and reliable on almost any of these plans, and the differences show up in smaller cities and on rural routes.
Budget more than you would for a single country. Grab, Gojek and DiDi all run live maps while you wait, Naver Map is doing the navigating in Korea, and translation apps are working constantly on menus and signs.
A week of that sits around 3GB to 5GB. Two to three weeks lands between 5GB and 10GB, which is $13.95 to $23.95 on eSIMply’s Asia plans. Anything involving streaming, video calls or tethering a laptop is better served by an unlimited plan.
Apps like WhatsApp, LINE and KakaoTalk use very little on their own. What adds up is heavy data use: video calls home, uploading photos, and streaming on long train journeys.
Download offline maps for each city before you arrive. It cuts usage noticeably and saves you in the underground stretches where every metro system in the region drops signal, and it means you are not hunting for Wi-Fi at street level.
For a multi-country trip, the eSIM wins on effort alone. One purchase covers the whole route, it installs at home before you fly, and it skips the identity paperwork that China, India and several other markets attach to a prepaid SIM. Entry plans start at $2.95.
A local physical SIM does give you a local phone number, which matters if you need to receive domestic SMS codes or register for a service that verifies by text. If that applies in one country, buy a new SIM card there and keep the regional eSIM running for data everywhere else.
For backpacking routes with no fixed plan, one regional eSIM for one trip is the simpler arrangement by a distance. You are not hunting for a shop on arrival in a country you decided on two days earlier.
No. Every plan in this comparison is data only, with no local number and no cellular calls, with one exception: aloSIM states that a phone number is included with purchase.
Any modern dual SIM mobile phone handles this. Keep your home SIM in for calls and two-factor codes, set the Asia eSIM as your default data line, and switch data roaming off on the home line so it cannot quietly connect.
You can still make phone calls over WhatsApp, Signal or FaceTime on the eSIM’s data, subject to local restrictions. What you cannot do is make calls to a local number from a local number, which is the one thing a prepay local SIM still does better.
The usual cause is data roaming being switched off for the eSIM line. A regional eSIM is technically roaming on a local network, so that setting has to be on for the eSIM specifically. It costs nothing extra.
If it still shows nothing, turn any VPN off, restart the phone, then manually select a network for that line rather than leaving it on automatic. Pick one of the carriers your provider names for that country, which is another reason a named carrier is useful.
If you still encounter issues after that, every provider here runs a support team, and aloSIM and eSIMply both offer round-the-clock customer support by chat or email. Message them before you leave the airport rather than after you reach your destination.
One thing no setting fixes is a coverage carve-out. Nomad publishes that its plan has no service in several districts of Thailand’s deep south, for example, and no amount of reconnecting works around that.
Yes on the providers that state a policy. Saily, Roamless, GigSky and aloSIM all confirm hotspot sharing on their product pages, and Saily and Roamless describe it as unlimited.
Airalo, Nomad, Jetpac and eSIMply do not state a hotspot policy on their Asia product pages. Tethering burns data much faster than phone use, so if you plan to work off a laptop, size the plan up.
If two of you want to enjoy unlimited data off one connection, an unlimited plan bought for the trip gives you reliable internet and the peace of mind of not watching a counter. Just check the fair-use figure, because most unlimited plans slow down after a daily allowance.
How these eight plans were compared.
We work in eSIM technology full time, and this comparison was built from each provider’s own live Asia product page rather than from second-hand roundups. Every price, country count and carrier name below traces back to a page we read directly.
- Coverage came from each provider’s own published country list, opened and counted rather than read off a headline. That is how the Singapore and Philippines gaps in GigSky’s plan, and the Singapore gap in Nomad’s 21-country plan, surfaced.
- Carrier claims come only from providers who name carriers themselves. eSIMply, Airalo, Nomad, aloSIM and Jetpac publish per-country lists. Saily, Roamless and GigSky are recorded as not disclosed rather than assumed.
- Coverage breadth carried the most weight, because a regional plan that misses one country on your route has failed at the only job it has.
- After that came entry price, plan-ladder range, validity windows, stated fair-use and hotspot policies, and whether the plan is data only.
- Where two plans cover the same countries, the tie-break is price at the shared plan sizes, then carrier transparency.
- Where a provider states a figure only inside an expandable panel, we opened it. Where it states nothing, we say so rather than filling the gap.
Full disclosure: eSIMply runs its own eSIM service, and one of the plans compared above is ours. We may receive commission if you buy through our links. Neither changes the ranking, and the country counts above are the same numbers you will find on each provider’s own page.
Jamie has worked in telecommunications for more than 8 years across mobile, SMS, eSIM, apps, and adjacent technology. He now writes for eSIMply as the tech content writer, analysing the top eSIM providers and breaking down what travellers actually need to know.
While we do our best to ensure accuracy, prices and plan availability are subject to change. Last updated by Jamie Cole.