Buyer’s guide · Updated September, 2026

Best eSIM for the Caribbean, ranked.

Eight providers sell an eSIM Caribbean regional plan covering between 15 and 29 islands, so the country list matters far more than the price.

Jamie Cole, Best eSIM for the Caribbean author
Jamie Cole
Tech writer · eSIMply.co
13 min read Last updated September 2026

Three Caribbean eSIMs that get the island list right

aloSIM
Covers the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands in one plan
$6.50 / 1GB · 7 days
  • One of only three regional plans that includes the Dominican Republic
  • One of only two that includes the US Virgin Islands
  • Sold as a sub-region under North America, so search there if the direct link fails
Roamless
Second-widest island list with a 20GB bucket and no speed limit
$7.95 / 1GB · 30 days
  • 28 territories, beaten only by Saily's 29
  • Every tier runs a full 30 days, so a one-week stay and a four-week stay buy from the same ladder
  • Leaves out the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands

Below you will find all eight Caribbean eSIM plans compared on price, plan length and the thing that actually decides this purchase: which islands each one covers. You will also get the carrier names underneath each plan where the provider publishes them, a cost comparison against single-island plans, and what an eSIM for the Caribbean does and does not do on a cruise.

02 Full comparison

Eight Caribbean regional plans, side by side

Connectivity across Caribbean territories comes down to a handful of carriers, and four of the eight providers name the networks they run on while four do not. eSIMply and Airalo both publish an identical per-country list led by Digicel, Nomad runs on FLOW and BTC, and Jetpac uses Cable & Wireless across most of its footprint. The table sorts on territory count and entry price together, because in this region one is meaningless without the other.

Caribbean regional eSIM comparison
8 providers · September 2026
Provider Plans From Network
eSIMply
26 territories with the host carrier named for each one. Digicel on 22 of them, plus Aliv, U-Mobile, Tigo, Claro and Telcell N.V. No Dominican Republic.
Up to 51% off
1GB to 10GB + Unlimited · 7-30d
$6.951GB / 7d
Digicel + local partners
Airalo
The same 26 territories as eSIMply with an identical per-country carrier list. The two resell the same footprint, so the only real difference is what you pay.
1GB to 10GB + Unlimited · 3-30d
$8.001GB / 3d
Digicel + local partners
Saily
The longest list at 29 territories, though it counts the United States and Panama among them. No Dominican Republic and no US Virgin Islands.
1GB to 10GB · 7-30d
$8.991GB / 7d
Network not disclosed
Nomad
The narrowest map here at 15 territories, missing Aruba, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and the Dominican Republic. Its own network list shows 4G everywhere, no 5G.
1GB to 20GB · 7-30d
$8.001GB / 7d
FLOW + BTC
Jetpac
22 territories and the fullest big-island list, with the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands all in. The coverage list also includes San Marino.
1GB to 30GB + Unlimited · 4-30d
$7.001GB / 4d
Cable & Wireless + local partners
aloSIM
20 territories, sold as a sub-region under North America. One of only two plans covering both the Dominican Republic and the US Virgin Islands.
1GB to 10GB + Unlimited · 7-30d
$6.501GB / 7d
Network not disclosed
Roamless
28 territories with a flat 30-day validity on every tier and no throttle at the end of the bucket. Skips every US-linked market.
1GB to 20GB · 30d
$7.951GB / 30d
Network not disclosed
GigSky
26 territories including the Dominican Republic, but without Puerto Rico, Barbados or the US Virgin Islands. Its fixed tiers publish no validity period at all.
1GB to 50GB + Unlimited
$6.291GB / n.s.
Network not disclosed

Prices come from each provider's own Caribbean regional product page, read on 22 September 2026 and shown in USD. Territory counts are each provider's published coverage list.

03 eSIM vs local SIM

Why a local SIM barely works for an island-hopping trip

A local SIM in the Caribbean is a single-island purchase. Buy a Digicel or FLOW prepaid SIM in Montego Bay and it is a Jamaica product; carry it to Barbados and you are on that carrier’s own international roaming rates. An island-hopping route means a new SIM, a new top-up and a new phone number at every stop.

Registration rules vary by territory and several require photo ID at the point of sale. Airport kiosks keep airport hours, which is a problem when the late flight from Miami lands after nine and the taxi rank outside does not take cards. Ferry ports have no kiosks at all.

Travel eSIMs sidestep that by carrying one profile across every territory on the list, which is the cheapest way to stay connected without roaming fees on a multi-island route. eSIMply’s entry plan is $6.95 for 1GB over 7 days, which is less than a single-island prepaid starter pack costs in most of the region. The trade is that these are data-only products with no local phone number, so calls and texts stay on your physical SIM.

04 Rankings

Ranked by how much of the Caribbean each plan actually reaches

Airalo

The same 26 territories and the same carriers as eSIMply, at a higher entry price

4.4/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB + Unlimited
Validity
3-30 days
Network
Digicel + local partners
Type
Data only

Airalo’s Caribbean Islands plan covers exactly 26 territories, and the country list matches eSIMply’s row for row. So does the per-country carrier assignment, right down to Telcell N.V. on Saint Martin and U-Mobile in Guyana. The two are reselling the same wholesale footprint, so coverage cannot separate them.

That leaves price and plan shape. Airalo starts at $8.00 for 1GB but gives you only 3 days, and its 30-day tiers begin at 5GB for $32.50. The Unlimited ladder is the broadest in this group, running from $19.50 for 3 days to $160.00 for 30 days, which is the main thing Airalo offers here that eSIMply does not.

Caribbean Islands plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB3 days$8.00
3 GB7 days$21.00
5 GB30 days$32.50
10 GB30 days$48.00
Unlimited7 days$45.00
Unlimited30 days$160.00
What works
  • Identical 26-territory footprint and published carrier list, so the network experience matches eSIMply's
  • The widest Unlimited range here, from 3 days up to 30
  • Names its host carrier per country, which four of the eight providers do not
Trade-offs
  • The 1GB entry plan expires after 3 days, the shortest window of any provider on this page
  • Costs more than eSIMply at every comparable tier for the same underlying networks

Saily

The longest territory list, padded with the United States and Panama

4.3/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB
Validity
7-30 days
Network
Network not disclosed
Type
Data only

Saily lists 29 territories, more than anyone else here. Two of them are the United States and Panama, which inflates the headline without helping anyone island-hopping. Strip those out and the Caribbean count lands close to the 26 that eSIMply and Airalo cover.

The gaps are the same ones that catch most providers: no Dominican Republic and no US Virgin Islands. Saily does include Puerto Rico, which Nomad, Roamless and GigSky all leave out.

Pricing is a four-rung ladder from $8.99 for 1GB / 7 days to $46.99 for 10GB / 30 days. Saily does not name its host carriers, saying only that it uses local networks, and it publishes unlimited hotspot sharing.

Caribbean Islands plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB7 days$8.99
3 GB30 days$20.99
5 GB30 days$33.99
10 GB30 days$46.99
What works
  • The broadest published territory list of the eight, at 29
  • Includes Puerto Rico, which three other providers here do not
  • States unlimited hotspot sharing, so tethering a laptop is allowed
Trade-offs
  • Does not disclose which local carriers it runs on
  • No Dominican Republic and no US Virgin Islands, despite the long list

Nomad

Cheap large buckets on the narrowest island list here

4.0/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 20GB
Validity
7-30 days
Network
FLOW + BTC
Type
Data only

Nomad covers 15 territories, the smallest map of any provider on this page. Aruba, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Tobago, Haiti, Bermuda and the Dominican Republic are all outside it. For a single-island trip to Jamaica, Barbados or the Caymans that is fine; for a multi-island route it is the easiest plan here to get wrong.

Nomad does name its networks, and they are not Digicel. FLOW carries 14 of the 15 countries and BTC handles the Bahamas, which makes Nomad the only real alternative to the Digicel footprint most rivals sit on.

Pricing is the strongest argument for it. 20GB over 30 days is $36.00, less than half what Roamless charges for the same bucket, and 10GB / 30 days is $36.00 against $46.95 from eSIMply.

Caribbean plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB7 days$8.00
3 GB30 days$17.00
5 GB30 days$21.00
10 GB30 days$36.00
20 GB30 days$49.00
What works
  • The cheapest large buckets here, with 20GB / 30 days at $49.00
  • Runs on FLOW and BTC rather than Digicel, the only genuine network alternative on this page
  • Names its host carrier for all 15 countries
Trade-offs
  • 15 territories is the narrowest coverage of the eight, missing Aruba, Puerto Rico and Trinidad
  • The product page advertises 4G/5G, but Nomad's own network list shows 4G only on every country

Jetpac

The only plan with the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands together

4.2/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 30GB + Unlimited
Validity
4-30 days
Network
Cable & Wireless + local partners
Type
Data only

Jetpac covers 22 territories and gets the big-island question right where most of this group does not. The Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands are all inside one plan, which no other provider here manages. If your route includes Punta Cana or Charlotte Amalie, the list narrows to Jetpac and aloSIM fast.

The carrier list is published and it is not Digicel-led: Cable & Wireless across nine territories, SETAR in Aruba, UTS in Curacao, CLARO Dominicana, Liberty in Puerto Rico and T-Mobile USA in the US Virgin Islands. Two entries on that list are not Caribbean at all, Honduras and San Marino, which reads like an error in Jetpac’s own coverage data.

The pricing ladder has an oddity worth knowing before you buy. 20GB over 30 days is listed at $100.00 while 30GB over the same 30 days is $69.99, so the larger pack costs $30.01 less. Buy the 30GB.

Caribbean plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB4 days$7.00
5 GB30 days$21.00
10 GB30 days$36.00
20 GB30 days$100.00
30 GB Best value30 days$69.99
What works
  • The only plan here covering the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands at once
  • 30GB over 30 days at $69.99 is the largest fixed bucket anyone sells under $70 in this group
  • Publishes its host carrier for every territory, including T-Mobile USA in the US Virgin Islands
Trade-offs
  • The 20GB tier is priced $30.01 above the larger 30GB tier, so the ladder punishes anyone who does not check
  • Its Caribbean coverage list includes Honduras and San Marino, neither of which is in the Caribbean

aloSIM

Cheapest entry plan, and the big-island list most travellers actually need

4.3/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 10GB + Unlimited
Validity
7-30 days
Network
Network not disclosed
Type
Data only

aloSIM sells its Caribbean plan as a sub-region under North America, so the direct destination link redirects and the product is easy to miss entirely. It covers 20 territories, and the ones it picked matter more than the count. The Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands are all in, a combination only Jetpac also manages.

The entry price of $6.50 for 1GB / 7 days is the lowest real ladder price on this page, and the Unlimited range runs from $21.50 for 3 days to $97.00 for 30 days. aloSIM states that it uses nine networks but does not publish which ones, so there is no way to check what you will be routed onto.

Trinidad and Tobago is the notable absence. If your trip pairs Port of Spain with anywhere else, aloSIM drops out.

Caribbean plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB7 days$6.50
2 GB15 days$15.00
3 GB30 days$20.00
5 GB30 days$28.00
10 GB30 days$39.00
Unlimited30 days$97.00
What works
  • The lowest entry price here at $6.50 for 1GB over 7 days
  • Covers the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands in a single plan
  • A full Unlimited ladder from 3 days to 30, which half this group does not offer
Trade-offs
  • Does not publish the nine networks it says it uses, so the underlying carriers are unknown
  • Leaves out Trinidad and Tobago, and sits under North America in the site structure where it is hard to find

Roamless

28 territories, a flat 30-day validity, and no throttle at the end of the bucket

4.2/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 20GB
Validity
30 days
Network
Network not disclosed
Type
Data only

Roamless covers 28 territories, second only to Saily, and it is the one plan here where every single tier runs 30 days. That removes the trap where a cheap entry plan quietly expires in 3 or 4 days, and it means a one-week trip and a four-week trip buy from the same ladder.

The exclusions are systematic rather than random. The Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands are all out, so every US-linked and Spanish-speaking market in the region is missing. Suriname is in, which is South America.

Roamless states a speed limit of never and unlimited hotspot sharing, so the bucket you buy is the data you get at full speed. It does not name its host carriers anywhere on the product page.

Caribbean plans
PlanValidityPrice
1 GB30 days$7.95
2 GB30 days$14.95
3 GB30 days$20.95
5 GB30 days$32.45
10 GB30 days$46.95
20 GB30 days$70.45
What works
  • Every tier runs a full 30 days, including the $7.95 entry plan
  • 28 territories, the second-widest list on this page
  • States no speed limit and unlimited hotspot sharing
Trade-offs
  • Excludes the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands together
  • Does not disclose which local networks it routes traffic through

GigSky

Biggest bucket range in the group, but the fixed tiers publish no validity

3.9/5
★★★★★
Editor’s rating
Range
1GB to 50GB + Unlimited
Validity
Not stated on fixed tiers
Network
Network not disclosed
Type
Data only

GigSky covers 26 territories including the Dominican Republic, which puts it in the small group that handles the region’s biggest market. Puerto Rico, Barbados and the US Virgin Islands are out, and Cuba, Haiti and Suriname are listed as country plans outside the regional product rather than inside it.

The ladder runs further than anyone else’s, from $6.29 for 1GB up to $118.99 for 50GB, with a free 100MB trial to test the connection before committing. The catch is that GigSky publishes no validity period on any of those fixed tiers. Only the free trial carries a stated duration, so there is no way to know from the page how long a 10GB pack lasts.

The plan block is lazy-loaded and only renders once you scroll, so the page can look empty on first load even though the full ladder is there.

Caribbean plans
PlanValidityPrice
100 MB7 days (free trial)$0.00
1 GBNot stated$6.29
5 GBNot stated$22.94
10 GBNot stated$33.99
20 GBNot stated$59.49
50 GBNot stated$118.99
What works
  • Buckets up to 50GB, far beyond anything else in this group
  • A free 100MB trial lets you test the connection before paying
  • Includes the Dominican Republic, which five of the eight providers do not
Trade-offs
  • None of the paid fixed tiers publish a validity period, so you cannot tell how long a pack lasts
  • Leaves out Puerto Rico, Barbados and the US Virgin Islands
07 Country essentials

Before you go to the Caribbean.

The Caribbean is not one destination, and the things that catch travellers out are the things that differ island to island. Coverage lists, ride-hailing, currency and even which network your phone lands on all change when you cross a channel. These are the parts worth sorting before you fly.

The eSIM gotcha

Coverage is the whole game, and the eight plans disagree about the map

Every provider on this page sells something called a Caribbean plan, and no two of them mean the same thing. Territory counts run from 15 at Nomad to 29 at Saily, with eSIMply, Airalo and GigSky at 26, Roamless at 28, Jetpac at 22 and aloSIM at 20. That is nearly a 2x spread, so comparing prices before comparing island lists tells you nothing useful.

The gaps land on the destinations most people actually book. The Dominican Republic takes more visitors than any other Caribbean country, a record 11.6 million in its most recent full year (Caribbean Journal), and five of the eight plans exclude it. The US Virgin Islands appears in two plans out of eight. Cuba appears in none of them.

Open the provider’s own coverage list, find every island on your itinerary by name, and only then look at the price. Both halves of Saint Martin need to be there separately if you plan to cross the island, and a plan that covers Sint Maarten does not automatically cover Saint-Martin.

Your eSIM goes dark the moment the ship leaves port.

Cruise visits to the Caribbean now run at an estimated 35.5 million a year, slightly ahead of the 35 million stayover arrivals (TravelDailyNews, reporting Caribbean Tourism Organization figures). More Caribbean visitors now arrive by ship than by plane, and almost none of them understand what that does to their data plan.

A travel eSIM is a roaming profile on shore-based island networks. It holds a signal in port and on excursions and it has nothing to connect to in open water. The ship’s own onboard cellular system is a separate service reached through your home carrier’s roaming agreement, and AT&T describes it plainly: “The ship’s cellular service on board is always considered international roaming and is quite expensive”.

Plan for two different things. A regional eSIM covers your port days and excursions cheaply, and ship wifi or a maritime package covers the sea days. Buying one and expecting it to cover both is where most Caribbean cruise passengers get caught.

Most of these “different” eSIMs ride the same network.

eSIMply publishes its host carrier for every territory it sells, and Digicel appears on 22 of the 26. Aliv covers the Bahamas, U-Mobile covers Guyana, Tigo covers Panama, Claro covers Puerto Rico, and Telcell N.V. covers both halves of Saint Martin. Airalo’s list is identical, carrier for carrier.

Digicel runs mobile networks across more than 25 markets in the Caribbean and Central America (Digicel), which is why so many rival plans behave the same once installed. On Saint Lucia several of these providers put you on the same Digicel network, so the brand you pick changes your bill rather than your bars.

Nomad is the genuine exception, running on FLOW across 14 of its 15 countries and BTC in the Bahamas. If one network has let you down on a previous trip, that is the switch worth making, not a move between two Digicel resellers.

One island, two countries, two lines on the coverage list.

Saint Martin has been split between France and the Netherlands since the Treaty of Concordia in 1648, and the 16 km border is completely open with no checkpoints (Saint Martin and Sint Maarten border). Mobile networks do not treat it as one place. The French north is an outermost region of the European Union and the Dutch south is not, so a roaming allowance that works across Europe stops at the border here.

That means a plan covering Sint Maarten does not automatically cover Saint-Martin, and both have to appear on your provider’s list by name. eSIMply and Airalo list both halves separately and route each to Telcell N.V. Walk from Philipsburg to Marigot for lunch and your phone crosses an international boundary it will never warn you about.

Two island plans usually cost more than one regional plan.

Run the numbers on eSIMply’s own live prices. A Jamaica-only 1GB over 7 days is $7.95, while the 26-territory regional plan at the same tier is $6.95. The wider plan is the cheaper one, which is not how buyers expect this to work.

Pairing islands widens the gap. Jamaica plus Aruba on two single-country 1GB plans is $15.90 and two separate installs, against $13.95 for one regional 2GB over 15 days. Puerto Rico settles it outright, because eSIMply sells no standalone Puerto Rico product at all and the regional plan is the only way in.

Single-island pricing wins occasionally, so check before you assume. Aruba’s own 3GB over 30 days is $18.95 against $19.95 on the regional plan, a dollar in the island plan’s favour if Aruba is your only stop.

Storm season runs June to November, and alerts arrive over data.

The Atlantic hurricane season runs 1 June to 30 November, with activity peaking from mid-September into October (NOAA). A named storm does not have to hit your island to wreck your week. Ferries cancel, regional flights rebook and resorts shuffle guests days ahead of landfall.

All of that reaches you through data, and hotel wifi is the first thing to drop when a system moves in. The National Hurricane Center publishes free five-day tropical outlooks that every local bulletin is quoting from, and they are worth checking before you book as well as while you travel.

Getting around and paying for things.

i
Getting around

Ride-hailing is as patchy as eSIM coverage. Puerto Rico has had it for years and Barbados only joined recently, the first territory in the Eastern Caribbean to get it (Travel Weekly), while Aruba, Curacao and the US Virgin Islands still run on taxis. Ferries are the real island-hopping network and the bookings happen online.

$
Paying for things

Eight territories share the Eastern Caribbean dollar, pegged at US$1 = EC$2.70 since 1976 (ECCB). Everywhere else keeps its own currency and its own peg. US dollars are taken almost anywhere tourists go, usually at a rate that favours the vendor.

Ride-hailing in the Caribbean is as patchy as eSIM coverage, so check your island before you land expecting an app to rescue you. Puerto Rico has had widespread rideshare for years and its tourism board treats Uber as a normal way to move around San Juan (Discover Puerto Rico). Barbados joined only recently, the first territory in the Eastern Caribbean to get it (Travel Weekly).

Plenty of islands have no rideshare at all. Curacao’s official tourism site answers the question directly and says the island runs on taxis rather than Uber or Lyft (Curacao.com), and Aruba and the US Virgin Islands are the same. Where there is no app, data still does the work, because you are messaging a dispatcher on WhatsApp or agreeing a fare before you get in.

Ferries are how most people actually island-hop in the Eastern Caribbean, and the bookings are online. FRS Express des Iles runs 47 routes linking Martinique, Guadeloupe, Dominica, Saint Lucia, Marie Galante and Les Saintes, carrying more than 700,000 passengers a year (FRS Express des Iles). In the Dutch Caribbean the Makana connects Sint Maarten with Saba, Sint Eustatius and Basseterre on Saint Kitts (Makana Ferry), and schedules move with the weather.

On money, eight territories share the Eastern Caribbean dollar and it has been pegged at US$1 = EC$2.70 since 1976 (Eastern Caribbean Central Bank). Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines all use it, so one mental conversion covers a large slice of an island-hopping route.

Outside that bloc every island keeps its own money and its own peg. The Bahamian dollar sits at par with the US dollar, the Barbadian dollar is fixed at 2 to 1, and the Cayman Islands dollar runs the other way at 1 KYD to 1.20 USD (Cayman Islands dollar). Jamaica, the Dominican Republic and Aruba manage their own rates, so a live converter earns its place on your phone.

US dollars are accepted almost everywhere tourists go, usually at a rounded rate that favours the vendor. Cards are fine in hotels, resorts and larger restaurants. Beach bars, market stalls, taxis and ferry kiosks often are not, so carry small notes in local currency and treat the airport ATM as the cheapest stop of your trip.

Apps to download before you leave.

Ferry bookings, storm advisories and taxi dispatchers all live on your phone here, so treat this as the travel tips list that matters most. Half of these need internet access to be worth anything. Download the app you need before you fly, not when you land.

WA
WhatsApp Free · iOS / Android
The default way to reach taxi drivers, boat captains, tour operators and villa hosts across the region. Plenty of businesses list a WhatsApp number and no landline at all.
NH
National Hurricane Center Free · Web / mobile
Official NOAA advisories and five-day tropical outlooks for the Atlantic basin. This is the source every local radio bulletin is reading from.
RC
Red Cross Emergency Free · iOS / Android
Pushes severe-weather alerts and shelter locations. Install it before a June to November trip rather than during one.
FR
FRS Express des Iles Free · Web booking
Ferry schedules and tickets across the French Antilles routes linking Martinique, Guadeloupe, Dominica and Saint Lucia.
MK
Makana Ferry Free · Web booking
Online booking for the Sint Maarten crossings to Saba, Sint Eustatius and Basseterre on Saint Kitts.
UB
Uber Free · iOS / Android
Works in Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic and, as of recently, Barbados. Do not assume it works on the next island along.
GM
Google Maps Free · iOS / Android
Download each island offline before you fly. Coastal roads are mapped well, small-lane addressing much less so.
OM
Organic Maps Free · iOS / Android
Offline OpenStreetMap data with trail detail, useful in Dominica and Saint Lucia where the interior routes lose signal.
XE
XE Currency Free · iOS / Android
Half the region runs a fixed peg and half does not. Handy when a vendor quotes in US dollars at a rate of their own invention.
WY
Windy Free · iOS / Android
Marine forecasts, wind and swell. The app that tells you whether tomorrow’s catamaran crossing is actually sailing.
GT
Google Translate Free · iOS / Android
Spanish in the Dominican Republic, French in Guadeloupe and Martinique, Dutch and Papiamento in Curacao and Aruba. Download the packs offline.
R2
Rome2Rio Free · iOS / Android
Surfaces the ferry, bus and regional-flight combinations between islands that no single airline site will show you.
i
Tipping in Caribbean

Check the bill before you add anything. Service charges of 10% to 20% are routinely included in Barbados, the Bahamas and much of the Eastern Caribbean, and tipping again on top is an expensive habit. Where nothing has been added, 10% to 15% is normal.

$
Cash vs card

Cards work in hotels, resorts and larger restaurants across the region. Beach bars, market stalls, taxis and ferry kiosks often do not take them. Carry small notes, and note that the French islands use euros rather than US dollars.

Where your eSIM earns its keep.

Six places where coverage differences between providers stop being theoretical:

01 San Juan, Puerto Rico
The best-connected city in the region and the one stop where rideshare, delivery apps and card payments behave like the US mainland. On eSIMply’s regional plan it routes to Claro, and there is no standalone Puerto Rico product to buy instead.
02 Montego Bay, Jamaica
Airport transfers, the resort strip and the drive out to Negril or Ocho Rios. Digicel is the host network here, as it is on most islands in the region, and the same applies on the run down to Kingston, Jamaica.
03 Nassau, Bahamas
The busiest cruise port in the Caribbean, which means data matters most in the few hours between gangway and departure. The Bahamas is the one territory where eSIMply routes to Aliv rather than Digicel.
04 Bridgetown, Barbados
Uber arrived here only recently and the island is compact enough to run on app transport. The Careenage restaurants, Oistins on a Friday night and the south coast bus routes all reward a live map.
05 Oranjestad, Aruba
No rideshare, so your data goes on maps, taxi WhatsApp numbers and car-hire pickups. Aruba is also one of the few islands where a single-country eSIMply plan undercuts the regional one at the 3GB tier.
06 Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Cruise pier on the Dutch side, Marigot and the French beaches a short drive north. Both halves need to be on your coverage list by name, and on eSIMply both sit with Telcell N.V.
08 Decision guide

Pick the plan by your route, then by the price

Almost every other eSIM decision starts with data size. In the Caribbean it starts with a list of islands, because the cheapest plan on this page is worthless if it skips your second stop.

Work through these four questions in order. The first one eliminates more providers than the other three combined.

First, write down every island you will touch

Include ports of call and smaller islands, not just where you sleep, because coverage in multiple countries is only as good as the list behind it. Then open each provider’s own coverage list and find every name on it, because there is no shortcut and the regional label tells you nothing.

The Dominican Republic narrows the field to Jetpac, aloSIM and GigSky. The US Virgin Islands narrows it to Jetpac and aloSIM. Cuba removes every regional plan here, and you would need a country-specific product instead.

Then check which network you will actually be on

eSIMply and Airalo both publish a per-territory carrier list and both run Digicel on 22 of their 26 markets, so switching between them changes your bill and not your signal. Jetpac names Cable & Wireless across most of its footprint, and Nomad names FLOW and BTC.

Saily, aloSIM, Roamless and GigSky do not disclose their carriers at all. That is not automatically a problem, but if a particular network has failed you on a previous Caribbean trip, those four give you no way to avoid a repeat.

Now size the plan to your trip length

Validity windows vary far more than bucket sizes here. Airalo’s 1GB entry plan expires after 3 days and Jetpac’s after 4, while Roamless gives every tier a full 30 days including the $7.95 entry plan.

For a week of maps, messaging and ferry bookings, 2GB to 3GB is realistic, which puts eSIMply at $13.95 or $19.95 and aloSIM at $15.00 or $20.00. For a month of remote work, Nomad’s 20GB at $49.00 and Jetpac’s 30GB at $69.99 are the value tiers, provided their island lists match your route.

Last, check whether a single-island plan beats the regional one

It usually does not. eSIMply’s Jamaica-only 1GB is $7.95 against $6.95 for the regional plan that includes Jamaica and 25 other territories, and two single-island plans for a two-island trip cost more than one regional plan almost every time.

The exception is a single-destination trip to an island with its own well-priced product. Aruba’s own 3GB over 30 days is $18.95 against $19.95 regional, so if Aruba is the whole holiday, buy Aruba.

i
Quick tip

Install the eSIM at home but leave it switched off, because validity starts on first data connection rather than at purchase. On landing, set the eSIM as your default data line, turn data roaming on for that line only, and leave your home SIM active for calls. Download offline maps for every island on your route before you leave wifi.

09 Frequently asked questions

Caribbean eSIM questions, answered

Most questions about a Caribbean eSIM come down to two things: whether your islands are on the list, and whether it works on a ship. The answers below cover both, plus the setup problems that surface on arrival.

Prices quoted are the live figures from each provider’s own regional product page as of September 2026.

Not strictly, but the alternative is your home carrier’s international roaming, which in this region is billed per day per island and adds up fast across a multi-stop trip. A Caribbean eSIM data plan installs before you fly and switches on when you land, so you have maps and messaging from the airport kerb.

The practical case is stronger here than in most places, because a single regional eSIM replaces the local SIM card you would otherwise buy separately on every island. Entry plans start at $6.29 with GigSky and $6.50 with aloSIM, with eSIMply at $6.95 for 1GB over 7 days.

No, and the differences are large. Published coverage across the eight providers runs from 15 territories at Nomad to 29 at Saily, with eSIMply, Airalo and GigSky at 26, Roamless at 28, Jetpac at 22 and aloSIM at 20.

The gaps hit the biggest destinations. The Dominican Republic is excluded by eSIMply, Airalo, Saily, Nomad and Roamless, the US Virgin Islands appears only in the Jetpac and aloSIM plans, and Cuba is not inside any regional plan on this page.

Check every island on your route against the provider’s own coverage list before you pay, including both halves of Saint Martin if you plan to cross the island.

Yes, and you should. Buy and install the profile at home over wifi, then leave it switched off until you land, because these plans activate on first data connection rather than at purchase.

eSIMply, Airalo, Saily, Nomad, Jetpac, aloSIM, Roamless and GigSky all deliver by QR code, a mobile app or a direct install link within minutes of payment, and each runs a support team you can reach if the profile does not load. eSIMply asks for no identity verification, which means no kiosk paperwork on arrival.

On entry price, GigSky is cheapest at $6.29 for 1GB, followed by aloSIM at $6.50 and eSIMply at $6.95. GigSky publishes no validity period on that tier though, so aloSIM and eSIMply are the cheapest plans where you can actually see how long the data lasts.

On large buckets the answer changes. Nomad’s 20GB over 30 days at $49.00 is the cheapest big allowance, and Jetpac’s 30GB at $69.99 is the largest under $70. Both only make sense if their island lists match your route, and Nomad’s is the narrowest here.

It depends on the island and the provider. eSIMply and Airalo both publish a per-territory list and both route to Digicel on 22 of their 26 markets, with Aliv in the Bahamas, U-Mobile in Guyana, Tigo in Panama, Claro in Puerto Rico and Telcell N.V. on both halves of Saint Martin.

Nomad names FLOW across 14 of its 15 countries plus BTC in the Bahamas, and Jetpac names Cable & Wireless across nine territories with SETAR in Aruba, CLARO Dominicana, Liberty in Puerto Rico and T-Mobile USA in the US Virgin Islands.

Saily, aloSIM, Roamless and GigSky do not disclose their host carriers on their Caribbean product pages.

Apps like WhatsApp, maps, ferry bookings and the odd weather check run comfortably on 2GB to 3GB for a week. That is where most of your eSIM for data allowance goes. That is $13.95 or $19.95 from eSIMply, $15.00 or $20.00 from aloSIM.

Add streaming, video calls home or tethering a laptop and 5GB to 10GB is the realistic band, which is $30.95 to $46.95 with eSIMply. Resorts and cruise terminals have wifi, so most of your data goes on the parts in between.

For a single-island stay, a local prepaid SIM can be competitive on price. For anything involving more than one territory it is not, because a Digicel Jamaica SIM is a Jamaica product and becomes a roaming charge the moment you land on the next island.

A regional eSIM carries one profile across every territory on its list, installs before you fly, and skips the ID checks that several Caribbean territories require at the point of sale. The trade is that these plans are data only, so a local number for domestic calls still means a local SIM.

No. Every plan on this page is a data-only product with no local number and no cellular calling or texting.

Keep your home SIM active in the other slot if you need to receive verification codes or calls, and use WhatsApp or FaceTime over the eSIM data for everything else. WhatsApp is the regional default anyway, and plenty of Caribbean businesses list a WhatsApp number instead of a landline.

Turn data roaming on for the eSIM line. It sounds wrong, but a travel eSIM is a roaming profile by design and the switch costs nothing extra. Then set that line as your default for mobile data.

If it still shows nothing, check that the island you are standing on is genuinely on your plan’s coverage list, since this is the region where that is the most likely explanation. Toggle airplane mode, and kill any VPN before you test again.

Where the provider publishes a policy, yes. Saily and Roamless both state unlimited hotspot sharing, GigSky states unlimited hotspot sharing, and Nomad confirms tethering in its FAQ.

eSIMply, Airalo, Jetpac and aloSIM do not publish an explicit hotspot policy on their Caribbean pages, so treat tethering as available but unconfirmed. Jetpac’s Unlimited plans carry a stated fair-use limit of 3GB every 24 hours at standard speeds, with reduced speeds until the cycle resets.

Any recent unlocked handset. Every iPhone from the XS onward, Google Pixel from the 3 onward, and Samsung Electronics Galaxy models from the S20 onward support eSIM technology, as do most current mid-range Android smartphones.

The quickest check is to dial *#06# and look for an EID number alongside the IMEI. If an EID appears, your phone takes a digital SIM card and you can keep your physical SIM in the tray at the same time.

Once you have purchased the eSIM, the provider emails a QR code or a direct install link. Scan it over Wi-Fi at home to set up the eSIM as a second line, then leave it switched off until you arrive at your destination.

On landing, turn on your eSIM, set it as the default line for mobile data, and switch data roaming on for that line only. Some providers ask you to download the app instead of scanning anything, which is easier to install but means creating an account first.

Activation is triggered by your first data connection in a covered territory, not by the purchase, so buying weeks ahead costs you nothing in validity.

The eSIM works in port and not at sea. A travel eSIM is a roaming profile on island cellular networks, so it gives you internet access the moment the ship berths and nothing at all in open water.

Sea days run on the ship’s own satellite Wi-Fi or on a maritime package sold through your home carrier, both priced well above a land plan. A regional plan will not give you a stable internet connection mid-crossing, whatever the coverage map suggests.

The practical setup is a cheap regional eSIM for port days and excursions, and ship Wi-Fi only if you genuinely need to be reachable between islands.

Yes, that is exactly what a multi-country regional plan is for. One profile keeps you connected across every territory on its coverage list without changing SIM cards, topping up locally, or paying a separate activation on each island.

Reliable coverage across the region still depends on the list itself. Roamless and Saily are the widest at 28 and 29 territories, while Nomad covers 15, so staying connected across a six-island itinerary is a question of matching the plan to the route.

Smaller islands are where the lists diverge most. Bonaire, Montserrat, Saint Barthelemy and Sint Eustatius appear on some plans and not others, so check them by name rather than assuming a regional label covers everything.

No. You prepay a fixed amount for a fixed allowance, so there are no roaming charges on top and no bill shock when you get home. That is the main reason an international eSIM beats your home carrier’s daily roaming pass across a multi-stop trip.

Roaming fees on a normal contract are usually charged per day per country, which in this region means paying again every time you change island. A travel eSIM charges once for the whole route.

Five of the eight. Airalo runs an unlimited data ladder from 3 to 30 days, aloSIM from 3 to 30 days, eSIMply offers a 7-day window at $63.95, Jetpac sells a 30-day option at $306.00, and GigSky prices a 7-day slider position at $24.64.

Saily, Nomad and Roamless sell fixed buckets only. On the fixed plans the high-speed data simply stops when the allowance runs out, which for most trips is easier to reason about than an unlimited plan with a daily fair-use ceiling.

Our methodology

How we ranked the Caribbean eSIMs

We work in eSIM technology full-time, so this is not a side-hustle review. eSIMply runs its own eSIM service, and one of the plans ranked above is ours.

  • We read every provider’s own Caribbean regional product page on 22 September 2026 and recorded the full price ladder, validity windows and published territory count from the page itself
  • We compared each provider’s coverage list territory by territory rather than trusting the headline count, which is how the Dominican Republic and US Virgin Islands gaps surfaced
  • For every provider we analyse the underlying carrier network where it is published (here: Digicel, Aliv, U-Mobile, Tigo, Claro, Telcell N.V., FLOW, BTC, Cable & Wireless, SETAR, UTS and Liberty), because that determines real coverage rather than the brand on the front of the eSIM
  • Where a provider does not name its carriers we record that rather than guessing, which is why four of the eight show no network in the table above
  • Where providers share the same underlying footprint, as eSIMply and Airalo do here, we separate them on price, plan flexibility and install experience

We may receive commission from some providers if you purchase via our links. This never influences the rankings, and underperforming providers get excluded regardless of any affiliate relationship.

Jamie Cole, Best eSIM for the Caribbean author
Jamie Cole
Tech content writer · eSIMply.co

Jamie has worked in telecommunications for more than 8 years across mobile, SMS, eSIM, apps, and adjacent technology. He now writes for eSIMply as the tech content writer, analysing the top eSIM providers and breaking down what travellers actually need to know.

While we do our best to ensure accuracy, prices and plan availability are subject to change. Last updated by Jamie Cole.

Chat with Us!

Chat with us on WhatsApp for instant support!
Scroll to Top